17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cairo Knife Fight - Single Review: A-Eight

29 Aug 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
Wow, seriously just wow! Cairo Knife Fight have done it again and released a piece of art that hits the soul, mind and makes your heart beat a little faster.

There are artists, geniuses, and musicians and in very rare cases there is someone who is all three of those things. If you haven't heard of Nick Gaffaney then you need to check out this latest release from Cairo Knife Fight. The single A-Eight is from the upcoming album Seven (what's with the numbers Nick?) In fact all tracks on the new album are of the numeric variety. I am cool with that.

Nick seems to spend most of his time in the USA at the moment and is the heart and soul of Cairo Knife Fight joined this time by George Pajon who is best known for his work with Black Eyed Peas and Fergie. Reading that might throw you a little but the Guitar work on A-Eight is a mix of brutal, sublime sonics that pulls you in and spits you out.

When it comes to two piece bands you will not find any that will blow your mind and your speakers like Cairo Knife Fight. They are also one of the most exciting live acts you will ever see and effortlessly cool if you need that in your life.

OK, back to A-Eight.

It stamps its authority right from the opening note and Nick has never sounded better. He comes on like Josh Homme on speed who bumped into Richard Patrick from Filter after an argument with Trent Reznor. This is rock music how it is supposed to sound, 3 minutes that will stick in your head and change your mood. Lose yourself to it.

I would say go out and buy A-Eight but that would just be wrong. If you have read this far then you need to pre-order the Album Seven AND buy everything else Cairo Knife Fight has ever released.

If you haven't heard them before you will be shocked how good this is and it keeps getting better.

Am I gushing? No Apologies. Wow, seriously just WOW!

Reviewed by Paul Goddard
 

Releases

Seven
Year: 2017
Type: Album
The Isolator
Year: 2015
Type: EP
The Colossus
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Cairo Knife Fight II
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Cairo Knife Fight
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Iron
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem