20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ciaran McMeeken - Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken

04 Aug 2017 // A review by Ria Loveder

What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes. This collection encompasses an array of emotions, from new love, lost love, anger, frustration, sorrow and happiness.

McMeeken’s album is a result of over 30 months of collaborative writing in Europe and here in New Zealand. Recorded at Auckland’s Roundhead Studios, this album has a full live band with horns, strings and an appearance from a baby grand piano.

Ciaran has a knack for writing songs with a catchy pop hook. Songs such as That Feeling, Which Way Shall I Go and Who I Am, are songs that had me singing along on their first play from my speakers. I had also heard That Feeling and Which Way Shall I Go on the radio. I work in radio, so I have it going on pretty much 24/7 around me, and when I first heard Which Way Shall I Go, I quickly got my phone out to Shazam. This song I believe perfectly encapsulates summer, with its memorable chorus and upbeat electric guitar and drumming, one cannot feel happy while listening.

Another personal favourite is Al Capone. Slick guitar rifts, strong horn section, with Ciaran's smooth vocals, this song needs to be played loud!

If you are looking for an album that has songs that encompass all the emotions life has to offer, delivered in memorable pop tunes, this is the album for you. This is a fantastic full length album and Ciaran should be proud of the gems he has created for his fans to listen to. I look forward to hearing what other songs he can get on the airwaves so that the wider New Zealand audience can hear!

 

About Ciaran McMeeken

Ciaran McMeeken is an Auckland, NZ based musician and song writer.

Ciaran was raised in Arrowtown, New Zealand, and has been playing music since he was 11 years old. After moving to Dunedin for secondary school, Ciaran started playing drums and then switched to guitar and singing a few years later. His introduction to music and his rapid development as a songwriter came at a surprise to those around him given that he does not come from a musical family.

Ciaran recently moved to Auckland to focus on his music, spending the last two years writing, recording and performing. His debut EP The Valley caught the attention of acclaimed producer Greg Haver, who worked with Ciaran to produce the highly anticipated Screaming Man.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ciaran McMeeken

Releases

Ciaran McMeeken
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Screaming Man
Year: 2015
Type: EP
The Valley
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem