18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dreams Are Like Water - EP Review: A Sea-Spell

04 Sep 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Growing up in the UK in the eighties I was massively influenced by bands like The Mission, Fields of the Nephilim, Sisters of Mercy and The Cure. I loved the atmospherics, the darkness and also the energy of bands like The Mission.

I have heard music by Michel Rowland's other band Disjecta Membra and was gutted to miss them when they opened for The Mission recently in Auckland. So when I heard about the debut release from Dreams Are Like Water, also featuring Jamie Scott Palmer and Rosebud Garland, I jumped at the chance for an early listen.

The four tracks on this EP are the first songs recorded by the group and apparently, original plans were to just share them amongst friends but interest from labels around the world has seen the band already sign with Vesper Records in the US.

A Sea-Spell starts with the sound of ocean waves and Michel's unmistakable vocal but we are quickly introduced to Rosebud. She has an amazing voice which fits perfectly with the atmospherics of the song and reminds me of Julianne Regan from All About Eve.

(Thrice) in Blood is a more upbeat piece with the drum machine kicking off proceedings and it's probably my favourite track I am sure this one will be a favourite in any upcoming live performances.

Ineffable is a brooding and trippy affair with soaring guitars and dual vocals. Kind of like a nursery rhyme you would sing to your kids if you wanted them to have nightmares. What really stands out at this point is how talented this band are. It's no surprise they have generated interest around the world with this debut.

Feathered Infant Bells is almost an instrumental track with the vocals only coming in half way through but it also twists and turns and morphs into one of the most interesting songs on here. It is the perfect closer to a debut EP which shows huge promise and potential. Listening to this took me back to my teens but also introduced me to a new band from Wellington I am keen to follow.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Dreams Are Like Water

Named for a This Mortal Coil song, Dreams Are Like Water is a new music trio from Wellington.

Their debut EP, A Sea-Spell, is forthcoming from Vesper Records, California, USA.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dreams Are Like Water

Releases

A Sea-Spell
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem