12 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - Single Review: Imbecile

08 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Play Big are ANGRY. There's nothing wrong with that, in fact, we need more angry people in the world right now. Don't get me wrong let's not mix up anger with hate they are two very different beasts. Anger fuels curiosity and curiosity fuels anger. Anger fuels rebellion and hate just eats itself.

At just under 4 mins long this song takes no prisoners. It's clear from the recording quality, the video, Play Big are also aiming at bigger things. The anger here is self-directed, "my biggest enemy is me" and then making a decision to defy what the world is throwing at you and change direction. You see anger is an energy and a positive one.

There is always a danger when travelling down the rap/rock route that we end up back in 1993 and people start spinning guitars round their necks or here in NZ we get watered down Blindspott (Blacklistt). Thankfully Play Big don't seem to be driven by chart success they want to get something off their chest and they do it really well.

I think Play Big are onto something and need to continue to get harder, angrier, more positive/negative. Keep the stripped back vibe. Space creates noise and if that is where they are going then this is going to be one big noise that NZ can be proud of.

Let's hope this song gets heard. Actually, no fuck that let's hope people go out and watch this song get played live. Then the message can be hit home.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Play Big

Play Big blend heavy riffing - hip hop tinged - 90's hardcore into an energetic and crowd involved live show. Formed in 2015, their demo EP Fuck Work was followed up by their latest single and video, Imbecile in 2017. Named after an ear-splitting early Downset song, Play Big have re-energized fans of Rage Against The Machine, Limp Bizkit, Dog Eat Dog, and Cancer Bats. Comprised of vocalist Shaun Winslow, drummer Ricky Filth and guitarists Will Cleverdon, Cam Sotham and Ross Armstrong.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Play Big

Releases

Fuck Work
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem