21 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness

20 Oct 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former. The self-confessed “math and science nerd” says that she experiences music as “a combination of emotion, science, and math – a mixture of precise structure and imperfect elements.” So there you have it, I think it sounds other worldly and mysterious and I am now enlightened about a symmetrical open plane curve and the fact that there is a genre called Folktronica, this is a wonderful thing.

Parabola West not only sounds ethereal in name but also in sound, her music is an alternative mix of “folk influenced, Nordic style, and electronic” hence the term Folktronica. Her latest creation is a stunning 7 track EP titled Purity of Weakness, the name of this EP “expresses the idea that when you feel at your weakest, the true essence of your character is often revealed”.

Originally from East Coast America and hailing from a very musical family, Amy began writing songs as a teenager. She moved to New Zealand in 2003 where after a ten year break from music, she launched her solo career as Parabola West. 

Amy and her husband decided to get out of the rat race of Auckland to live off the grid in Raglan; she feels more connected to nature and has changed her music accordingly, I could hear that in her sound I could almost feel the light and love and there is no doubt that this is very beautiful and clever music, tinkling, soft, flowing perhaps a touch haunting, the piano weaving its way through the tracks adding a richness and depth, a thread of electronica adding yet another dimension.

Track 3 Fire, is the launching point to Purity of Weakness and was received with great enthusiasm, in the artists words it is the “seduction of self-destruction”. Personally as soon as I heard the first few chords playing, I envisioned dragons swooping around a turbulent grey sky, the hauntingly beautiful Celtic sound sending tingles to my toes.

The lyrics which Parabola West has crafted, take you from the melancholy through to the cheerful and optimistic. A good example of this is Track 5 Nowhere to be Found, this is one of those songs that you could get lost in, it has the ability to make you misty eyed with its evocative lyrics and soul-stirring arrangement. I snapped out of my reflective mood as the next track Rabbit Hole pulled me out of my revere with its infectious and upbeat melody. I found the unexpected contrast refreshing.

Parabola West, the unique singer songwriter living off the grid in Raglan it seems has touched the hearts of many, to quote a wonderful line from another reviewer “the beneficiary of immense fan support”

I just want to make special mention of the beautiful photography and artistic flair on both her website and EP.

This EP is a lush mix of Celtic / Nordic, Folk, and Electronic, it is mystical and magical and everything you could expect from an artist with the name of Parabola West.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Parabola West

Piano-driven, folk influenced, Nordic style, and electronic are a few words that can describe the musical sound of alternative up-and-coming artist Parabola West.

Her stage name coming from her fixation with solar power, physics, and real-life applications of the parabolic curve, Parabola West released her latest EP Purity of Weakness on September 8, 2017.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Parabola West

Releases

Purity of Weakness
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Did You Hear?
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • DON'T CALL ME ANGEL (CHARLIE'S ANGELS)
    Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus And Lana Del Rey
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem