29 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Alien Weaponry - Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 8/07/2017

Alien Weaponry - Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 8/07/2017

09 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
I will begin by saying it was great to get the chance to work along side another member of the muzic.net.nz team, Jamie Miller, who was photographer for the evening, freeing me up to concentrate entirely on this review and the music. Without the worry of lighting, keeping one eye on the band and another on the crowd, I was able to talk to people about their concert going experience and gain feedback from the people. There were a couple of times though out the evening I missed having my camera, but I got over it, knowing that side of things was in Jamie's capable hands.

First things first, as I entered Totara St last night I was hit by the impressive set up on the stage, a veritable wall of speakers, it looked loud. The crowd dribbled in slowly but by the time time the first act Average Mars Experience took to the stage, it was filling up. Average Mars Experience are a hard hitting instrumental rock/metal and from Auckland, influenced by the likes of Tool, Incubus and Heavy Metal Ninjas. People started warming up around two songs into the set and the head nodding began. It is said they "infuse groove into everything they produce" which seemed to be the case. The band were pretty impressive, no lyrics yet they engaged with the crowd and started the build up of energy which would eventually end in a head banging full on mosh pit awakening by the end of the night. I am building up to that. Without camera in hand I was able to move freely around the crowd and ask them their thoughts and feelings about the music and the general consensus was Average Mars Experience were a good start to the evening, a talented bunch of lads, wicked guitar playing.

Second band to play was The Eternal Sea, it is no secret I am a bit of a fan of these guys, I have enjoyed hearing them play live before and this was no exception. No P, Mugg, Sober, Vampyer and Transhumanism were a few of the tracks which the band did a energetic and crowd pleasing job of playing. And again when the megaphone comes out, the crowd goes wild. The guys played  a tight set and I was glad that I had the opportunity to just listen and appreciate the music, so thank you for yet another fine gig a perfect precursor to the head lining act, three young men from Northland. Thrash metal band Alien Weaponry.

Captivating from the onset, electric energy oozes from this band. Winners of the 2016 Smokefree Rockquest and all under the age of 18, they have an abundance of youthful enthusiasm, watching them prepare before they took to the stage from the safety of the crew area I witnessed excitement and passion in abundance, they seemed to light up the stage with their presence and the crowd went nuts. The point of difference is not that they are young, not even that they are extremely professional even down to the pushing the merch, not even that they have opened for Devilskin and Shihad. No what really makes this young thrash metal band stand out is the beautiful use of Te Reo, singing in Maori and absolutely nailing it, this was an extremely powerful combination of music and language, add in three very talented musicians with a lot of hair (and I presume strong neck muscles for flicking all that hair around), and you have a force to reckon with.

I am now going to try and explain the almost terrifying vision I was witnessing from my safe place looking down onto the stage, it occurred after the band had a brief 10 minute interval, presumably so the crowd could get their fluids up before the occurrence. Not having seen this before, the "Wall of Death" or what was a version of it I am sure, kind of took me by surprise, when these young men told the crowd to part and they dutifully obeyed, I slid over to our photog person and hissed watch this, and then it was all on, people running at each other and headbanging and moshing their hearts out, I feared for the lives of my friends in the centre of it, but they didn't seem to worried, it was like a thrash metal free for-all screeching guitars, booming drums and flying bodies. It was a sight to behold and the crowd loved it. Actually it was done in a safe and smart way, but that's the sensible me talking. This is not just a gig, this is a show, audience immersion, a performance.

The guys ended their set with the latest release Ru Ana Te Whenua  A powerful heart pounding song to wrap up a flawless incredible set.

Three talented Kiwi bands, yet another amazing night. Thank you to muzic.net.nz for the experience.
 

About Alien Weaponry

Alien Weaponry is a three-piece metal band whose style has been influenced by old school thrash and hardcore

AW was formed in 2010 by brothers Henry and Lewis de Jong, who have been listening to bands like Metallica, Anthrax and Pantera since birth; and started jamming and writing songs before they learnt the alphabet. Current influences include Lamb Of God, Tryvium, Subtract and System of a Down, but the band has developed its own distinctive thrash metal sound, destined to endure into future centuries.

Not content to rely on the shock value of their extreme youth, the group understands the value of professionalism, and works crowds to a frenzy with their tight, thrashy energy and wild stage performances. Their plans for world domination include playing at Wacken in Germany and touring the big international metal festivals. They refuse to play covers, and have enough material to begin recording their first album later this year.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alien Weaponry

Releases


Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal
27 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.
Read More...
Ryan Fisherman - Album Review: Vibe
26 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch musician and singer-writer Ryan Chin, goes under the name of Ryan Fisherman. He has just released his first album Vibe.
Read More...
Madeleine Howard - Single Review: No More
18 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch based singer-songwriter Madeleine Howard, has just released her catchy new single No More, The first off the ranks of consecutive single releases as she prepares to launch her debut EP, Just Reaching Out. Originally from the Hawke’s Bay, Madeleine went on to study at the University Of Otago Contemporary Performance Programme for four years, developing a characteristic Kiwi sound which shines through strongly on this single.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Single/Video Review: It’s Not Over with Huz
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
NZ electronic dance duo from Auckland, Justin Sane & Huz have recently released their brand new single It’s Not Over accompanied by a high energy bittersweet music video which is like an accelerated timeline of C-19 NZ Lockdown 2020. Justin Sane has been around for a few years, a DJ from the UK; he immigrated to New Zealand in 2001 and exploded into the public eye in 2003 by being identified as one of the hottest young properties within the NZ hardhouse scene.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Single Review: Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician and purveyor of the Dunedin Sound and indie folk genres Darryl Baser, has just released the first single from his up and coming sophomore album Second Selfie. Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker is an unusually named release based on a “bunch of experiences”.
Read More...
Holly Afoa - EP Review: Sister
11 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Neo-Soul singer/songwriter Holly Afoa has recently released her debut EP Sister. Five tracks of soulful, heartfelt music.
Read More...
Ralphe - Double Single Review: Never Enough & What You Want
11 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based musician and audio-engineer Ralph Engle has been busy over the lockdown period, collaborating on a couple of songs remotely. He's just released two singles from a "work in progress" EP entitled Souvenirs.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Happy To Know You
29 Apr 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie-pop artist Kaela, AKA Leah Navanua, is relatively fresh on the NZ musical scene, having only released her debut single Set Me Free in 2018, despite playing acoustic sets for a number of years. Her intimate new single Happy To Know You (HTKY), which is being released on May 1st, is a dreamy offering of lush harmonies.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem