26 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Three Islands - Album Review: Sunshine for the Soul

01 Dec 2017 // A review by Peter-James Dries

While I admit I am usually somewhat resistant to exploring outside my chosen genre, though often reluctantly do so, I was surprised to find I had no issue getting into this album - once I finally convinced myself to start it.

The Three Islands album Sunshine for the Soul are to Funk and Soul, what Jakob are to Rock. Post-Reggae. Psyche-Dub-ic. Progressive Roots. In a word, revolutionary. The smooth licks, flowing riffs, and tight fills aren’t the portrait, they are the canvas on which the moods are built.

Expecting a run-of-the-mill Reggae/Dub affair, what I instead found was the ultimate Kiwi summer, condensed into an album. While some would argue these are the same thing, this album is different. One you put on while you barbeque your snags. This album is the barbeque, the snags, the mozzies and your drunk uncle smoking on the porch.

The titles are almost onomatopoeia. I don’t know how, but Jason Peters has somehow managed to bottle the vibe of Golden Bay, the essence of Driving to the Coast, the spectacle of Flying Above the Southern Alps, and the ambience of a Mainstreet Café into the tracks held beneath the titles. As interpretive dance is the embodiment of the music, these tracks are reactions and reflections of all these elements of the sunny life on our three islands.

Maybe it’s a side effect of watching Whiplash on Netflix, but I really noticed the drum work. Drummers will argue there is artistry and musicianship in all of their work, but for the most part, I hear a lot of glorified metronomes. In this genre, these genres, as this work fits into many, there is room to be expressive in the drum work, and that stands out on the album.

Were the Jason Peters name stapled all over this release, this would be a collection of Jazz standards, or another Burt Bacharach Plays His Hits. A vehicle for stardom.

But it isn’t. I don’t even remember reading a bio. So instead Sunshine for the Soul is exactly how it plays out. A collection of distilled sunshine made solely for your enjoyment. Songs without the pretence of fast lines, punchlines and story, innuendo and entendre to decipher, or a cult of personality to follow. There is no message and agenda. Just a feeling. Enjoyment.

And in a way, by making an album of enjoyable music without hype or lyrics, Jason has shown off his skills as a multi-instrumentalist, not relegated to a single style or genre. A musician, not just a poster boy for Hip Hop.

Perhaps it’s the unseasonably windless Wellington sunshine, which has persisted this past week, or perhaps I’ve grown as an adult, but I have really appreciated this album, nay, art piece, and it couldn’t have come at a better time. Let’s see if it holds up when the winds return.

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem