20 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017

Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017

23 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
It was a mid winters evening in Tauranga and the scene was set down at Incubator for what promised to be a wonderful evening of music. The rain had cleared and the place had a European cafe vibe about it, with a courtyard outside which had atmosphere for miles and highlighted this intimate venues creative heart.

This was to be the first port of call on the Tony Daunt And The Dauntless album release tour of The Gypsy, supported by Kendall Elise and Edward Gains.

What unfolded over the night was magic, people kept arriving, we ran out of seating, but no one seemed to care, there were couches and beanbags and blankets everywhere and lots of happy body's there to listen to music which filled their souls.

The first act up was our local lad from Tauranga, Edward Gains I had only seen him perform once before and that had been of the Punk Rock nature, so I was surprised when he started performing covers of the very mellow and tranquil variety, it was lovely and set the mood for the evening very well. He did however throw in some chords which were not so toned down, and kept the crowd on its toes.

Second support act for the evening was the lovely Kendall Elise from Auckland. "Cutesy with a hint of darkness. Slow burning or foot stomping, and everything in between" is an accurate description, this lady seemed to mesmerise the crowd with her music, it has been described as a blend of rhythm and blues, folk and country. It is indeed personal and dark humored, very beautiful and touching. ​Her debut single Heart Full Of Dirt was a finalist for the award for the APRA Best Country Music Song 2017, and after hearing her perform, you can certainly see why. This lady has stage presence, a great image and is a very talented musician, the total package. Captivating describes Kendall's performance nicely.

The main act of course was Tony Daunt and the Dauntless, are you ready to hold onto your hats because this band as they say is next level awesome! I was approached by Tony to review his band and I am honoured to be doing so, I could compare him to Nick Cave, but I wont he is Tony Daunt, a very talented musician who's sound can be described as dark and moody. I shall also call it raw, honest, emotional and powerful.

The Dauntless, which complement Tony (guitar and vocals) is made up of, Balas Sebesteny (Double Bass), Kevin Place (Pedal Steel), Chris Kemp (Drums), Sarah Jay (Vocals) and Louis Jarlov (Guitar). This is an eclectic mix of talented musicians who have joined forces to create an Americana/Rock/Country sound, which impressed the crowd immensely, actually more than that, it blew the crowd away. It also blew me away. "This is country music, but with a dark and stark edge that delivers a poignancy that is quite unique".

The call for an encore was loud and the band was prepared. They saved the best for last. I am sorry I missed the name of the actual song as I was so impressed by the vocals of Sarah and the cohesive brilliance of the band.

I have had the pleasure of reviewing many fine New Zealand artists but I do want to say that Tony Daunt And The Dauntless are some of the finest musicians I have had the privilege of writing about and also incredibly lucky to photograph as well.

From Wildfire to Misery and through stunning track after track to The Long Kiss Goodnight, The Gypsy is a must have album if you are a fan Americana Rock, or even if you are not this may possibly convert you.
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • ANTISOCIAL
    Ed Sheeran feat. Travis Scott
  • REMEMBER THE NAME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Eminem And 50 Cent
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem