22 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Willowbank

02 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I have crossed the path of Yumi Zouma once before when I reviewed their first track on this album which was released as a single back in August. Willowbank is the sophomore album to Yoncalla, their debut originals LP.

Depths (Pt I.) eases you into Willowbank, it is upbeat and catchy, it sparkles and shines and invites us to join this inspirational musical journey which twists and turns through 12 tracks eventually ending up at Depths (Pt II), a reprise of the opening track. A culmination of this musical collaboration and a beautiful ending to this album, but I shouldn’t be talking about the ending without describing all the juicy stuff in the middle.

Lyrically I did find that Yumi Zouma have found a deeper, well rounded angle to this latest album. It is still dream pop but perhaps not the light and airy kind of past ventures, yes it is ethereal and breezy but I found some serious reflective undertones lurking around this album. Maybe it is because they recorded Willowbank in a studio amongst the semi-demolished CBD of Christchurch, or perhaps because at last they were collaborating together in their hometown.  The taste of pavlova and scent of Pohutukawa blossoms in their thoughts.

This is the band’s first significant work written and recorded entirely in New Zealand as opposed to the bands musical endeavours of the past; this was truly a Kiwi band producing music from NZ.

Yumi Zouma have a committed and large fan base and it is easy to hear why, the music is soft and peppy with a 70's disco feel. "Serene disco" is how UK newspaper The Guardian put it. I once called their music “Utopian in the mythical dreamy sense of the word”, to me it has this element but also has a natural graceful flow peppered with energetic bursts and touches of melancholy.

This all may sound like a hodge podge of genres, but it works together well to create a unique and lovely album.

The band which have been described as “gauzy New Zealand indie-popers” have created a lengthy rather lovely album from the summer they spent together at home.

They continue to be fragmented, scattered in exotic locations such as New York and Paris and touring like demons.  Pulling in large crowds of people with their immense popularity overseas, and once again opening for Lorde, Yumi Zouma can be proud that they produced this magical album.

Going from loud and hectic to soft and dreamy, this has been a winning transition I would say.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Yumi Zouma

Yumi Zouma are three friends from New Zealand now living internationally in New York and Paris. Their music is timeless, honest and direct. Their debut EP Yumi Zouma was Cascine's first release of 2014.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Yumi Zouma

Releases

Willowbank
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Yoncalla
Year: 2016
Type: Album
EP I & II
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Yumi Zouma
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
Emma G - Single/Video Review: Superhero
08 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
I have loved Emma G from the moment I first reviewed her single King For A Day in 2017. She has a powerful voice which has the ability to transcend between genres effortlessly.
Read More...
Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 20/09/2018
23 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Don McGlashan has a voice which is instantly recognisable to many Kiwis, formerly from bands such as The Mutton Birds, Blam Blam Blam, The Front Lawn and The Bellbirds among others. He is a talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer who has now gone solo and is wowing crowds up and down the country with his Free Flight tour.
Read More...
Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take
20 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .
Read More...
Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland. He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem