2 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing

28 Aug 2017 // A review by Tony McDonald

Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80’s retro PowerPop single really stand out.

I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer. Shades on, roof down, awesome!

Openside are a 4 piece band from Auckland and the lead vocalist Possum has a fantastically distinctive voice. Great news in this genre, which is becoming a little crowded with mediocre international singers.

I Feel Nothing has plenty of punch and power, reminding me of Chromeo which I absolutely love. I can't wait to hear more.

Openside have a great video too filmed in California, check it out here.

 

About Openside

Auckland based emo-pop quartet Openside have already featured in 2018 in Alternative Press, Line of Best Fit and Billboard’s Pride Playlist. With two NZ Top 40 singles under their belt, No Going Back and I Feel Nothing, their incisive examinations of identity and relationships are resonating with an ever-growing audience.

After spending the winter touring New Zealand to play to all ages crowds and having supported everyone from Twenty One Pilots and Fall Out Boy to Ellie Goulding and Panic! At The Disco, the group unleashed a three-track EP in 2018, Episode One: Character Flaws accompanied by its very own comic book and launched at Auckand’s Armageddon comic culture expo in October.

Capturing all the energy of their live performances, assured songwriting and production, the first single, Character Flaws is a self-described ‘anthem for the insecure’ that punches straight from the heart, reinforcing the connection the band are making with young audiences through their empowering messages, led by the group’s gender non binary vocalist Possum Plows.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Openside

Releases

Episode One: Character Flaws
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Push Back
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem