17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Harry Styles @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/12/2017

04 Dec 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
It must be interesting being Harry Styles. Thrown into the limelight to be the focal point for one of the highest selling pop acts ever. Touring the world playing nothing smaller than a stadium and trying to remain grounded. He seems to have done it well and tonight is part of the next step in transitioning to a more mature audience as reflected by the songs on his debut solo album.

I wanted to approach this gig as if it was by an artist I had never heard of. It was quite easy as I have never heard a song by 1D and have only caught snippets of his solo album. I walked up to Spark Arena around 8.15 pm expecting crazy queues and hoping to catch a quick beer at the Tuning Fork before the show. The area outside the arena was completely deserted. You would not have thought there was a gig taking place and I pretty much had the Tuning Fork all to myself!

Maybe it was because most of the people at the show are teenage girls? Maybe it's because Harry wants to hit the town early after the show but for whatever reason, he is going to be onstage at 8.45PM meaning I had missed the support act and was in for an early night. 8.30 pm and the arena inside was packed!

The stage set up was simple. Just a video screen either side and a wall of lights as a backdrop. The lights go down and then it happens. The noise of twelve thousand screaming teenage girls is quite something. Kind of like a high pitched jet engine. Harry is used to it!

Guitar in hand, he walks to the mic stand and smiles. The place goes batshit. The opening numbers are mid-paced like he is trying to get a feel for the crowd and I wondered how much more of a connection he could make if the show was in a smaller venue. Those years of playing venues like this though have paid off and once the tempo ups and Harry the showman appears. He connects with the crowd by pointing out individuals and talking to them or about them. One girl called Lauren is selected as it is her birthday (really?) and the crowd sing happy birthday to her. He also grabs a rainbow flag from someone in the crowd and wraps it around his mic stand.

Cliched, cheesy? It could be and I must admit he does tell the crowd he loves them a lot more than is probably necessary but then he gets back to the music it works. He makes it seem effortless, he isn't trying too hard, or even trying to be credible. It appears Harry has done what most ex-boy band members don't and after years of being given one direction, he has successfully chosen own.

He is clearly loving his new rock star persona and he does it well. The seventies tinged ballads are interspersed with two rockier versions of a couple of 1D songs but Kiwi is the moment that both singer and audience have been waiting for. He teased it earlier in the set and after just a couple of lines the crowd have taken over. He stops the song and berates the crowd for "not singing loud enough" and then launches into a full-on high energy version of the song which shows he may just have the ability to make the transition from pop star to rock star.

It's all wrapped up with Sign Of The Times and I head out trying to avoid being swamped by thousands of hyperventilating teenagers.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem