26 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum

16 Nov 2017 // A review by Ria Loveder

Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into.

I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love. Over the past year I have found myself getting more and more into psychedelic sounding music, and this was just what I needed to recharge the love I have found for it.

Mysterium Tremendum is an eclectic album of ambient sounds, taking us on a ride, going beyond the realm of planet earth to a place of Transcendental Ice Cream and Anti-Moon’s.

My favourite tracks on this record were Centipede, an upbeat tune with catchy synth melody and rocking drum and guitar; Fly Spray, a dramatic, free flowing vigorous tune that beautifully encompasses the genre of psychedelic pop rock - a song that you can be flailing your limbs at while yelling the lyrics at the top of your lungs; and my favourite on the album, Milk & Cookies, a playful, animated tune of picked guitars, with atmospheric vocals, a song I would quite happily let loose to at a festival.

This album, and Killing Bear in general, are a band I would love the opportunity to experience live. Going to see them at a summer festival, with the sun shining and the good vibes flowing, this would be one band that I would be in my element with. It is no secret I love to dance, and this is certainly a collection of songs I could get my groove on to.

A brilliant collection of well-constructed music! If you are a fan of psychedelic pop rock, this would be the perfect album to check out, even if it isn’t something you would typically listen to, I suggest you do to get those summer vibes happening!


Review written by Ria Loveder

 

About Killing Bear

In the far distant future a mystical tribe on Mars use their psychic powers to travel back in time. They possessed the minds of a band of musicians with the aim to utilise their partytastic powers to correct the undoings of the past.

Armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars the band was then able to transcend the barriers of space-time. With the power of music they travelled back a millennia and stopped a devastating event in our history. This event now never occurred because we are living in a parallel future to the one in which it happened. Now in 2016 the next catastrophic event is just around the corner and we need you to party hard to help stop it from ever happening.

Killing Bear! Psychedelic futuristic music from the past from another planet.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Killing Bear

Releases

Mysterium Tremendum
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Killing Bear
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Vine Of Souls
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Rebirth
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Wild Beasts
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Read More...
Oyawa - Album Review: I Don't Recall Ordering Ordinary
03 Jul 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Indie/alternative band Oyawa have bought their loud and ambient tones to the New Zealand music scene with their album I Don’t Recall Ordering Ordinary. It is evident to hear that Oyawa are not afraid to experiment with sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem