14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - Single Review: Imbecile

08 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Play Big are ANGRY. There's nothing wrong with that, in fact, we need more angry people in the world right now. Don't get me wrong let's not mix up anger with hate they are two very different beasts. Anger fuels curiosity and curiosity fuels anger. Anger fuels rebellion and hate just eats itself.

At just under 4 mins long this song takes no prisoners. It's clear from the recording quality, the video, Play Big are also aiming at bigger things. The anger here is self-directed, "my biggest enemy is me" and then making a decision to defy what the world is throwing at you and change direction. You see anger is an energy and a positive one.

There is always a danger when travelling down the rap/rock route that we end up back in 1993 and people start spinning guitars round their necks or here in NZ we get watered down Blindspott (Blacklistt). Thankfully Play Big don't seem to be driven by chart success they want to get something off their chest and they do it really well.

I think Play Big are onto something and need to continue to get harder, angrier, more positive/negative. Keep the stripped back vibe. Space creates noise and if that is where they are going then this is going to be one big noise that NZ can be proud of.

Let's hope this song gets heard. Actually, no fuck that let's hope people go out and watch this song get played live. Then the message can be hit home.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Play Big

Play Big blend heavy riffing - hip hop tinged - 90's hardcore into an energetic and crowd involved live show. Formed in 2015, their demo EP Fuck Work was followed up by their latest single and video, Imbecile in 2017. Named after an ear-splitting early Downset song, Play Big have re-energized fans of Rage Against The Machine, Limp Bizkit, Dog Eat Dog, and Cancer Bats. Comprised of vocalist Shaun Winslow, drummer Ricky Filth and guitarists Will Cleverdon, Cam Sotham and Ross Armstrong.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Play Big

Releases

Fuck Work
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem