21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017

23 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
It was a mid winters evening in Tauranga and the scene was set down at Incubator for what promised to be a wonderful evening of music. The rain had cleared and the place had a European cafe vibe about it, with a courtyard outside which had atmosphere for miles and highlighted this intimate venues creative heart.

This was to be the first port of call on the Tony Daunt And The Dauntless album release tour of The Gypsy, supported by Kendall Elise and Edward Gains.

What unfolded over the night was magic, people kept arriving, we ran out of seating, but no one seemed to care, there were couches and beanbags and blankets everywhere and lots of happy body's there to listen to music which filled their souls.

The first act up was our local lad from Tauranga, Edward Gains I had only seen him perform once before and that had been of the Punk Rock nature, so I was surprised when he started performing covers of the very mellow and tranquil variety, it was lovely and set the mood for the evening very well. He did however throw in some chords which were not so toned down, and kept the crowd on its toes.

Second support act for the evening was the lovely Kendall Elise from Auckland. "Cutesy with a hint of darkness. Slow burning or foot stomping, and everything in between" is an accurate description, this lady seemed to mesmerise the crowd with her music, it has been described as a blend of rhythm and blues, folk and country. It is indeed personal and dark humored, very beautiful and touching. ​Her debut single Heart Full Of Dirt was a finalist for the award for the APRA Best Country Music Song 2017, and after hearing her perform, you can certainly see why. This lady has stage presence, a great image and is a very talented musician, the total package. Captivating describes Kendall's performance nicely.

The main act of course was Tony Daunt and the Dauntless, are you ready to hold onto your hats because this band as they say is next level awesome! I was approached by Tony to review his band and I am honoured to be doing so, I could compare him to Nick Cave, but I wont he is Tony Daunt, a very talented musician who's sound can be described as dark and moody. I shall also call it raw, honest, emotional and powerful.

The Dauntless, which complement Tony (guitar and vocals) is made up of, Balas Sebesteny (Double Bass), Kevin Place (Pedal Steel), Chris Kemp (Drums), Sarah Jay (Vocals) and Louis Jarlov (Guitar). This is an eclectic mix of talented musicians who have joined forces to create an Americana/Rock/Country sound, which impressed the crowd immensely, actually more than that, it blew the crowd away. It also blew me away. "This is country music, but with a dark and stark edge that delivers a poignancy that is quite unique".

The call for an encore was loud and the band was prepared. They saved the best for last. I am sorry I missed the name of the actual song as I was so impressed by the vocals of Sarah and the cohesive brilliance of the band.

I have had the pleasure of reviewing many fine New Zealand artists but I do want to say that Tony Daunt And The Dauntless are some of the finest musicians I have had the privilege of writing about and also incredibly lucky to photograph as well.

From Wildfire to Misery and through stunning track after track to The Long Kiss Goodnight, The Gypsy is a must have album if you are a fan Americana Rock, or even if you are not this may possibly convert you.
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Following on from this will be a nationwide tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • MY BAD
    Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem