18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Theia - EP Review: Theia

07 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I have had a casual eye on Theia for a wee while; she has been floating around in my music filled memory banks since I heard Roam, so I was rather excited to have an opportunity to review her debut self-titled album.

Theia’s music, which is described as glitter-pop sent me straight to Google to find out what the fanciful term “glitter-pop” actually means, it had conjured up images of a sparkly, colourful singing princess, then throw ethereal into the mix and my mind went into overdrive with visions of glittering, floating faeries with angelic voices. As her new stage name suggests, she is clearly not a faerie / angel, she is a divine goddess of light.

Don’t let any of my fantastical musings fool you, when I came back down to earth it quickly became apparent that this young lady means business. Her influences are diverse and extensive, ranging from Crowded House to Bjork and the Mama’s and the Papa’s to Amy Winehouse.

Theia (Em–Haley Walker) 26 years old and has already been compared to Lorde and Broods. Formerly known as PLUM, the singer from Christchurch released Roam almost a year ago sparking an incredible streaming frenzy on Spotify of almost 3 million. Let me amend that figure, it has now surpassed 4 million as I write this.

With a change in name also came a change in image and an advanced polished version of Em-Haley Walker has emerged. She has a very well thought out style, which is rather unique yet seems to be influenced by her love of Rihanna. Whatever her image has become, is extremely marketable and appealing to the younger generation much like her music. The whole Theia package is rather refreshing and forward thinking, everything you could possibly want in an up and coming pop star (or ancient planet as the case may be).

Fast forward to June of 2017 and a 6 track EP has emerged, all those hours locked away in studios creating magic has come down to this. Her self-titled album. Theia.

This is a skilfully engineered album; a lot of thought has been given to the lyrics and the song writing process. There is indeed an ethereal quality in her vocals, I tried to find another descriptive word instead of the over used “ethereal”, but it actually perfectly describes her sound. There are multiple layers to her music, combining light with dark and bass with synth, wrapping it all in RnB/Techno-Pop with perhaps a sprinkling of glitter.

Theia has released six very appealing, highly marketable tracks ranging from the funky track Silver Second, to the moody Champagne Supernova and my personal favourite, the catchy and reflective Everything. Included in this EP is the popular Roam. The current tour to promote Theia has an all-female line up and word is she is every bit as professional and polished on stage as she is in the studio.

The songs she writes are based on life experience and are personal; it seems she is sharing her life with us through music, connecting with her fans. All the research I did surrounding Theia and her album pointed to the fact that she is a genuine, caring, sweet and lovely person (and incredibly stylish with cool hair). It seems she is able to communicate with people on many levels and the fact that she used to teach Te Reo to primary School children, and that she went back to perform at that School, ensures a place in the hearts of even our youngest music aficionados.

A talented performer showing the world just what she is capable of. A young lady with a glittery future on the verge of creating a big bang.

To keep up to date with everything Theia go to www.theiaofficialxo.com and usual Social Media sites.

 

About Theia

Theia is a singer-songwriter from New Zealand. Her debut single Roam is out now.

Every so often a new talent emerges seemingly from nowhere. And yet, their sound and aesthetic is so familiar, it’s almost as if you’ve known them forever. Welcome to the stage Theia – an exciting singer-songwriter from New Zealand, who holds the power to alter the axial tilt of the pop world.

In Greek mythology Theia is a Titaness. Theia brings overtones of extent, brightness, and light. She is the mother of the sun, the moon and the dawn.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Theia

Releases

Theia
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem