19 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Will Saunders - Album Review: Hopeful Objects

27 Jul 2017 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Straight to VHS: a pejorative term to the normals, but a sign of a cult classic for circles too cool for you to be in. I see the negatives of the term. It can be over-simplified to “bad” but that is only “bad” because it is different when compared to what the normals think is normal. When you’re a square in a box, you don’t think outside of it to appreciate that not everything has to be glossy, spray-tanned, and polished to be “good”.  

Straight to 8-Track: No such thing. But there should have been. 

Imagine coming across an 8-track from an unknown band who are good enough to listen to, but not popular enough to afford the marketing, on a park bench or a thrift store and then going home and trying to find an 8-track player to play it... It seems more rewarding than sitting there pressing next on a Spotify playlist in the toilet cubicle of your office. That’s not how I found Will Saunders’ new album; I don’t use Spotify. Or 8-Tracks. I found it on Bandcamp...

But this album, Hopeful Objects, feels like an artefact from that old era of Straight to VHS, where you had to actually exert effort to do anything in life. You know, the Old School era.

The place and time that people who don’t believe 1992 was like 25 years ago pine for. A time where you actually had to play instruments to get a crowd going, or at least fake it. Not a time where you stand on stage, press play on your laptop, then dance around the stage clapping your hands, while your mate pretends to be twisting knobs in the shadow. (Let’s ignore the existence of Milli Vanilli for this cynical analogy).

If it wasn’t for the relevant lyrical content that Millenials can relate to on the track Let There Be Light, I could shut my eyes and believe these songs were coming from my Walkman, not my iPod. Pretend that I was back in those idealised times rebelling against nothing. Well, nothing compared to what we should be rebelling against, not ignoring or laughing at, in this modern time.

Because it takes effort to appreciate this album. A couple of listens to hear what it is, and what it isn’t trying to be. To find the hook in every song, and to experience the earworms the tracks create during your daily life. To give it the attention it deserves.

The style Will Saunders has captured on this album is what I’d call Psychedelic Retro-Futurist Punk. That isn’t what it is, but that’s as far down as I’m willing to refine my description. It sounds like if the British Rock Invasion period happened after Punk changed the face of Rock n’ Roll. Except the track Oil On Water. That isn’t like that.

The album is a sonic representation of how I imagine Wellington in the sunshine would have felt in the early 90s. Bright shorts and Whites T-Shirts, yuppies, sunglasses, skateboards and backwards hats. Except the track Oil On Water.

No, Oil on Water is like an Acid Trip in a Wigwam. Progressing upwards, towards nothing in some strange perpetual motion. It’s a downer like the track Bodyline in the chalk, well… no. Bodyline… is only a downer compared to the tone of the rest of the album. And it’s more of a Blues Rock / Acoustic Drum and Bass fusion which fits well between Turn It Down and Let There Be Light.

Oil On Water isn’t like that. It’s one didgeridoo away from a sojourn through the Dreamtime. Too weird to be fit musically with the rest of the album, too good to neglect. Pink Floyd. That’s what Oil On Water is like… It might be my favourite track, but then that's probably Let There be Light.

And there’s something about Will's voice… Except not on Oil On Water, where it is a hidden murmur. I don’t remember it being so unique or distinctive on the Pig in the Sweater album from the Lowest Fidelity, another outlet for Will Saunders. It’s kinda Bob Bowie, or David Dylan. It’s not Billy Corgan. But they’re all voices critics were quick to criticise in terms of their singing aptitude in a traditional sense, without considering how the voice fit into the record. I’m saying I can’t imagine a Will Saunders duet with Justin Bieber, but no other voice would fit this tangled, tangential, occasionally dissonant album either.

Actually, yeah. I hear a lot of Bowie-like vibrations on this album. Experimental, less-polished Bowie. Early Bowie. Not Laughing Gnome early. But you know, early. A busy, tangled album that hides some clever and relevant lyricism beneath the layers of over-dubbing. It’s good. It might take a few tries to get into, but once you’re in, it’s good.

There might even be a hint of a narrative; see how like everything is “sustainable” in Knowing You but like… everything is “unsustainable” in Mass Extinction Event. Then that song is probably more about not fitting into cliques, but then that not mattering anyway cause everything is screwed anyway…

But then again, I was a kid that constructed a narrative from the Mortal Kombat Motion Picture Soundtrack, without having seen the movie, or played the game, and having the cover art to go off, because it was dubbed onto a cassette by a mate. Maybe I should dub this album onto a cassette for a mate. Or leave it on a park bench so someone else can find it and give it the attention it deserves.

 

About Will Saunders

Will Saunders is a solo musician writing, recording, producing and performing his music live.

He has released two full length solo albums and six EP's.

He was the lead singer and guitarist for Auckland bands The Quick and the Dead and Bearhat.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will Saunders

Releases

Hopeful Objects
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Covers Four
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Nothing Wrong
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • MY BAD
    Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem