18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Selon Recliner - EP Review: Stories of Later

20 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Selon Recliner are a collective of seven musicians based in Auckland, which have been described as “artists and dreamers who have come together to create languid dark-pop”. The group’s latest collaborative wonderland of musical masterpieces are six tracks merging their different styles to create such a beautiful album, that the first track brought tears to my eyes.  

“After a bit of brow tidying & reflective thought Selon Recliner are about to release their 3rd offering Stories of Later. A collection of salty tales, lost love, mother nature & greed.”

Stories of Later is one of those mysterious, poetic collection of songs which are indeed very creative and emotionally touching, this is hardly surprising given the members of the group also include the stunning yet haunting vocals of Belinda Bradley. Thus I am led into the first track, a poignant and emotive tear jerker which is a story of lost love.  Come On Rain

To describe the cinematography of Come On Rain as beautiful would be an understatement, it is delightful and lovely and rather touching, the song complimented the visuals perfectly. It is simple yet very smart, the first time I have ever been brought to tears by plastic flying chairs. Belinda Bradley is a genus at her many creative crafts, filming and photography of the highest standard can be added to dancing and of course singing. I was reminded of Bic Runga when I hear Belinda sing, perhaps another tear stained CD from my heartbroken youth was Drive. Maybe I am being a tad over dramatic, or maybe I am illustrating that the sign of a great album is its ability to evoke emotion. This album does just that.

Alongside Belinda, the rest of this highly creative group certainly seem to merge together to create captivating and mysterious music. Guy Wishart, Vernon Rive, Michael Te Young, Roy Goodwin, Darlene Te Young and Perry Bradley have done a superb job of writing, recording and producing this album, and they did it in a concrete bunker that sits high upon green hills just north of Auckland. Conceivably the best location imaginable when recording a moody, dark, poignant and alluring album such as Stories of Later.

If you are a fan of Selon Recliner, you may be aware that the band produces something called Selon Cinema. They are releasing two new pieces of visually impressive cinematography, with more planned to accompany this album.
 

This is a band certainly worthy of further investigation; their third album is stunning and so far very visually appealing. I look forward to further releases from Selon Recliner. 

Join the creatives, the artists and the dreamers and immerse yourself in Stories of Later.  It is a beautiful experience. 

 

About Selon Recliner

Building on the low-lit interior sounds of their critically acclaimed 2006 debut 'Rest Room', Selon Recliner have completed their second album, 'The Orchid Door', due for release in early 2009. Working with Producer Dave Holmes (Gramsci, Jakob) the band has explored a steeper landscape, exiting the 'Rest Room' & soaring across a more varied terrain.

Selon Recliner's music has been described as having a dark, hypnotic beauty that breezes along on mellow atmospheric guitars, poignant keys and gentle beats. Their Dark Pop label will be furthered by their new work, while showcasing a richer pallet of mood and atmosphere.

“If Rest Room was our interior album then this is definitely about exteriors”, says vocalist and co-songwriter Belinda Bradley.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Selon Recliner

Releases

Stories of Later
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Orchid Door
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Rest Room
Year: 2006
Type: Album
This Was For You
Year: 2005
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem