17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grayson Gilmour - Album Review: Otherness

06 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I knew this album would be something memorable from the moment I saw that it was to be released on a very limited special edition LP on milky-clear vinyl, to me a vinyl collector from way back those words sounded alluring and intriguing. This was just the beginning of what was to become a musical experience which was captivating from start to finish.


Otherness is a complete package, starting with the beautiful art work on the album cover from acclaimed NZ artist Henrietta Harris, to the heart stirring, intimate lyrics and eclectic mix of string and electronic instrumentals. “Achingly beautiful” has been used to describe this album and I for one will not be disputing that.


The genre of Otherness may be hard to pin point, I get the feeling of sophisticated coffeehouse blended with romantic pop. This album has class and elegance; it is soothing and calm with a smidge of transcendental tonality sprinkled in.


Gilmour combines clever instrumentation with his vocals to create an almost eerily beautiful and unique sound. Rich, lush and glorious are three beautiful descriptive words which I came across in my investigation into this album. The perfect accompaniment to a chilled Saturday evening or backdrop of a leisurely Sunday afternoon.


My personal favourite out of the ten tracks on this album is number two, Blow Back, the lyrics are stunning, much like the rest of Otherness but somehow more. I could quote a few lines for you, but part of the experience would be finding out for yourself.


If you stop for a moment, breathe and listen. Really listen, you will appreciate the beauty that is Otherness.


Track six is the compelling title of this beautiful albumit wraps us in these words. “One way or another, we all find our other”. The title seems to be all encompassing and hints of a journey through life which perhaps brought Gilmour to this point.  His song writing is utterly absorbing.


What ever way you take it, this is a breathtaking album. Just be still for a moment and listen.

 

Releases

Otherness
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Infinite Life!
Year: 2014
Type: Album
No Constellation
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Chapters EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP
You Sleep, We Creep
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Phantom Limbs
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Behind Locked Doors
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Abstract Arrival
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem