22 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Grayson Gilmour - Album Review: Otherness

06 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I knew this album would be something memorable from the moment I saw that it was to be released on a very limited special edition LP on milky-clear vinyl, to me a vinyl collector from way back those words sounded alluring and intriguing. This was just the beginning of what was to become a musical experience which was captivating from start to finish.


Otherness is a complete package, starting with the beautiful art work on the album cover from acclaimed NZ artist Henrietta Harris, to the heart stirring, intimate lyrics and eclectic mix of string and electronic instrumentals. “Achingly beautiful” has been used to describe this album and I for one will not be disputing that.


The genre of Otherness may be hard to pin point, I get the feeling of sophisticated coffeehouse blended with romantic pop. This album has class and elegance; it is soothing and calm with a smidge of transcendental tonality sprinkled in.


Gilmour combines clever instrumentation with his vocals to create an almost eerily beautiful and unique sound. Rich, lush and glorious are three beautiful descriptive words which I came across in my investigation into this album. The perfect accompaniment to a chilled Saturday evening or backdrop of a leisurely Sunday afternoon.


My personal favourite out of the ten tracks on this album is number two, Blow Back, the lyrics are stunning, much like the rest of Otherness but somehow more. I could quote a few lines for you, but part of the experience would be finding out for yourself.


If you stop for a moment, breathe and listen. Really listen, you will appreciate the beauty that is Otherness.


Track six is the compelling title of this beautiful albumit wraps us in these words. “One way or another, we all find our other”. The title seems to be all encompassing and hints of a journey through life which perhaps brought Gilmour to this point.  His song writing is utterly absorbing.


What ever way you take it, this is a breathtaking album. Just be still for a moment and listen.

 

Releases

Otherness
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Infinite Life!
Year: 2014
Type: Album
No Constellation
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Chapters EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP
You Sleep, We Creep
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Phantom Limbs
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Behind Locked Doors
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Abstract Arrival
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Following on from this will be a nationwide tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem