19 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Valkyrie - EP Review: Vallkyrie

11 Nov 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
The Goddess Vallkyrie has spoken. She is looking for warriors, people who dare to be different, who want to alter perceptions and stereotypes. She is going to take these people to Valhalla to dine with Odin (well maybe Valhalla in Wellington for a few beers anyway).

To have come across an act like this, hailing from South Auckland, (my band is based down here as well) is exciting. Vallkyrie have a clear vision and it's not just around the direction of their sound it is in every detail surrounding them. From the imagery, the clothing, the stage show, videos. It all needs to fit but it also needs to follow the path they have chosen which is very different from what many people would expect.

There is so much going on but let's focus on the music. This band has some clear influences but rather than becoming a watered down version of the music they like they have mixed up a potent brew and created something unique. There are tribal rhythms, industrial beats, some beautiful vocals that go from Lorde-esque to hip-hop and all underpinned with a classic rock sensibility. It shouldn't work but it does.

Steel Heart starts with what sounds like a demonic music box that has been opened without being wound up properly then Omer's vocal floats in. She has a beautiful voice. This is a pop song with a twist of lemon then the drop into hip-hop comes, quickly followed by some 80's rock god guitar licks. It is a perfect and intriguing opener.

Voodoo has a bit more attitude and we get exposed to some of the soul of Vallkyrie. It's dark and seductive. The guitar kicks back in halfway through and is more prominent this time and I do question if that was necessary on this track.

Aztec Breath will have people swaying on it's opening vocal refrain but then the synth kicks in with what sounds like pan pipes! Really unexpected but it works as a great hook. Kind of reminds me of VAST (the UK one) who were another band pushing boundaries with sound.

Lost Soul is probably the most straight-ahead rock track on here. kind of a light version of something Devilskin might do. It's my least favourite not because it is bad but just because I think it is the most formulaic track on the EP. It will go down well live though.

The fact that Vallkyrie can leave tracks like Sakura and Queen until the end of EP shows real confidence. Sakura starts with a Japanese influenced vibe and shows the cinematic element to this band. The sounds create visuals in your mind and music scores for films or games should be something for the band to consider. It's a trippy track and leads us into the closing track Queen.

It starts off like The Prodigy and the tribal drums kick in. The volume needs to be turned up as the beats just build until we are in full on Pendulum mode. It's the shortest track on here but probably my favourite and it leaves you wanting to hear more.

Honestly, you need to see and hear Vallkyrie, It is rare to find a group who are willing to push boundaries but who also know the limits they can go to. It is controlled and focused and has clear direction. That direction is up. Up to wherever they want to go and whoever they want to take with them.

Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Valkyrie

Valkyrie is a Rock/Hip Hop band from South Auckland and have been acclaimed for their mix of moody theatrical sounds combined with powerful anthems. If Imagine Dragons, Rihanna and The Prodigy had a soul child, it would be Valkyrie.

The band consists of Omer Gilroy (Nga Puhi, Ngai tahu), Rebel Reid (Nga Puhi) and Brandon Haru (Nga Puhi, Tainui).

Valkyrie hit the stage with a theatrical and explosive live set, which has already won them 3rd place (amongst 149 entries) for 'Battle of the Bands'. Valkyrie have opened for Safia (Australia) and played at festivals such as Big Gay Out and George in the Park. Norse mythology and gothic rock inspire their visual design and ideology. Valkyrie have embodied their inspiration, to create an immersive world. They are also proud Maori artists, hailing from south Auckland, drawing strength from their cultural heritage.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Valkyrie

Releases

Vallkyrie
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem