17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Static Era - Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017

16 Sep 2017 // A review by Sarah Sampson

I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.

Rebel Sound Radio were the first band to take to the stage and I have to admit I missed the first few songs due to the road works around the venue and not being able to find a park. I had been wanting to see these guys live since I reviewed their debut EP last year. After the show I was talking to vocalist Jessie James and I had totally forgotten it was their debut recording because it is still one of my favourite Rock recordings and I listen to it when I feel like an injection of energy mid afternoon and there is nothing about the recording that sounds like a first attempt. 

Live Rebel Sound Radio emulate their recording in that, if you shut your eyes they don’t sound like a 3 piece band at all.  The first song I saw of Rebel Sound Radio was their Motorhead cover of Ace of Spades and other than Jessie James not having the same gravely voice as Lemmy, it was one of the best covers I’ve seen of Motorhead (and I’ve seen a lot since Lemmy’s passing, in fact the only other one I’ve enjoyed as much was of Jon Toogood’s acoustic one which was different for obvious reasons)

During the next song I found myself remember my initial feelings when I first listened to their recording last year and that was of summer road trips, late nights with friends, bonfires and adventures. A Rebel Sound Radio set is full of high energy, in your face, loud and oh so good! You can also tell that Paul Lawrence and the crew at Ding Dong have been making improvements to the sound gear. Rebel sound Radio and Paulie made it so hard to stand still and take notes! Taking notes standing to the side I feel like I did the first time I heard them when I had my first listen to the EP, stuck in holiday traffic going south to Hamilton for a gig and I remember thinking then that I would love to be dancing right about now… so this time I put my phone away and danced for a couple of songs. FINALLY I felt like my soul was feeding on the music. The energy and music made me forget my earlier fatigue.

Next up was Auckland band Animalhead. I feel like I had been living under a rock earlier in the year when I got told they had been playing for a few years as I had only seen them live for the first time earlier this year. I think I’ve seen them 3 times now and each time it’s the same loud, in your face hard hitting heavy rock, with elements of Punk and Heavy Metal. Again another 3 piece Animalhead have been very busy making waves this year and the last time I saw them they won the Ding Dong band competition and I remember then being so blown away by their performance. This time was no different and I spent the first four songs of their set dancing J which doesn’t make this very easy to write.  But the atmosphere in that room was so contagious everyone was there to have fun, and everyone was dancing or jumping or head banging. This was Animalhead’s time to shine and shine they did.

Static Era couldn’t have found two bands more suited for their support bands, they got the crowd jumping and primed ready for the main act perfectly. I have a big grin on my face as I remember Static Era's set, you could see and feel the love in that room and on that stage. Emma and Chris especially looked so happy to be sharing the stage together again!  I have thoroughly missed seeing Emma live in New Zealand and while she has been KILLING it in America it was awesome to see her home again. There was a song I’m not sure what it’s called but it’s about being ‘fucked around’ as Emma put it and I felt like she was channeling the anger she put into one of her solo songs Sold (Take A Shot).

Sold (Take A Shot) is about her treatment by a record label exec in America and her being objectified as a sex object rather than a supremely talented musician. Emma was almost ROARING in that song, her facials, body language, whole persona changed to an angry monster almost. Emma’s transformation in this song reminded me of so many of my metal brothers who off stage are friendly, humble and kind but onstage start to channel some crazy kinds of demons. Emma was ON FIRE! Their whole set she didn’t seem tired or fatigued at all, even though she had already played two shows the two previous nights and was off to play another show the next night.

The next song I have to mention is Dear Me which was a blast from the past for me. It’s a song for everyone who has struggled in life and is about holding on and not being alone. While they were playing this song I felt like it was tugging on my head strings and I had tears in my eyes, especially with the latest spate of suicides in our global rock/metal community in the last few months. Please don’t give up! There’s always a way through –  Dear Me is on YouTube, and I highly recommend looking for it and blasting it if you aren’t in a good place. This is such a beautiful soul baring song and I feel like everyone in the band had their own creative input into this song as this is one they performed tighter than all of the others.

I could go on for pages and pages how amazing it was to see Static Era live on stage again. I miss them so much but I’m proud to see Emma and Chris playing in other musical projects (Chris is in Metaract who are playing at Ding Dong on the 22nd) and Emma’s tour still has A LOT of shows left to go! I hope to get along to one of her solo shows as I’ve heard nothing but good things about them.


Review written by Sarah Sampson

 

About Static Era

Static Era is an Auckland-based rock band (think Evanescence meets Stone Sour) that formed in late 2010 and features a stellar lineup of musicians.

Double-platinum selling guitarist Chris Yong (Tadpole, Redline, Alt TV) has performed internationally and toured with Disturbed, P.O.D, Alter Bridge and Evanescence.

Vocalist Emma G is a New Zealander of the Year Local Hero award recipient, honoured in 2012 for inspiring others through her music. Despite living with a health condition that has challenged her through twenty three surgeries, including ten brain surgeries, she established a successful singing career at a young age and placed top ten in the Inaugural Play It Strange songwriting competition in 2004. Emma G also teaches tertiary level music and was a vocal coach for eight years.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Static Era

Releases

Fit To Fight
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Dare To Fail
Year: 2013
Type: EP
The Start
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Sarah Sampson

Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Sesega - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you haven’t seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and I’m pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tribal State @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 28/07/2017
29 Jul 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
It was a cold, wet night, my nose was running and I couldn’t stop sneezing and coughing. I wasn’t feeling up to going out on such a miserable night but I’m more than happy that I did.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sarah Sampson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem