28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Marky Ramone @ The Studio, Auckland - 1/12/2017

02 Dec 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

Hey Ho Lets Go!
 
The Studio on KRd was filling up nicely when I arrived and as expected the crowd is largely made up of males in their late forties/early fifties. The obligatory Ramones t-shirts are everywhere but unlike most of the people that you see wearing a Ramones t-shirt walking down the high street, the punters here tonight have clearly heard a Ramones song or two before.
 
NZ band The Dicks amble out onstage looking like a grunge band with a Bez (if you don't know what a Bez is look up The Happy Mondays) dressed in a green Jesus frock with head covered to make him look like some kind of tripped out flower.
 
Bez (or in this case Gus) dances. The rest of the Dicks play a kind of "we don't give a fuck what you think" punk 'n' roll with laid back fun and attitude. Despite not knowing "why the fuck we are here" they are the perfect openers for what is about to follow. 

Gus loses the headdress and comes across like a gurning, younger, skinnier Lemmy. By the end of the set he has also lost the Jesus frock and prance and twists in just a thong. He is the focal point and at times it works and sometimes it distracts from the music. 

The Dicks are that rare thing. A punk band that would go down well at a festival. Gus you are a star and a Dick.
 
1234! Marky Ramone is a legend as the one of the last and longest serving members of the Ramones still gracing this planet. I am not going to ramble on about the songs. If you are reading this you know the Ramones. 

Tonight is an opportunity to experience, or for some lucky enough to have seen the original line up, to reminisce the experience of what it was like to see one of the most important and influential bands ever. It could go horribly wrong!
 
1234! Let's face it, most bands who reform with only one original member are not going to be any good. It's usually a nostalgia trip that leaves everyone feeling a bit disappointed. This show is different. This is Marky Ramones Blitzkrieg and Marky, as the drummer, has assembled a band of seriously talented younger musicians so the crowd can experience the energy of an early Ramones show. 
 
1234! The fact that Marky still plays drums like he was twenty years old in one of the fastest bands ever to perform is phenomenal. His drumming is razor sharp, on point and something amazing to watch. The band blast through 35 Ramones classics at breakneck speed of course only stopping twice for encores.
 
1234! What amazed me was the energy and speed of the songs and how this translated very early into a mosh pit that would put most twenty year olds to shame. Tonight you can see how and why The Ramones blew peoples minds with their speed fueled take on rock n roll. 
 
1234! As a stand alone set the music and performance is as jarring and out of place with todays music scene as it would have been all those years ago when Marky and the rest of the Ramones first blew peoples minds. It still feels completely relavent though. Most people in Markys shoes put on shows like this for the money and some purists will be throwing the "sell out" cry around but tonight isn't a sell out (or sold out which is a shame) 
 
1234! Tonight I got a glimpse of what it would have been like to see a full on high energy Ramones show. I felt the energy, the excitement, the buzz. The crowd loved every second of every three minute hyperpaced rock n roll anthem. 
 
1234! Let's hope Marky keeps going and keeps offering this opportunity for people to have that Ramones experience. Imagine if everyone on the planet who owns a Ramones t-shirt went to this show? In fact if you do own one then you owe it to Marky and the legacy that is the Ramones. Go catch him before it's too late.

Gabba Gabba Hey!


Review written by Paul Goddard

 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem