18 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Naught for Nothing - Single Review: Lucid

28 Nov 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Talent really does shine. I never really thought about it until now but it does. It stands out, it dazzles, it makes you smile. Naught for Nothing have real talent and their new single Lucid builds on previous releases.

Whilst it isn't a drastic departure from anything they have done before, this track is a great indication of a band who are clearly honing their skills and getting better with each release. The songwriting stands out as does the distinctive vocal from Andrew Reid. He is adding a bit of soul in this track.

There is so much going on musically you could get lost and swept along for the ride not knowing quite what happened when it finally finishes. There is clarity here though and it keeps you focused and connected but every now and then if you want to lose yourself you can. There aren't many songs where you can listen time and time again and have a different equally enjoyable experience on each listen. This is one of them.

The song drives and then stops and starts just to keep things interesting. At 4 min 31 secs long it could have dragged but the track doesn't feel too long. It has just enough space to not overwhelm. Naught for Nothing know how to play to their strengths and limitations. They know when to put a fork in the road and when to pull back rather than going all out. Lucid pulls you in very quickly and has a swagger and sway which sounds like Radiohead jamming with Foals at a Jazz club.

This song will go down nicely at the summer festivals in NZ. Are Naught For Nothing even playing any festivals this summer? If not they should be and if they do then make sure you go and see them. They are one of NZ's best-kept secrets at the moment and they won't stay that way for long if they keep this up.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Naught for Nothing

Naught for Nothing is a four piece Auckland-based band formed late 2015. In a Northcote garage childhood friends Jono (Bass), Fergus (Guitar), Andy (Guitar/Vocals/Keys) and Stephen (Drums) quickly began to find a unique and occasionally challenging Alt rock sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Naught for Nothing

Releases

Naught for Nothing
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem