21 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - Single Review: Imbecile

08 Oct 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Play Big are ANGRY. There's nothing wrong with that, in fact, we need more angry people in the world right now. Don't get me wrong let's not mix up anger with hate they are two very different beasts. Anger fuels curiosity and curiosity fuels anger. Anger fuels rebellion and hate just eats itself.

At just under 4 mins long this song takes no prisoners. It's clear from the recording quality, the video, Play Big are also aiming at bigger things. The anger here is self-directed, "my biggest enemy is me" and then making a decision to defy what the world is throwing at you and change direction. You see anger is an energy and a positive one.

There is always a danger when travelling down the rap/rock route that we end up back in 1993 and people start spinning guitars round their necks or here in NZ we get watered down Blindspott (Blacklistt). Thankfully Play Big don't seem to be driven by chart success they want to get something off their chest and they do it really well.

I think Play Big are onto something and need to continue to get harder, angrier, more positive/negative. Keep the stripped back vibe. Space creates noise and if that is where they are going then this is going to be one big noise that NZ can be proud of.

Let's hope this song gets heard. Actually, no fuck that let's hope people go out and watch this song get played live. Then the message can be hit home.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Play Big

Play Big blend heavy riffing - hip hop tinged - 90's hardcore into an energetic and crowd involved live show. Formed in 2015, their demo EP Fuck Work was followed up by their latest single and video, Imbecile in 2017. Named after an ear-splitting early Downset song, Play Big have re-energized fans of Rage Against The Machine, Limp Bizkit, Dog Eat Dog, and Cancer Bats. Comprised of vocalist Shaun Winslow, drummer Ricky Filth and guitarists Will Cleverdon, Cam Sotham and Ross Armstrong.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Play Big

Releases

Fuck Work
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem