23 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mermaidens - Album Review: Perfect Body

10 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

It was never going to be possible for a band called Mermaidens to slip under my radar. I spotted these three with their fanciful, quirky but supper cool band name one day as I was scrolling through Facebook as you do. First thing which grabbed me was the name, second was the psychedelic blue and orange album cover which drew me in like a magpie and third they have been described as “dream-psych”. If you wave a combination like that in front of me, I will hitting Google faster than you can say Satsuma.

So fate eventually stepped in two days after this supremely rad band from Wellington had entered my orbit, and asked that Mermaidens new sophomore album Perfect Body be reviewed. So choosing not to ignore fate I did.

A Satsuma can be a distinct type of juicy sweet mandarin, colour the vinyl of this album has been released in, or the name of track number six, in this case it is all three and because I am in love with the coloured vinyl trend right now, I am positively drooling over glowing bright orange in Satsuma colour.

The trio of Mermaidens are made up of Gussie on Guitar and vocals, Lily bass and vocals and Abe on drums, together they create haunting raw and original music. Moody, dark, soulful, trippy, Punk Rock with hints of Heather Nova. They seem to be gaining quite a following

There is a quote from the band I found which is the perfect description of how the enticing lyrics came to be. “While writing the album Lily and I had both been thinking and talking about pleasure and pressure. By that I mean then contrast of being in a blissful state, but with an underlying anxiety or uncertainty being present too.” You can hear the blissful state transitioning into intense diverse vocals and hypnotic harsh and vigorous instrumentals. It is in fact a formidable formula the Mermaidens have come across; it is executed with originality, style and a good dose of allure.

Perfect Body is a multileveled rich tapestry of sounds which has also been described as dreamy. I think it is a collection of personal lyrics delivered by a beautifully creative and abstract method.

So if you love vibrant original music and pure genius band names, then don’t casually stroll past Perfect Body, pick it up with both hands and run with it. It is totally worth it.

 

Releases

Perfect Body
Year: 2017
Type: Album
O
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Bones
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Demo
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
Emma G - Single/Video Review: Superhero
08 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
I have loved Emma G from the moment I first reviewed her single King For A Day in 2017. She has a powerful voice which has the ability to transcend between genres effortlessly.
Read More...
Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 20/09/2018
23 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Don McGlashan has a voice which is instantly recognisable to many Kiwis, formerly from bands such as The Mutton Birds, Blam Blam Blam, The Front Lawn and The Bellbirds among others. He is a talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer who has now gone solo and is wowing crowds up and down the country with his Free Flight tour.
Read More...
Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take
20 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .
Read More...
Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland. He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem