24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Alien Weaponry - Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 8/07/2017

Alien Weaponry - Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 8/07/2017

09 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
I will begin by saying it was great to get the chance to work along side another member of the muzic.net.nz team, Jamie Miller, who was photographer for the evening, freeing me up to concentrate entirely on this review and the music. Without the worry of lighting, keeping one eye on the band and another on the crowd, I was able to talk to people about their concert going experience and gain feedback from the people. There were a couple of times though out the evening I missed having my camera, but I got over it, knowing that side of things was in Jamie's capable hands.

First things first, as I entered Totara St last night I was hit by the impressive set up on the stage, a veritable wall of speakers, it looked loud. The crowd dribbled in slowly but by the time time the first act Average Mars Experience took to the stage, it was filling up. Average Mars Experience are a hard hitting instrumental rock/metal and from Auckland, influenced by the likes of Tool, Incubus and Heavy Metal Ninjas. People started warming up around two songs into the set and the head nodding began. It is said they "infuse groove into everything they produce" which seemed to be the case. The band were pretty impressive, no lyrics yet they engaged with the crowd and started the build up of energy which would eventually end in a head banging full on mosh pit awakening by the end of the night. I am building up to that. Without camera in hand I was able to move freely around the crowd and ask them their thoughts and feelings about the music and the general consensus was Average Mars Experience were a good start to the evening, a talented bunch of lads, wicked guitar playing.

Second band to play was The Eternal Sea, it is no secret I am a bit of a fan of these guys, I have enjoyed hearing them play live before and this was no exception. No P, Mugg, Sober, Vampyer and Transhumanism were a few of the tracks which the band did a energetic and crowd pleasing job of playing. And again when the megaphone comes out, the crowd goes wild. The guys played  a tight set and I was glad that I had the opportunity to just listen and appreciate the music, so thank you for yet another fine gig a perfect precursor to the head lining act, three young men from Northland. Thrash metal band Alien Weaponry.

Captivating from the onset, electric energy oozes from this band. Winners of the 2016 Smokefree Rockquest and all under the age of 18, they have an abundance of youthful enthusiasm, watching them prepare before they took to the stage from the safety of the crew area I witnessed excitement and passion in abundance, they seemed to light up the stage with their presence and the crowd went nuts. The point of difference is not that they are young, not even that they are extremely professional even down to the pushing the merch, not even that they have opened for Devilskin and Shihad. No what really makes this young thrash metal band stand out is the beautiful use of Te Reo, singing in Maori and absolutely nailing it, this was an extremely powerful combination of music and language, add in three very talented musicians with a lot of hair (and I presume strong neck muscles for flicking all that hair around), and you have a force to reckon with.

I am now going to try and explain the almost terrifying vision I was witnessing from my safe place looking down onto the stage, it occurred after the band had a brief 10 minute interval, presumably so the crowd could get their fluids up before the occurrence. Not having seen this before, the "Wall of Death" or what was a version of it I am sure, kind of took me by surprise, when these young men told the crowd to part and they dutifully obeyed, I slid over to our photog person and hissed watch this, and then it was all on, people running at each other and headbanging and moshing their hearts out, I feared for the lives of my friends in the centre of it, but they didn't seem to worried, it was like a thrash metal free for-all screeching guitars, booming drums and flying bodies. It was a sight to behold and the crowd loved it. Actually it was done in a safe and smart way, but that's the sensible me talking. This is not just a gig, this is a show, audience immersion, a performance.

The guys ended their set with the latest release Ru Ana Te Whenua  A powerful heart pounding song to wrap up a flawless incredible set.

Three talented Kiwi bands, yet another amazing night. Thank you to muzic.net.nz for the experience.
 

About Alien Weaponry

Alien Weaponry is a three-piece metal band whose style has been influenced by old school thrash and hardcore

AW was formed in 2010 by brothers Henry and Lewis de Jong, who have been listening to bands like Metallica, Anthrax and Pantera since birth; and started jamming and writing songs before they learnt the alphabet. Current influences include Lamb Of God, Tryvium, Subtract and System of a Down, but the band has developed its own distinctive thrash metal sound, destined to endure into future centuries.

Not content to rely on the shock value of their extreme youth, the group understands the value of professionalism, and works crowds to a frenzy with their tight, thrashy energy and wild stage performances. Their plans for world domination include playing at Wacken in Germany and touring the big international metal festivals. They refuse to play covers, and have enough material to begin recording their first album later this year.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alien Weaponry

Releases


Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem