15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Marky Ramone @ The Studio, Auckland - 1/12/2017

02 Dec 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

Hey Ho Lets Go!
 
The Studio on KRd was filling up nicely when I arrived and as expected the crowd is largely made up of males in their late forties/early fifties. The obligatory Ramones t-shirts are everywhere but unlike most of the people that you see wearing a Ramones t-shirt walking down the high street, the punters here tonight have clearly heard a Ramones song or two before.
 
NZ band The Dicks amble out onstage looking like a grunge band with a Bez (if you don't know what a Bez is look up The Happy Mondays) dressed in a green Jesus frock with head covered to make him look like some kind of tripped out flower.
 
Bez (or in this case Gus) dances. The rest of the Dicks play a kind of "we don't give a fuck what you think" punk 'n' roll with laid back fun and attitude. Despite not knowing "why the fuck we are here" they are the perfect openers for what is about to follow. 

Gus loses the headdress and comes across like a gurning, younger, skinnier Lemmy. By the end of the set he has also lost the Jesus frock and prance and twists in just a thong. He is the focal point and at times it works and sometimes it distracts from the music. 

The Dicks are that rare thing. A punk band that would go down well at a festival. Gus you are a star and a Dick.
 
1234! Marky Ramone is a legend as the one of the last and longest serving members of the Ramones still gracing this planet. I am not going to ramble on about the songs. If you are reading this you know the Ramones. 

Tonight is an opportunity to experience, or for some lucky enough to have seen the original line up, to reminisce the experience of what it was like to see one of the most important and influential bands ever. It could go horribly wrong!
 
1234! Let's face it, most bands who reform with only one original member are not going to be any good. It's usually a nostalgia trip that leaves everyone feeling a bit disappointed. This show is different. This is Marky Ramones Blitzkrieg and Marky, as the drummer, has assembled a band of seriously talented younger musicians so the crowd can experience the energy of an early Ramones show. 
 
1234! The fact that Marky still plays drums like he was twenty years old in one of the fastest bands ever to perform is phenomenal. His drumming is razor sharp, on point and something amazing to watch. The band blast through 35 Ramones classics at breakneck speed of course only stopping twice for encores.
 
1234! What amazed me was the energy and speed of the songs and how this translated very early into a mosh pit that would put most twenty year olds to shame. Tonight you can see how and why The Ramones blew peoples minds with their speed fueled take on rock n roll. 
 
1234! As a stand alone set the music and performance is as jarring and out of place with todays music scene as it would have been all those years ago when Marky and the rest of the Ramones first blew peoples minds. It still feels completely relavent though. Most people in Markys shoes put on shows like this for the money and some purists will be throwing the "sell out" cry around but tonight isn't a sell out (or sold out which is a shame) 
 
1234! Tonight I got a glimpse of what it would have been like to see a full on high energy Ramones show. I felt the energy, the excitement, the buzz. The crowd loved every second of every three minute hyperpaced rock n roll anthem. 
 
1234! Let's hope Marky keeps going and keeps offering this opportunity for people to have that Ramones experience. Imagine if everyone on the planet who owns a Ramones t-shirt went to this show? In fact if you do own one then you owe it to Marky and the legacy that is the Ramones. Go catch him before it's too late.

Gabba Gabba Hey!


Review written by Paul Goddard

 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem