24 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

So Below - Single Review: Close

14 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

New Zealand's very own enigmatic songbird, Madeline North AKA So Below has released a new single called Close.

An upbeat lively track accompanied by intense poetic lyrics which don’t match. This mismatch of lively instrumentals and dark lyrics gives Close a unique edge and makes saying goodbye slightly less depressing.

No longer living in NZ you can now find Madeline hanging out in the more tropical climes of LA, collaborating with fellow Kiwis, eating garlic bread in an infinity pool, or working on getting to that stage at least.

As I travel around the internet doing my research, I see that one time when asked what her spirit animal is, So Below indicated a sloth, so this self-proclaimed Goth sloth has released an optimistic and catchy number in time to hit our airwaves for summer here in New Zealand (if it ever arrives), this has been touted as a “Smash summer pop anthem” and will certainly get So Below rolling into 2018 on a wave of good vibes.

The more I listen to Close, the more I like it, you can dance to it and it won’t make you feel sad. There is plenty of energy flowing through this track.

Written in LA along with artist Chelsea Jade and Sam McCarthy of Boyboy the track was inspired by the environment around them, which could explain the almost cheery enthusiastic tone of this single.
 

“Speak in greys changing shadows on your face with each mistake hoping it’s not too late.”  Upbeat Goth-Pop with a positive vibe, well worth a listen.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About So Below

Since making her musical debut with her single Drift and attracting over 100,000 SoundCloud plays in just a few short months, So Below has become the mysterious goth pop chanteuse that everyone can’t stop talking about.

After leaving her native New Zealand, Madeline North began exploring her vocal talents inspired by her new surroundings. Layering heavily processed vocals and harmonies over simple yet dark laptop beats, North began to formulate her style into what would so uniquely become So Below. Wanting to carry on this darker, moodier style of electro-pop, North reached out to fellow Kiwi musicians Aaron Short (The Naked And Famous), Sam McCarthy (Kids Of 88) and Leroy Clampitt (Taste Nasa) to help her produce her demos and ultimately complete what has become her debut self-titled EP.

Having a combined 1 million plays on Spotify, 300,000+ plays on SoundCloud, the support of notable sites such as i-D, HillyDilly and Neon Gold and receiving high rotation on New Zealand radio, So Below is poised to be one of 2017’s artists to watch. Don’t say you weren’t warned…

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for So Below

Releases

II
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Single/Video Review: Better Days
27 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based multi-instrumentalist Sam Loveridge has released his debut single Better Days, prior to his album Clarity which is due to follow at the end of March. Sam's solo debut is also accompanied by a humorous video written/directed by Loren Black and edited by Jamie Crerar.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review - Mono
25 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent Christchurch based multi-instrumentalist Li’l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine, has just released his third album Mono. David Thorpe (aka Li’l Chuck) shines on this album, fourteen tracks of pure nostalgic blues, early jazz and ragtime recorded at Sugar Ray’s Vintage Recording Studio, in Essex, UK.
Read More...
George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem