21 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017

Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017

23 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
It was a mid winters evening in Tauranga and the scene was set down at Incubator for what promised to be a wonderful evening of music. The rain had cleared and the place had a European cafe vibe about it, with a courtyard outside which had atmosphere for miles and highlighted this intimate venues creative heart.

This was to be the first port of call on the Tony Daunt And The Dauntless album release tour of The Gypsy, supported by Kendall Elise and Edward Gains.

What unfolded over the night was magic, people kept arriving, we ran out of seating, but no one seemed to care, there were couches and beanbags and blankets everywhere and lots of happy body's there to listen to music which filled their souls.

The first act up was our local lad from Tauranga, Edward Gains I had only seen him perform once before and that had been of the Punk Rock nature, so I was surprised when he started performing covers of the very mellow and tranquil variety, it was lovely and set the mood for the evening very well. He did however throw in some chords which were not so toned down, and kept the crowd on its toes.

Second support act for the evening was the lovely Kendall Elise from Auckland. "Cutesy with a hint of darkness. Slow burning or foot stomping, and everything in between" is an accurate description, this lady seemed to mesmerise the crowd with her music, it has been described as a blend of rhythm and blues, folk and country. It is indeed personal and dark humored, very beautiful and touching. ​Her debut single Heart Full Of Dirt was a finalist for the award for the APRA Best Country Music Song 2017, and after hearing her perform, you can certainly see why. This lady has stage presence, a great image and is a very talented musician, the total package. Captivating describes Kendall's performance nicely.

The main act of course was Tony Daunt and the Dauntless, are you ready to hold onto your hats because this band as they say is next level awesome! I was approached by Tony to review his band and I am honoured to be doing so, I could compare him to Nick Cave, but I wont he is Tony Daunt, a very talented musician who's sound can be described as dark and moody. I shall also call it raw, honest, emotional and powerful.

The Dauntless, which complement Tony (guitar and vocals) is made up of, Balas Sebesteny (Double Bass), Kevin Place (Pedal Steel), Chris Kemp (Drums), Sarah Jay (Vocals) and Louis Jarlov (Guitar). This is an eclectic mix of talented musicians who have joined forces to create an Americana/Rock/Country sound, which impressed the crowd immensely, actually more than that, it blew the crowd away. It also blew me away. "This is country music, but with a dark and stark edge that delivers a poignancy that is quite unique".

The call for an encore was loud and the band was prepared. They saved the best for last. I am sorry I missed the name of the actual song as I was so impressed by the vocals of Sarah and the cohesive brilliance of the band.

I have had the pleasure of reviewing many fine New Zealand artists but I do want to say that Tony Daunt And The Dauntless are some of the finest musicians I have had the privilege of writing about and also incredibly lucky to photograph as well.

From Wildfire to Misery and through stunning track after track to The Long Kiss Goodnight, The Gypsy is a must have album if you are a fan Americana Rock, or even if you are not this may possibly convert you.
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem