18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mermaidens - Album Review: Perfect Body

10 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

It was never going to be possible for a band called Mermaidens to slip under my radar. I spotted these three with their fanciful, quirky but supper cool band name one day as I was scrolling through Facebook as you do. First thing which grabbed me was the name, second was the psychedelic blue and orange album cover which drew me in like a magpie and third they have been described as “dream-psych”. If you wave a combination like that in front of me, I will hitting Google faster than you can say Satsuma.

So fate eventually stepped in two days after this supremely rad band from Wellington had entered my orbit, and asked that Mermaidens new sophomore album Perfect Body be reviewed. So choosing not to ignore fate I did.

A Satsuma can be a distinct type of juicy sweet mandarin, colour the vinyl of this album has been released in, or the name of track number six, in this case it is all three and because I am in love with the coloured vinyl trend right now, I am positively drooling over glowing bright orange in Satsuma colour.

The trio of Mermaidens are made up of Gussie on Guitar and vocals, Lily bass and vocals and Abe on drums, together they create haunting raw and original music. Moody, dark, soulful, trippy, Punk Rock with hints of Heather Nova. They seem to be gaining quite a following

There is a quote from the band I found which is the perfect description of how the enticing lyrics came to be. “While writing the album Lily and I had both been thinking and talking about pleasure and pressure. By that I mean then contrast of being in a blissful state, but with an underlying anxiety or uncertainty being present too.” You can hear the blissful state transitioning into intense diverse vocals and hypnotic harsh and vigorous instrumentals. It is in fact a formidable formula the Mermaidens have come across; it is executed with originality, style and a good dose of allure.

Perfect Body is a multileveled rich tapestry of sounds which has also been described as dreamy. I think it is a collection of personal lyrics delivered by a beautifully creative and abstract method.

So if you love vibrant original music and pure genius band names, then don’t casually stroll past Perfect Body, pick it up with both hands and run with it. It is totally worth it.

 

Releases

Perfect Body
Year: 2017
Type: Album
O
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Bones
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Demo
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem