16 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017

Gig Review: Tony Daunt And The Dauntless @ The Incubator Jam Factory, Tauranga - 22/07/2017

23 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
It was a mid winters evening in Tauranga and the scene was set down at Incubator for what promised to be a wonderful evening of music. The rain had cleared and the place had a European cafe vibe about it, with a courtyard outside which had atmosphere for miles and highlighted this intimate venues creative heart.

This was to be the first port of call on the Tony Daunt And The Dauntless album release tour of The Gypsy, supported by Kendall Elise and Edward Gains.

What unfolded over the night was magic, people kept arriving, we ran out of seating, but no one seemed to care, there were couches and beanbags and blankets everywhere and lots of happy body's there to listen to music which filled their souls.

The first act up was our local lad from Tauranga, Edward Gains I had only seen him perform once before and that had been of the Punk Rock nature, so I was surprised when he started performing covers of the very mellow and tranquil variety, it was lovely and set the mood for the evening very well. He did however throw in some chords which were not so toned down, and kept the crowd on its toes.

Second support act for the evening was the lovely Kendall Elise from Auckland. "Cutesy with a hint of darkness. Slow burning or foot stomping, and everything in between" is an accurate description, this lady seemed to mesmerise the crowd with her music, it has been described as a blend of rhythm and blues, folk and country. It is indeed personal and dark humored, very beautiful and touching. ​Her debut single Heart Full Of Dirt was a finalist for the award for the APRA Best Country Music Song 2017, and after hearing her perform, you can certainly see why. This lady has stage presence, a great image and is a very talented musician, the total package. Captivating describes Kendall's performance nicely.

The main act of course was Tony Daunt and the Dauntless, are you ready to hold onto your hats because this band as they say is next level awesome! I was approached by Tony to review his band and I am honoured to be doing so, I could compare him to Nick Cave, but I wont he is Tony Daunt, a very talented musician who's sound can be described as dark and moody. I shall also call it raw, honest, emotional and powerful.

The Dauntless, which complement Tony (guitar and vocals) is made up of, Balas Sebesteny (Double Bass), Kevin Place (Pedal Steel), Chris Kemp (Drums), Sarah Jay (Vocals) and Louis Jarlov (Guitar). This is an eclectic mix of talented musicians who have joined forces to create an Americana/Rock/Country sound, which impressed the crowd immensely, actually more than that, it blew the crowd away. It also blew me away. "This is country music, but with a dark and stark edge that delivers a poignancy that is quite unique".

The call for an encore was loud and the band was prepared. They saved the best for last. I am sorry I missed the name of the actual song as I was so impressed by the vocals of Sarah and the cohesive brilliance of the band.

I have had the pleasure of reviewing many fine New Zealand artists but I do want to say that Tony Daunt And The Dauntless are some of the finest musicians I have had the privilege of writing about and also incredibly lucky to photograph as well.

From Wildfire to Misery and through stunning track after track to The Long Kiss Goodnight, The Gypsy is a must have album if you are a fan Americana Rock, or even if you are not this may possibly convert you.
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Casey Evans - Single Review: Somewhere
07 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A Southern girl from the Catlins, Casey Evans, formally of energetic pop duo ChanTilly, has gone out on her own with her unique blend of soulful country. Somewhere is her debut single, and it has already been added to the Hatchlings playlist on Spotify.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - Single Review: Breathe
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It is not often a single stops me in my tracks. But that is what Emily Riordan has done with the acoustic reworking of Breathe from her EP Waves, which was released earlier in 2019.
Read More...
EP Review: Planet Hunter
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington four piece Planet Hunter describe themselves as stoner/alternative/prog. Named after the Planet Hunter Satellite which was launched the very same day.
Read More...
Isla - EP Review: Weirdo
30 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of Isla's single release of Kids Like Me, is her new EP Weirdo. This EP follows through with the fresh and quirky sound that we were recently introduced to.
Read More...
The Kendals - Single Review: Mistakes
24 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland three-piece pop group The Kendals have released their second single Mistakes. An atmospheric analogue sounding track with a distinctive synth-pop sound.
Read More...
Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem