24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miller Yule - Single Review: Diamonds

23 Nov 2017 // A review by butch181
Diamonds has a beautifully clean guitar riff that resonated immediately at my core. A fresh sound, but so incredibly familiar too. I ended up spending two weeks trying to determine what potential songs could have influenced the making of this introductory composition, and three songs stood out; the Foo Fighter's 2009 track Wheels, Dave Dobbyn's 1988 Kiwi anthem Loyal, and Tom Petty's 1989 hit Free Fallin'. It's rare to have a track capture my attention so quickly, especially considering the lighthearted nature of the song, given my personal bias towards the heavier rock genres.

Miller Yule has a soft, breathy, vocal style, that gives a very John Mayer vibe. A very simple track with a well-paced tempo, that makes this a feel-good song, full of positive vibes. As mainstream as it gets, the song has no real standout instruments, and yet the choices in layering are superb, giving a feeling of progression and crescending throughout the track.

A delightful track, released in time for summer BBQs, beach time, and road trips.


Review written by Alex Moulton
 

About Miller Yule

In 2016, solo artist Miller Yule broke into the NZ music scene with his acclaimed debut EP Shoot Me in the Heart.

The EP hit #4 on the NZ Albums Chart and gained further momentum with the release of music videos for singles Shoot Me in the Heart and Little Things.

Bolstered by the success of his honest songwriting and heartfelt live performances, Miller capped off 2016 supporting Ben Harper on his NZ tour.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miller Yule

Releases

Miller Yule Live
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Shoot Me In The Heart
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By butch181

Paper Cranes - Album Review: Voices
19 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Due for release January 18, 2019, Voices is the second full-length album from Indie Folk duo Paper Cranes. While comprised of ten tracks, the album has a short overall runtime of just over 35 minutes.
Read More...
This Pale Fire - Single Review: Float Out
17 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Float Out is about the process of letting things go, moving forward, learning from your past experiences, growing as a result. As such, the track has an intrinsically emotional weight to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Miller Yule Live
17 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Miller Yule Live is a good length EP, consisting of seven tracks with a total runtime of over 30 minutes. Performing a setlist that is mostly sourced from his 2016 EP Shoot Me In The Heart (reviewed here), Miller Yule has also added in his single Diamonds (released in November 2017 and reviewed here), a stripped down adaptation of Six60's Don't Give It Up, and a new track to spice it up further.
Read More...
Mako Road - EP Review: Local Safari
10 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Local Safari is the latest release from Christchurch Indie group Mako Road The four-piece provide a very laid-back and relaxed (albeit short) EP as we enter the prime summer road tripping season.The EP begins with its titular track Local Safari, with some pleasant keys and a generally unhurried pace, controlled by a simple hi hat and snare drum combo.
Read More...
Kerretta - Single Review: Chroma Queens
10 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Chroma Queens is the first single from upcoming LP release Exiscens (due for release on December 14), which is the first release from Auckland experimental rock act Kerretta for over four years. The band are comprised of bass player William Waters; drummer H.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ghost Who Walks @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 30/11/2018
06 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Cheers and squeals are let out around Auckland’s Anthology Lounge as The Rubics take to the stage. The six-piece group have been working on making a name for themselves as the groove-makers of the Auckland scene, and from the sound of the audience, they know exactly what they are in for.
Read More...
Gig Review: 2Cellos @The Civic, Auckland - 3/12/2018
04 Dec 2018 // by butch181
People were abuzz as they filed into The Civic to get to their seats. Many eyes were enjoying the venue itself as one of Auckland’s last remaining atmospheric theatres, with its soft-top design that floats above the auditorium, with stars and clouds that recreate the Southern Hemisphere sky-scape.
Read More...
Lisa Crawley - Single/Video Review: Baby It's Fine
30 Nov 2018 // by butch181
Lisa Crawley’s latest single Baby It’s Fine is a delightfully unhurried and soulful pop track. Starting with a slow strum of the guitar and an almost acoustic vibe to the bass, there is a slow melancholic edge to the song.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem