23 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki

08 Sep 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds. But Killing Bear's latest single Lost In Otaki is not quite as futuristic as previous releases, it is more like a journey down memory lane of uncomplicated times and simple pleasures. It has a nostalgic vibe, but on closer inspection could possibly be a hung over cruise to the beach.

There are no centipedes involved or reptilian overloads, but instead “Fields of green, floating river dreams…” It is slightly mind warping as the chorus gets stuck in your brain and worms it way through until “here we are, still alive simply lost in Otaki” is going around and around in your head, these are masters of catchy, strange lyrics and surrealistic sounds. You have been warned.

Killing Bear have provided us with the dynamic funky bass we have become accustomed to, yet Lost In Otaki is less trippy maybe more cohesive then past endeavours, This could be part of the grand plan to prevent the next catastrophic event happening by “partying on dude” but if it is then I reckon they are lulling us into a false sense of security with this chilled out vibe.

I do however know a lot more about Otaki then I did before. I had to research it, I just had to.

So, Levon, Cormac, Lachlan and Liam have given us another cool track, I always look forward to see what they come up with next. Assuming they are still a mystical tribe from Mars armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars, Killing Bear seem to be doing alright.

“Here we are, still alive, Simply lost in Otaki”.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Killing Bear

In the far distant future a mystical tribe on Mars use their psychic powers to travel back in time. They possessed the minds of a band of musicians with the aim to utilise their partytastic powers to correct the undoings of the past.

Armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars the band was then able to transcend the barriers of space-time. With the power of music they travelled back a millennia and stopped a devastating event in our history. This event now never occurred because we are living in a parallel future to the one in which it happened. Now in 2016 the next catastrophic event is just around the corner and we need you to party hard to help stop it from ever happening.

Killing Bear! Psychedelic futuristic music from the past from another planet.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Killing Bear

Releases

Mysterium Tremendum
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Killing Bear
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Vine Of Souls
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Rebirth
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Wild Beasts
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem