23 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing

28 Aug 2017 // A review by Tony McDonald

Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80’s retro PowerPop single really stand out.

I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer. Shades on, roof down, awesome!

Openside are a 4 piece band from Auckland and the lead vocalist Possum has a fantastically distinctive voice. Great news in this genre, which is becoming a little crowded with mediocre international singers.

I Feel Nothing has plenty of punch and power, reminding me of Chromeo which I absolutely love. I can't wait to hear more.

Openside have a great video too filmed in California, check it out here.

 

About Openside

Openside’s debut Worth It crashed onto the airwaves in May with a barrage of high energy hooks and subversive lyrical smarts. The track from Auckland pop punkers Openside was quickly making these youngsters talked about as the freshest local band debut of the year.

Produced and written at Golden Age with Josh Fountain (Thomston, Kidz In Space etc.) and Jaden Parkes (Goodnight Nurse, Kids of 88) and mixed by Rich Bryan (Stan Walker, Babysitters Circus) at Big Pop, this one had smash written all over its devilishly smiling face.

Openside have since been picking up more attention for their smart cover releases of Lean On (Major Lazer) and Style (Taylor Swift) as well as a rapturously received set with 21 Pilots in Auckland.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Openside

Releases

Push Back
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit
26 Jun 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome.
Read More...
Scared Of Girls - EP Review: Suck
10 May 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate
14 Feb 2017 // by Tony McDonald
I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.
Read More...
Pitch Black - Album Review: Filtered Senses
12 Sep 2016 // by Tony McDonald
Pitch Black, the duo from Christchurch are back after nine long years with a brand new dub album, Filtered Senses. It’s dark and mysterious with a laid back lounge club feel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem