18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Great North - Album Review: The Golden Age

27 Oct 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

You know you have stumbled onto a good thing, when you come across a band who reckons that their songs were delivered to them by drunken angels and the music video involves blowing loads of beautifully crafted cakes from the Australian Women’s Weekly Cake Book to smithereens. 

“Nearly every 90's child in New Zealand would have had a cake from that cookbook or been at a party where one was served. Every parent will remember making one. I’m so happy to take their precious memories and literally destroy them onscreen in the name of art.” Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you a band that on first impressions may sound like Alice Cooper back in his prime, but no it is in fact an alternative folk/country duo from Auckland called Great North and this is their fourth album The Golden Age.

This is a band with a sense of humour, granted maybe a bit of a twisted one, and certainly dry but I like that…very much, I had a few giggles scrolling through their Facebook page.

The album itself however is reflective and meaningful, mature and poignant; an album filled with songs about the often-disappointing life of a working musician and contemplation of life and of loss, in particular that of a friend and fellow musician Sam Prebble, who passed in 2014.

The influences of the likes of Jackson Browne, Tom Petty and Bruce Springsteen give this album what has been describes as 80’s working class rock, a step away from the bands folk and country vibe. “While the duo admits the change in sound was not without trepidation, they're excited to embrace a new genre”.
 

Better Days is the nostalgic track to “that” video, the band wanted a creative way to express the way “old people relive their glory days and then die”, they came up with a more subtle way ? of talking about how we romanticise the disappearing past. This is without doubt one of the best music videos I have seen in a very long time, blowing up the beautiful cakes of our past childhood memories, ingenious, I just hope the kids in the video were not too traumatised and had loads of cake to eat before it was all blasted into oblivion. It will either make you cry, make you hungry, or inspire you to do a bit of baking. 

Moving past the on screen explosions, which had me captivated and filled me with big plans…, is the music itself, the nostalgic theme threads its way through The Golden Age, bitter sweet story telling backed by the duos newly found Americana rock sound, which in itself has a nostalgic feel to days gone by.

So they have removed their folk hat and replaced it with a sound which may appeal to a larger audience, however don’t forget Great North have twice won the Tui for Best Folk Album. They are very good at folk. This may be a slightly different direction musically but it is certainly just as good. 

A lovely album with a retro filter treatment and exploding cake, what is not to love?


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Great North

An alternative folk/country band.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Great North

Releases

The Golden Age
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Up In Smoke
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Halves
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Newfoundland
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Soldiers
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem