15 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Needless Cane - Album review: Sick World

13 Nov 2017 // A review by James Castady-Kristament
 photo Album cover white_zpsmakyig2w.jpg

Needles Cane is a name that I’ve heard crop up quite a few times on posters and gig invitations on Facebook and amongst friends in the Auckland Goth scene. Although the most I knew about them before I listened to their album Sick World was that they were gothic rock. 

Sick World which is due for release on the 17th November is a collaborative project between singer & songwriter Needless Cane and music producer Jeremy Garner.

I felt like the album got off to a wobbly start with the opening track Solipsism. Although the music was punchy and competent the vocals were a bit lose and the melody was wandering in and out of key. But, by the second track I was still listening and things were getting a bit more interesting and by the third track Walpurgisnacht well I was very intrigued indeed. 

Needles Cane croaks in a low pitched Marilyn Manson-esk tone, complete with hints of a strong David Bowie influence, through 9 songs of Gothy Electro Rock. Moments of play worthy tunes such as Pale Fire and The Corpse of Love, (which I think as a recording and song really hit the mark), abounded in the second half of the album and the song Goddess of The Black Moon was haunting and dark and very enjoyable. 

As I kept listening quite contently to the next song Identity Crisis, it became apparent that the album was holding my attention and I was actually quite enjoying Needles Cane. I found the lyrics captivating and his use of repeating phrases, often drove the lyrics home, making sure that the skilfully crafted lyrics couldn’t just float over you un-noticed. 

The last tune of the album samples the story of Mr Bungle, in a 50’s American school tutorial about behaving in the lunch room. It then lets lose into the lumbering & dark title track Sick World.

Over all I thought it was a really enjoyable gothic rock album. Although the first track didn’t appeal to me, the rest of the album was actually pretty hot. I shared song number 3 Walpurgisnacht in a live video on Facebook and it was received favourably by some of my Facebook friends, with friend Sara Beckhouse exclaiming Needless Cane was amazing and I needed to check out their video for their song Hemlock Lemonade.

While I was checking out Hemlock Lemonade I noticed they had a music video for the song Kill Your Ego which is track number 5 on Sick World.

So without further ado check out Kill your Ego by Needles Cane:

                  
 

About Needless Cane

Born of the ashes of former project Omega, frontman Needless and bassist Ruby went on to create the band Needless Cane.

Surviving countless line-up changes with only N.Cane remaining as the constant member (Ruby was not to re-unite with the band until mid-2012)
The band quickly became the torch bearer for alternative music in its hometown of Timaru.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Needless Cane

Releases

Sick World
Year: 2017
Type: Album
The Sun Did Not Shine
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Noir
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By James Castady-Kristament

Rei - Album Review: The Bridge
06 Aug 2019 // by James Castady-Kristament
With a music career on a continued upward trajectory, 25 year old musician Rei is reaping the rewards of his hard work and dedication to his craft with his third and latest album The Bridge going to number 1 on the iTunes Hip Hop charts.   Self-belief, positivity and connection to his Maori roots is how I would sum up what Rei is all about.
Read More...
Devaur - Album Review: Product Of A Vision
23 Feb 2019 // by James Castady-Kristament
Devaur is a West Auckland Producer and MC who has been dedicated to his craft for over 10 years. Producing numerous projects, music videos and mix tapes including albums for Synteck and Manix not to mention his numerous features and collaborations.
Read More...
Factor - EP Review: Champions of the Digital World
30 Jan 2019 // by James Castady-Kristament
  The west side of Auckland is back in full effect with Factor's latest release Champions of the Digital World, which features many of west Auckland's finest MC’s including heavy hitters Pakkz Tha General, Alpha, Dlar, {K.A.
Read More...
Gig Reivew: Wu Tang Clan @ The Trusts Arena, Auckland - 14/12/2018
16 Dec 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
The most iconic and arguably the best Hip-Hop group of all time graced West Auckland's Trust Arena on Friday night to celebrate 25 years of the Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) album, which they performed in its entirety.  The night started with DJ Sir-Vere and MC JB the War Villain followed by local Hip Hop group SWIDT who dropped tracks from their debut album including Ric Flair and No Emotion In The Wild.
Read More...
Zams Feat Zed Koen - Single/Video Review: New Money
05 Dec 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
New Money is the hot new music video from Zaman Lewis AKA Zams, featuring rapper Zed Koen New Money brings the new school rules to the ring with their contemporary trap styles. Vibrant cinematography makes this video pop with colour and movement.
Read More...
SWIDT - EP Review: The Most Electrifying
15 Aug 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
Onehunga's own SWIDT have released their 6-song EP The Most Electrifying. SWIDT's style is in the same contemporary direction as American Superstars J Cole and Migos, but with SWIDT’s exceptional talent of translating their big personalities, humour, wit and vibe to their records.
Read More...
Icepro - Single Review: Last Breath
24 Jul 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
Icepro’s new single Last Breath, featuring Piri Mac, is a tribute to West Coast 90’s Gangster rap with a nod to the hook from the 1997 hit Going Back To Cali by Notorious B.I.
Read More...
Esoligh - Album Review: Brightness Sparks
08 Jul 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
Brightness Sparks by Esoligh is a 14-track album of conscious boom bap. The album runs for 54 minutes.
Read More...
View All Articles By James Castady-Kristament

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem