25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance

12 Oct 2017 // A review by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.

Vengeance has a great feel to the verse but doesn't quite lift to the level I was hoping for in the chorus. It feels more like an album song than a single. That's not a huge criticism, just not catchy enough to make it to number one.

I have been listening to it over and over and I love the verse riff a lot. More of that and I reckon the The Whiskey Show will be on to a winner.

Check out their Facebook page here.


Review written by Tony McDonald
 

About The Whiskey Show

We are The Whiskey Show a 4-piece Hard-Rock band from Wellington. We play hard hitting, high energy, dirty old Rock n Roll, for the discerning modern rock listener.

With a list of influences that is wide and varied, our sound is derived from the raw edge classic rock bands spanning the last 40 years.

For us Rock n' Roll goes further than the music. Rocking out and partying with the crowd is as important to us as writing songs and bringing our sound to the world.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Whiskey Show

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Whiskey Show.

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - Single/Video Review: No Revolution
16 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Wearing little more than a red bra the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson is trapped inside a chaotic room. This crazy thought-provoking video tries and succeeds to crawl under your skin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018
16 Nov 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in!
Read More...
Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem