22 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness

20 Oct 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former. The self-confessed “math and science nerd” says that she experiences music as “a combination of emotion, science, and math – a mixture of precise structure and imperfect elements.” So there you have it, I think it sounds other worldly and mysterious and I am now enlightened about a symmetrical open plane curve and the fact that there is a genre called Folktronica, this is a wonderful thing.

Parabola West not only sounds ethereal in name but also in sound, her music is an alternative mix of “folk influenced, Nordic style, and electronic” hence the term Folktronica. Her latest creation is a stunning 7 track EP titled Purity of Weakness, the name of this EP “expresses the idea that when you feel at your weakest, the true essence of your character is often revealed”.

Originally from East Coast America and hailing from a very musical family, Amy began writing songs as a teenager. She moved to New Zealand in 2003 where after a ten year break from music, she launched her solo career as Parabola West. 

Amy and her husband decided to get out of the rat race of Auckland to live off the grid in Raglan; she feels more connected to nature and has changed her music accordingly, I could hear that in her sound I could almost feel the light and love and there is no doubt that this is very beautiful and clever music, tinkling, soft, flowing perhaps a touch haunting, the piano weaving its way through the tracks adding a richness and depth, a thread of electronica adding yet another dimension.

Track 3 Fire, is the launching point to Purity of Weakness and was received with great enthusiasm, in the artists words it is the “seduction of self-destruction”. Personally as soon as I heard the first few chords playing, I envisioned dragons swooping around a turbulent grey sky, the hauntingly beautiful Celtic sound sending tingles to my toes.

The lyrics which Parabola West has crafted, take you from the melancholy through to the cheerful and optimistic. A good example of this is Track 5 Nowhere to be Found, this is one of those songs that you could get lost in, it has the ability to make you misty eyed with its evocative lyrics and soul-stirring arrangement. I snapped out of my reflective mood as the next track Rabbit Hole pulled me out of my revere with its infectious and upbeat melody. I found the unexpected contrast refreshing.

Parabola West, the unique singer songwriter living off the grid in Raglan it seems has touched the hearts of many, to quote a wonderful line from another reviewer “the beneficiary of immense fan support”

I just want to make special mention of the beautiful photography and artistic flair on both her website and EP.

This EP is a lush mix of Celtic / Nordic, Folk, and Electronic, it is mystical and magical and everything you could expect from an artist with the name of Parabola West.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Parabola West

Piano-driven, folk influenced, Nordic style, and electronic are a few words that can describe the musical sound of alternative up-and-coming artist Parabola West.

Her stage name coming from her fixation with solar power, physics, and real-life applications of the parabolic curve, Parabola West released her latest EP Purity of Weakness on September 8, 2017.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Parabola West

Releases

Purity of Weakness
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Did You Hear?
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
Emma G - Single/Video Review: Superhero
08 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
I have loved Emma G from the moment I first reviewed her single King For A Day in 2017. She has a powerful voice which has the ability to transcend between genres effortlessly.
Read More...
Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 20/09/2018
23 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Don McGlashan has a voice which is instantly recognisable to many Kiwis, formerly from bands such as The Mutton Birds, Blam Blam Blam, The Front Lawn and The Bellbirds among others. He is a talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer who has now gone solo and is wowing crowds up and down the country with his Free Flight tour.
Read More...
Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take
20 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .
Read More...
Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland. He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem