18 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Electricka Zoo - Album Review: The Electricka Zoo

28 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

If you are on the hunt for a totally original, mind warping album that smacks you across the face with big sound, than this is it. No calming tranquil naval gazing going on here, this self-titled 8 track album may leave you wondering what the heck you are listening to.

Two dudes from New Plymouth now living in our nation’s capital and flying way under the corporate, conventional music radar.  Warning… not for the faint hearted.

To give you a hint of what is in store for your senses, here is a wee definition of the auditory delights waiting. “A duo of Dave Edwards & The Digitator, The Electricka Zoo combine influences from EDM and post-punk avant-garde to jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music”. Imagine if you will all these genres thrown into a blender and out comes a unique loud tornado of electronic sounding rock / punk infused with the afore mentioned genres.  All this is wrapped up in colourful Mandala artwork by Lucie Hannon so if you are intrigued then read on.

This is original indie – fringe music, emanating a unique sound that somehow only bands from Wellington can produce, but it left me wondering how you dance to it. And if you are brave enough how do you dance to it without hurting yourself? These are questions that needed answering so I took to YouTube to see exactly what one does at an Electricka Zoo gig.  I found a wee clip that indicated people were in such awe that moving was not an option, but I am sure things heated up later, and I am almost certain Show Me Your House Moves will grow on me.

The more you listen to The Electricka Zoo the more the Ethno vibe shines through thanks to Dave Edwards(alter ego Black) and his travels.  Dave’s audio-visual projects come under the umbrella label of Fiffdimenson, which if you take a closer look  is very world music focused.

These guys will be playing at the NZ Fringe Fest in Wellington, March 9, 10 and 16, 2018, and I am very tempted to do a road trip to my favourite place in the whole wide world, just so I can seek them out and see if this is danceable music. I salute anyone that makes a whole album out of EDM post-punk avant-garde rock / jazz, raggae, Balkan, Portuguese music.

They will be annihilating our airwaves before you know it, or at least emanating out into the darkness from the Valhalla.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About The Electricka Zoo

The Electricka Zoo are a bass/guitar and live electronica duo of Dave Black and the Digitator.

They combine diverse influences from EDM to postpunk avant-garde rock, jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music into a unique homegrown NZ sound.

Their self-recorded and self-funded debut album, along with images and youtube clips, is available from www.fiffdimension.com/the-electricka-zoo as well as on bandcamp, spotify, Amazon, google play etc

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Electricka Zoo

Releases

The Electricka Zoo
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Anthony Coulter - Album Review: Memories
18 Jan 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer, song writer and musician Anthony Coulter has just released his debut album Memories. Twelve tracks resplendent in smooth melodic vocal style and theatrical wonder.
Read More...
Iris Zhang - Single Review: Small Ache
14 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Iris Zhang is a lawyer by qualification, but a musician by heart. She is an incredibly talented young lady, not only academically but also in the musical arts.
Read More...
Jennifer K. Austin - Album Review: Journey
07 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
American born Kiwi singer Jennifer K. Austin has recently released her second studio album Journey, following on from the release of the first three singles (Shadow, Misery and Old Gin), this beautiful ten track album is highly influenced by her life story.
Read More...
Lady Larisa - Single Review: Four Walls
27 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aotearoa born jazz artist and songwriter Lady Larisa has just released Four Walls, her latest single from the yet to be released up and coming debut EP Honeychild. Currently based in Hawkes Bay, Lady Larissa has learned a lot from her time in LA, New Orleans and New York.
Read More...
Na Noise - Album Review: Waiting For You
24 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Low-fi Duo-wop group from Auckland Na Noise have just released their debut album Waiting For You, giving us an insight into their sonic, original approach to music. Described as the "Thelma and Louise of modern DIY guitar based music", they have created a sound which is a unique blend of organ, percussion, call and response vocals and a whole lot of fuzzy dark carnivalesque attitude.
Read More...
Album Review: Ida Lune
17 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In 2013 Deanne Krieg (WHIM, Dawn Diver), Rose Blake (Blaek, Dawn Diver) and Anna Wooles formed Poneke/Wellington avant-folk trio Ida Lune, forming a strong bond over their shared love of harmony. The trio have released their self-titled debut album which promises to be a lush blend of three part harmonies, yet each bringing to the fore their own unique style of vocals.
Read More...
Emma Rose - Single Review: Happy
03 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Talented young native of Nelson, Emma Common (Emma Rose) has forged ahead with her music recently creating an EP of three songs for the final project in her degree in Bachelor of Commercial Music at Massey University. Happy is the opening track to her Elderflower EP, which due our early 2021.
Read More...
Bravo Bonez - EP Review: Love Blast Lounge
01 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based musician, songwriter, and producer Bravo Bonez has just released his latest lo-fi offering, reminiscent of old school lounge music which is ironic because the title of his five track EP is called Love Blast Lounge.With the intention of spreading a message of "music, hope and love", Bravo Bonez music is a mix of post-punk, ambient, shoegaze and perhaps dreampop.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem