20 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Theia - EP Review: Theia

07 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I have had a casual eye on Theia for a wee while; she has been floating around in my music filled memory banks since I heard Roam, so I was rather excited to have an opportunity to review her debut self-titled album.

Theia’s music, which is described as glitter-pop sent me straight to Google to find out what the fanciful term “glitter-pop” actually means, it had conjured up images of a sparkly, colourful singing princess, then throw ethereal into the mix and my mind went into overdrive with visions of glittering, floating faeries with angelic voices. As her new stage name suggests, she is clearly not a faerie / angel, she is a divine goddess of light.

Don’t let any of my fantastical musings fool you, when I came back down to earth it quickly became apparent that this young lady means business. Her influences are diverse and extensive, ranging from Crowded House to Bjork and the Mama’s and the Papa’s to Amy Winehouse.

Theia (Em–Haley Walker) 26 years old and has already been compared to Lorde and Broods. Formerly known as PLUM, the singer from Christchurch released Roam almost a year ago sparking an incredible streaming frenzy on Spotify of almost 3 million. Let me amend that figure, it has now surpassed 4 million as I write this.

With a change in name also came a change in image and an advanced polished version of Em-Haley Walker has emerged. She has a very well thought out style, which is rather unique yet seems to be influenced by her love of Rihanna. Whatever her image has become, is extremely marketable and appealing to the younger generation much like her music. The whole Theia package is rather refreshing and forward thinking, everything you could possibly want in an up and coming pop star (or ancient planet as the case may be).

Fast forward to June of 2017 and a 6 track EP has emerged, all those hours locked away in studios creating magic has come down to this. Her self-titled album. Theia.

This is a skilfully engineered album; a lot of thought has been given to the lyrics and the song writing process. There is indeed an ethereal quality in her vocals, I tried to find another descriptive word instead of the over used “ethereal”, but it actually perfectly describes her sound. There are multiple layers to her music, combining light with dark and bass with synth, wrapping it all in RnB/Techno-Pop with perhaps a sprinkling of glitter.

Theia has released six very appealing, highly marketable tracks ranging from the funky track Silver Second, to the moody Champagne Supernova and my personal favourite, the catchy and reflective Everything. Included in this EP is the popular Roam. The current tour to promote Theia has an all-female line up and word is she is every bit as professional and polished on stage as she is in the studio.

The songs she writes are based on life experience and are personal; it seems she is sharing her life with us through music, connecting with her fans. All the research I did surrounding Theia and her album pointed to the fact that she is a genuine, caring, sweet and lovely person (and incredibly stylish with cool hair). It seems she is able to communicate with people on many levels and the fact that she used to teach Te Reo to primary School children, and that she went back to perform at that School, ensures a place in the hearts of even our youngest music aficionados.

A talented performer showing the world just what she is capable of. A young lady with a glittery future on the verge of creating a big bang.

To keep up to date with everything Theia go to www.theiaofficialxo.com and usual Social Media sites.

 

About Theia

Theia is a singer-songwriter from New Zealand. Her debut single Roam is out now.

Every so often a new talent emerges seemingly from nowhere. And yet, their sound and aesthetic is so familiar, it’s almost as if you’ve known them forever. Welcome to the stage Theia – an exciting singer-songwriter from New Zealand, who holds the power to alter the axial tilt of the pop world.

In Greek mythology Theia is a Titaness. Theia brings overtones of extent, brightness, and light. She is the mother of the sun, the moon and the dawn.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Theia

Releases

Theia
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem