17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing

28 Aug 2017 // A review by Tony McDonald

Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80’s retro PowerPop single really stand out.

I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer. Shades on, roof down, awesome!

Openside are a 4 piece band from Auckland and the lead vocalist Possum has a fantastically distinctive voice. Great news in this genre, which is becoming a little crowded with mediocre international singers.

I Feel Nothing has plenty of punch and power, reminding me of Chromeo which I absolutely love. I can't wait to hear more.

Openside have a great video too filmed in California, check it out here.

 

About Openside

Openside’s debut Worth It crashed onto the airwaves in May with a barrage of high energy hooks and subversive lyrical smarts. The track from Auckland pop punkers Openside was quickly making these youngsters talked about as the freshest local band debut of the year.

Produced and written at Golden Age with Josh Fountain (Thomston, Kidz In Space etc.) and Jaden Parkes (Goodnight Nurse, Kids of 88) and mixed by Rich Bryan (Stan Walker, Babysitters Circus) at Big Pop, this one had smash written all over its devilishly smiling face.

Openside have since been picking up more attention for their smart cover releases of Lean On (Major Lazer) and Style (Taylor Swift) as well as a rapturously received set with 21 Pilots in Auckland.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Openside

Releases

Push Back
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - Single/Video Review: No Revolution
16 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Wearing little more than a red bra the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson is trapped inside a chaotic room. This crazy thought-provoking video tries and succeeds to crawl under your skin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018
16 Nov 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in!
Read More...
Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem