23 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dreams Are Like Water - EP Review: A Sea-Spell

04 Sep 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Growing up in the UK in the eighties I was massively influenced by bands like The Mission, Fields of the Nephilim, Sisters of Mercy and The Cure. I loved the atmospherics, the darkness and also the energy of bands like The Mission.

I have heard music by Michel Rowland's other band Disjecta Membra and was gutted to miss them when they opened for The Mission recently in Auckland. So when I heard about the debut release from Dreams Are Like Water, also featuring Jamie Scott Palmer and Rosebud Garland, I jumped at the chance for an early listen.

The four tracks on this EP are the first songs recorded by the group and apparently, original plans were to just share them amongst friends but interest from labels around the world has seen the band already sign with Vesper Records in the US.

A Sea-Spell starts with the sound of ocean waves and Michel's unmistakable vocal but we are quickly introduced to Rosebud. She has an amazing voice which fits perfectly with the atmospherics of the song and reminds me of Julianne Regan from All About Eve.

(Thrice) in Blood is a more upbeat piece with the drum machine kicking off proceedings and it's probably my favourite track I am sure this one will be a favourite in any upcoming live performances.

Ineffable is a brooding and trippy affair with soaring guitars and dual vocals. Kind of like a nursery rhyme you would sing to your kids if you wanted them to have nightmares. What really stands out at this point is how talented this band are. It's no surprise they have generated interest around the world with this debut.

Feathered Infant Bells is almost an instrumental track with the vocals only coming in half way through but it also twists and turns and morphs into one of the most interesting songs on here. It is the perfect closer to a debut EP which shows huge promise and potential. Listening to this took me back to my teens but also introduced me to a new band from Wellington I am keen to follow.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Dreams Are Like Water

Named for a This Mortal Coil song, Dreams Are Like Water is a new music trio from Wellington.

Their debut EP, A Sea-Spell, is forthcoming from Vesper Records, California, USA.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dreams Are Like Water

Releases

A Sea-Spell
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
This debut EP from Wellington’s Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem