26 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Thirty Years Late - Album Review: Fight On

14 Nov 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
In 1967 something happened. There was a shift in peoples mindsets and that resulted in a shift in the musical landscape. It had happened before in the 50's with Elvis and it happened again in 1977 when music got an attitude and image that spawned the D.I.Y. punk ethic.

Then in 1987, a band from Seattle did it again. They took their influences and made something new and exciting. In between these pivotal points in musical history, we have other bands who tried to emulate the sound these inspirational artists had created and unfortunately (or fortunately) most failed and ended up as a watered down version of their peers. In fact, Nirvana probably spawned more diluted versions of themselves than any other band previously.

Thirty Years later I am listening to Fight On the new album from the aptly named Thirty Years Late. What we have is ten Alt-rock tracks with a vocalist whose voice is scarily similar to Aaron Lewis from Staind. It actually wouldn't be hard to convince people that Fight On is actually a new Staind album!

Early songs are exactly what you would expect, angsty with an occasional catchy chorus and that vocal standing way out in front. It's OK but as someone recently posted on their Facebook page "it sounds familiar". The title track Fight On is the stand out track, as it is an indication of a possible direction the band could have taken to stamp their own identity on this genre. The high is short lived though as it is followed by Let You Down which is also the longest track. A pedestrian guitar riff punctuates the song that really doesn't go anywhere and is probably about 2 mins too long.

To be fair Thirty Years Late are really good musicians and Damian Pons can really sing better than most. However, his voice is so similar to Aaron Lewis that it pigeonholes the band. I guess this is my problem, I hear a band who are really good at what they do. They could do so much more if they stepped away from their influences and added to them to create their own sound.

They do it well, these songs are well crafted and I think if Thirty Years Late could remove themselves partly from their influences and add some more variation to the style and direction of their music they could actually be something special. The talent is there, they just need the will to be weird, the will to experiment, the push to be innovators and not emulators. In 1967 people did that, in 1977, 1987…. Thirty years might not be too late to change again. Let’s see what happens next.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Thirty Years Late

We like our rock with a little bit of groove…

Thirty Years Late was born from a desire to play hard rock that makes you want to move. For the last few years it’s been exactly what we’ve achieved.

In the last three years we have released two EPs with our most recent EP (Life Botox) mixed by UK Producer Kenny MacDonald (Texas, Gun), toured the North Island twice and received airplay on Kiwi FM and several local radio stations.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Thirty Years Late

Releases

Fight On
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem