16 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Marky Ramone @ The Studio, Auckland - 1/12/2017

02 Dec 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

Hey Ho Lets Go!
 
The Studio on KRd was filling up nicely when I arrived and as expected the crowd is largely made up of males in their late forties/early fifties. The obligatory Ramones t-shirts are everywhere but unlike most of the people that you see wearing a Ramones t-shirt walking down the high street, the punters here tonight have clearly heard a Ramones song or two before.
 
NZ band The Dicks amble out onstage looking like a grunge band with a Bez (if you don't know what a Bez is look up The Happy Mondays) dressed in a green Jesus frock with head covered to make him look like some kind of tripped out flower.
 
Bez (or in this case Gus) dances. The rest of the Dicks play a kind of "we don't give a fuck what you think" punk 'n' roll with laid back fun and attitude. Despite not knowing "why the fuck we are here" they are the perfect openers for what is about to follow. 

Gus loses the headdress and comes across like a gurning, younger, skinnier Lemmy. By the end of the set he has also lost the Jesus frock and prance and twists in just a thong. He is the focal point and at times it works and sometimes it distracts from the music. 

The Dicks are that rare thing. A punk band that would go down well at a festival. Gus you are a star and a Dick.
 
1234! Marky Ramone is a legend as the one of the last and longest serving members of the Ramones still gracing this planet. I am not going to ramble on about the songs. If you are reading this you know the Ramones. 

Tonight is an opportunity to experience, or for some lucky enough to have seen the original line up, to reminisce the experience of what it was like to see one of the most important and influential bands ever. It could go horribly wrong!
 
1234! Let's face it, most bands who reform with only one original member are not going to be any good. It's usually a nostalgia trip that leaves everyone feeling a bit disappointed. This show is different. This is Marky Ramones Blitzkrieg and Marky, as the drummer, has assembled a band of seriously talented younger musicians so the crowd can experience the energy of an early Ramones show. 
 
1234! The fact that Marky still plays drums like he was twenty years old in one of the fastest bands ever to perform is phenomenal. His drumming is razor sharp, on point and something amazing to watch. The band blast through 35 Ramones classics at breakneck speed of course only stopping twice for encores.
 
1234! What amazed me was the energy and speed of the songs and how this translated very early into a mosh pit that would put most twenty year olds to shame. Tonight you can see how and why The Ramones blew peoples minds with their speed fueled take on rock n roll. 
 
1234! As a stand alone set the music and performance is as jarring and out of place with todays music scene as it would have been all those years ago when Marky and the rest of the Ramones first blew peoples minds. It still feels completely relavent though. Most people in Markys shoes put on shows like this for the money and some purists will be throwing the "sell out" cry around but tonight isn't a sell out (or sold out which is a shame) 
 
1234! Tonight I got a glimpse of what it would have been like to see a full on high energy Ramones show. I felt the energy, the excitement, the buzz. The crowd loved every second of every three minute hyperpaced rock n roll anthem. 
 
1234! Let's hope Marky keeps going and keeps offering this opportunity for people to have that Ramones experience. Imagine if everyone on the planet who owns a Ramones t-shirt went to this show? In fact if you do own one then you owe it to Marky and the legacy that is the Ramones. Go catch him before it's too late.

Gabba Gabba Hey!


Review written by Paul Goddard

 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem