19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Santa Barbara - Single/Video Review: Reptile Lover

08 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Fizzing is an excellent word to describe the latest offering from Kiwi band Santa BarbaraReptile Lover is collaboration between the LA based band and poet Jeffrey Holgate who provided the lyrics; it is like fizzy sherbet or delightful popping candy for your ears. This track is lively; fast paced and made me smile. Far from the moody theme of The Girl In Black, Reptile lover is extremely upbeat, with gorgeous bass guitar leading you into the track.  

The lyrics tell a story about a person who loves wearing tetrapod skins possibly snakes and lizards turned into shoes and handbags, maybe not PC but does tell a unique tale which works very well with Santa Barbra’s distinctive style of music.

The band is made up of Cassie Gaffaney, Nick Gaffaney (Cairo Knife Fight) and Geoff Maddock (Goldenhorse). Cassie and Nick relocated to Los Angeles to join Geoff in 2014 and have made a name for themselves in the LA music scene with their cool alt/rock style. I haven’t got my finger on the pulse of the LA music scene, but I reckon it would be pretty cut throat so this is a noteworthy achievement. 

Psychedelic, colourful sixties inspired videography accompany this very catchy song, a trip back in time but with a modern twist. More Austin Powers then Woodstock; with in your face strobing lights, creative camera angles and loads of hallucinogenic colour changes. Certainly a moving visual display of psychedelic art. The video team is made up of Director, Chris Miyasaki and Cinematographer, Anthony Ignacio, while the recording of Reptile Lover was done at producer Jim Scott’s Plyrz studios by fellow Kiwi Neil Baldock (Crowded House, Let Live, Neil Finn, Common).    

I am glad I got the opportunity to discover these guys, Cassie has a beautiful voice and compliments Nick and Geoff extremely well with her vocals and guitar playing, the three of them together are rather swell and groovy and I can imagine they really do capture great audiences when they play live.

Reptile Lover has that cool California sound that makes you want to grab a surfboard and head down the Pacific Coast Highway with the radio blaring. Santa Barbra are definitely an exciting find and I look forward to hearing more from them.

They can be found on all the usual Social Media haunts and at http:/www.santabarbaratheband.com

 

About Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara is what happens when 3 Kiwis move to LA and discover a mutual love of 60's influenced pop/rock. Lead by Cassie Gaffaney on guitar and vocals the band formed in the Valley in late 2014 when Cass and her husband Nick met up with their good friend from NZ Geoff Maddock the 3 of them decided a band would be the best way to pass the time in a new country.

Santa Barbara is definitely about making music that suits a party but the underlying vibe has a depth and passion displayed through beautiful harmonies and sophisticated arrangements. Its surf rock/doo wop/guitar pop for the 21st century from New Zealand via Los Angeles.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Santa Barbara

Releases

There are no releases to display for Santa Barbara.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem