19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance

12 Oct 2017 // A review by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.

Vengeance has a great feel to the verse but doesn't quite lift to the level I was hoping for in the chorus. It feels more like an album song than a single. That's not a huge criticism, just not catchy enough to make it to number one.

I have been listening to it over and over and I love the verse riff a lot. More of that and I reckon the The Whiskey Show will be on to a winner.

Check out their Facebook page here.


Review written by Tony McDonald
 

About The Whiskey Show

We are The Whiskey Show a 4-piece Hard-Rock band from Wellington. We play hard hitting, high energy, dirty old Rock n Roll, for the discerning modern rock listener.

With a list of influences that is wide and varied, our sound is derived from the raw edge classic rock bands spanning the last 40 years.

For us Rock n' Roll goes further than the music. Rocking out and partying with the crowd is as important to us as writing songs and bringing our sound to the world.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Whiskey Show

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Whiskey Show.

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018
16 Nov 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in!
Read More...
Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing
28 Aug 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80’s retro PowerPop single really stand out. I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer.
Read More...
Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit
26 Jun 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome.
Read More...
Unknown - EP Review: Suck
10 May 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate
14 Feb 2017 // by Tony McDonald
I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem