23 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Emma G - Single/Video Review: King For A Day

04 Jul 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Metaphorically speaking, I have been travelling beyond the fine shores of Aotearoa to check out what some of our expats have been doing musically overseas or more specifically the USA, and I can say without a doubt they are writing, arranging and performing some mighty fine music. Emma G is no exception. King for a Day is the second studio single from the 28 year old former Hamiltonian. 

Leaving New Zealand in mid-2015, Emma Ghaemmaghamy or G for short, based herself in Washington DC and is working full time as a street performer, she is widely known as the "Kiwi girl who plays great songs and gives great hugs". Prior to heading overseas Emma had established a profile in NZ as vocalist for hard rock bad Static Era. In 2012 she gained the New Zealander of the year Local Hero Award for inspiring others through music. Having just completed her second California tour, just this month Emma was recognised in The Best of DC musician’s category in Washingtonian Magazine. She has played various community events at the White House, Kennedy Centre, The National Cherry Blossom Festival and Smithsonian Folklife Festivals. You can also find her performing in clubs. 

King for a Day is a soulful pop rock track, incorporating piano with a beautiful beat and unforgiving lyrics, the lyrics however cynical and "unapologetic" are softened somewhat by her sweet smile in the music video the smile lights up your screen and takes the edge off her words, "I'd break you anyway". The videography captures her delightful energy which is as sunny as the Californian sun it was shot in, providing me with a brief interlude to the dreary wet day I see out my window.

And if you are listening to this track without the visuals, her charismatic presence still sparkles through.
 

Research unearthed some outstanding acoustic tracks including a beautiful rendition of November Rain by Guns N Roses, showing a glimpse into how impressive Emma's vocals are, this is evident on King for a Day. Her voice is mesmerizing, powerful and clear. It is obvious; when I did a bit of snooping around that she is well respected and supported by the community and the people in the DC music scene.

Recorded by Baltimore-based producer Flight Boy Music, King for a Day is soulful and sweet but at the same time, in your face with a “don’t mess with me” attitude. The lyrics on closer inspection are also slightly apologetic and refreshingly honest. Life inspires her writing.
 

Emma G is doing great things in the American music scene, with her lovely voice and infectious smile; she has an exciting future ahead of her. “Life is an adventure. The best adventures have unknown outcomes.”

emmagmusic can be found on all major social media sites and @ www.emmagmusic.com

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem