20 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Electricka Zoo - Album Review: The Electricka Zoo

28 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

If you are on the hunt for a totally original, mind warping album that smacks you across the face with big sound, than this is it. No calming tranquil naval gazing going on here, this self-titled 8 track album may leave you wondering what the heck you are listening to.

Two dudes from New Plymouth now living in our nation’s capital and flying way under the corporate, conventional music radar.  Warning… not for the faint hearted.

To give you a hint of what is in store for your senses, here is a wee definition of the auditory delights waiting. “A duo of Dave Edwards & The Digitator, The Electricka Zoo combine influences from EDM and post-punk avant-garde to jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music”. Imagine if you will all these genres thrown into a blender and out comes a unique loud tornado of electronic sounding rock / punk infused with the afore mentioned genres.  All this is wrapped up in colourful Mandala artwork by Lucie Hannon so if you are intrigued then read on.

This is original indie – fringe music, emanating a unique sound that somehow only bands from Wellington can produce, but it left me wondering how you dance to it. And if you are brave enough how do you dance to it without hurting yourself? These are questions that needed answering so I took to YouTube to see exactly what one does at an Electricka Zoo gig.  I found a wee clip that indicated people were in such awe that moving was not an option, but I am sure things heated up later, and I am almost certain Show Me Your House Moves will grow on me.

The more you listen to The Electricka Zoo the more the Ethno vibe shines through thanks to Dave Edwards(alter ego Black) and his travels.  Dave’s audio-visual projects come under the umbrella label of Fiffdimenson, which if you take a closer look  is very world music focused.

These guys will be playing at the NZ Fringe Fest in Wellington, March 9, 10 and 16, 2018, and I am very tempted to do a road trip to my favourite place in the whole wide world, just so I can seek them out and see if this is danceable music. I salute anyone that makes a whole album out of EDM post-punk avant-garde rock / jazz, raggae, Balkan, Portuguese music.

They will be annihilating our airwaves before you know it, or at least emanating out into the darkness from the Valhalla.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About The Electricka Zoo

The Electricka Zoo are a bass/guitar and live electronica duo of Dave Black and the Digitator.

They combine diverse influences from EDM to postpunk avant-garde rock, jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music into a unique homegrown NZ sound.

Their self-recorded and self-funded debut album, along with images and youtube clips, is available from www.fiffdimension.com/the-electricka-zoo as well as on bandcamp, spotify, Amazon, google play etc

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Electricka Zoo

Releases

The Electricka Zoo
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Gareth Thomas - Single Review: Wake Up
07 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi artist, Gareth Thomas well known for his past endeavours with iconic New Zealand band Goodshirt, has released his latest single following on from My Dog on the upcoming 2021 album Bits. Wake Up is described as the "morning anthem for sleepyheads everywhere".
Read More...
Threat.Meet.Protocol - Single/Video Review: The Witch Trials
02 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lurking in the shadows since 2011, Tauranga based Threat.Meet.
Read More...
Valere - Album Review: Colours
01 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based songwriter and producer Shana Llorando is electro-pop, RnB musical artist Valere. Recently releasing her luscious debut 13 track original album Colours, full of delightfully fresh and funky tracks, each one flowing harmoniously with warmth and honesty.
Read More...
Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem