22 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tunes of I - Single Review: Kiss the Sky

04 Nov 2017 // A review by Lora Thompson

Wellington dub-rockers Tunes of I just never stop.


After a crazy couple of years touring their debut album Restless, they're back with the first single off what will be their third release, and EP called Wicked Ways – due for release on the 17th November.


The now 7 piece strong neo/dub/soul/psychedelia have come a long way in the 6 years since the core members met at New Zealand School of Music Wellington in 2011.


This track kicks in with a snare hit that sounds like it's about to go straight into a classic Kora track Burning, but then a groovy funk bass and a shuffle groove on the drums starts up, followed quickly by a catchy guitar lick.


The horns and vocals kick in later. At first the vocals didn't grab me. But then the pre-chorus kicks in, giving way to the harmony-rich chorus, which according to the press release is sung by all members of the band 'Hold on, you'll never really know if you give it up and throw it away, head strong, we're still flying for the moon' – tells an uplifting tale of persistence, perseverance and eventual reward, blended in with an existential crisis – some more psychedelic and questioning of existence within the verse lyrics.


The track gradually builds until it crescendos in the final chorus, ending on a 'I don't know where I'm going, but I'm going anyway.'


Working with Kiwi Dub veterans Lee Prebble and Barnaby Weir, it's certain that the forthcoming album will be an absolute killer EP.


If you're in Wellington catch them at the EP release party at San Fran on November 18th.

In the mean time you can stream Kiss the Sky on Spotify, Apple Music and all the regular places.  



Review written by Lora Thompson

 

About Tunes of I

Born out of the famed New Zealand School of Music in 2011, the then three piece band has spent the last six years expanding their repertoire (and members) into a full seven piece ensemble. Featuring a solid backbone of drums, bass, vocals and guitars, and complemented by some of Wellington's finest horn players, Tunes of I - or TOI as they are also known - is renowned around the country for their original, tight and refreshingly dynamic live performances.

Having recently celebrated six years as a band, TOI have been working hard to cement their place in the New Zealand music scene. Most notably, the past few years has seen the award-winning band advance in leaps and bounds from their humble beginnings. In 2014 they were recipients of funding from theaudience.co.nz, resulting in their music video Give In, which enjoyed more than six weeks on rotation on Edge TV. They then pursued more than 25 shows around the country in summer 2014/15, rivaled only by a tour of slightly more magnitude the following summer, which celebrated the release of their debut album Restless at the end of 2015.

Restless - the result of a Kickstarter campaign which raised more than $13 000 - was recorded in Surgery Studios by Lee Prebble, mastered by Mike Gibson of Munki Studios, and produced by Barnaby Weir of The Black Seeds and Fly My Pretties. Its release at the end of 2015 was celebrated with performances at Rhythm & Vines and Soundsplash, plus more than 25 shows around the country as support and headlining acts alike.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tunes of I

Releases

Restless
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
T.O.I
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Lora Thompson

Festival Review: Homegrown 2018
10 Apr 2018 // by Lora Thompson
It was a cloudy yet thankfully calm Saturday in beautiful capital city when we arrived at the waterfront at 1pm. After collecting my pass, the first stop was up-and-comers Dead Favours on the Rock Stage.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Album Review: L.A.B
12 Dec 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Needless to say I have seen these boys play live and had long anticipated the release of the self-title album from L.A.
Read More...
Merrin - Album Review: 1
12 Oct 2017 // by Lora Thompson
From first listen, Merrin's 1 has evolved in leaps and bounds from their earlier singles Sin and Mr Dominant the band are now bringing a much heavier and refined hard rock feel than their previous work. The Album begins with the newest single Durty Little Secret and quickly and easily segways into the heavier, riffier Burn it Up.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Fabric
26 Sep 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Fabric (Released September 2017) is the 6th Full-length studio offering from Wellington-based band The Black Seeds – and the 12 track album certainly does not disappoint. The band have been around since 1998, with their Global Breakthrough album generally considered to be their 2006 release Enter the Dojo.
Read More...
Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Inspiration
10 Jun 2017 // by Lora Thompson
As I downloaded this track to begin listening I really had no idea what to expect. Actually that's a lie,I had heard a few of Ryan's previous offerings – Little Green Dragon (2008), The Lunar Sea (2011) and The Buzz Tapes (2012) - So based on this I expected an awesome display of guitar, and that's exactly what I got – one of NZ's best and highly under-rated guitarists.
Read More...
The Nukes - Album Review: III
01 Apr 2017 // by Lora Thompson
I have had the pleasure of reviewing the full-length album III by NZ's original Ukulele Trio – The Nukes. Dave Parker, David 'Snapper' Thiele, and Ben Collier are a power-trio of NZ music's finest – former credits include Goldenhorse, Rhythm Cage and The Parker Project – as well as Thiele's extensive contribution to the local music community through Kiwi FM.
Read More...
Poison Skies - EP Review: Day to Defy
23 Nov 2016 // by Lora Thompson
The debut EP Day to Defy from Poison Skies delivers a familiar pop-punk kick while nailing their powerful and catchy sound. The EP begins with their upbeat single Eighty Six, leading into the heavier half-time thrash of Stop and Breathe – The catchy, melodic chorus in this second track provides a stark contrast against a well-orchestrated wall of noise.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Album Review: The 11th Sky
22 Oct 2016 // by Lora Thompson
Wellington Electro-Soul outfit Electric Wire Hustle released their 3rd album The 11th Sky on September 30th2016. EWH first appeared in the public eye with their self titled album in 2009 , and since then have also released Love Can Prevail in 2014 which was a world wide success that saw the band achieve some Cult Fame in the UK and Europe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lora Thompson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem