23 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Electricka Zoo - Album Review: The Electricka Zoo

28 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

If you are on the hunt for a totally original, mind warping album that smacks you across the face with big sound, than this is it. No calming tranquil naval gazing going on here, this self-titled 8 track album may leave you wondering what the heck you are listening to.

Two dudes from New Plymouth now living in our nation’s capital and flying way under the corporate, conventional music radar.  Warning… not for the faint hearted.

To give you a hint of what is in store for your senses, here is a wee definition of the auditory delights waiting. “A duo of Dave Edwards & The Digitator, The Electricka Zoo combine influences from EDM and post-punk avant-garde to jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music”. Imagine if you will all these genres thrown into a blender and out comes a unique loud tornado of electronic sounding rock / punk infused with the afore mentioned genres.  All this is wrapped up in colourful Mandala artwork by Lucie Hannon so if you are intrigued then read on.

This is original indie – fringe music, emanating a unique sound that somehow only bands from Wellington can produce, but it left me wondering how you dance to it. And if you are brave enough how do you dance to it without hurting yourself? These are questions that needed answering so I took to YouTube to see exactly what one does at an Electricka Zoo gig.  I found a wee clip that indicated people were in such awe that moving was not an option, but I am sure things heated up later, and I am almost certain Show Me Your House Moves will grow on me.

The more you listen to The Electricka Zoo the more the Ethno vibe shines through thanks to Dave Edwards(alter ego Black) and his travels.  Dave’s audio-visual projects come under the umbrella label of Fiffdimenson, which if you take a closer look  is very world music focused.

These guys will be playing at the NZ Fringe Fest in Wellington, March 9, 10 and 16, 2018, and I am very tempted to do a road trip to my favourite place in the whole wide world, just so I can seek them out and see if this is danceable music. I salute anyone that makes a whole album out of EDM post-punk avant-garde rock / jazz, raggae, Balkan, Portuguese music.

They will be annihilating our airwaves before you know it, or at least emanating out into the darkness from the Valhalla.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About The Electricka Zoo

The Electricka Zoo are a bass/guitar and live electronica duo of Dave Black and the Digitator.

They combine diverse influences from EDM to postpunk avant-garde rock, jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music into a unique homegrown NZ sound.

Their self-recorded and self-funded debut album, along with images and youtube clips, is available from www.fiffdimension.com/the-electricka-zoo as well as on bandcamp, spotify, Amazon, google play etc

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Electricka Zoo

Releases

The Electricka Zoo
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
Emma G - Single/Video Review: Superhero
08 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
I have loved Emma G from the moment I first reviewed her single King For A Day in 2017. She has a powerful voice which has the ability to transcend between genres effortlessly.
Read More...
Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 20/09/2018
23 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Don McGlashan has a voice which is instantly recognisable to many Kiwis, formerly from bands such as The Mutton Birds, Blam Blam Blam, The Front Lawn and The Bellbirds among others. He is a talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer who has now gone solo and is wowing crowds up and down the country with his Free Flight tour.
Read More...
Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take
20 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .
Read More...
Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland. He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem