20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Anti Matter - Gig Review: Riot Grrrl 3 @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 30/06/17

01 Jul 2017 // A review by Sarah Sampson

Right from when event promoter Courtney took to the stage to introduce the first act and exclaimed excitedly that while it was the 3rd Riot Grrrl event it would be the first all female line up, I knew we would be in for a treat. All through the night and into this morning I’ve been trying to rack my brains trying to think of another music show I’ve been too that had only female musicians play and I honestly don’t think in the 9 or so years of me running, attending, reviewing and working on music events that I can recall ever being at a show with only female performers. It was a very different crowd and atmosphere to the shows that I normally attend with no familiar faces and Anti Matter being the only performer I had seen previously. 

First to take to the stage was Hi Supreme Vibes and instantly I was transported in my mind to when I was studying at MAINZ in 2009 as it has been that long since I have witnessed a female solo artist take to the stage and perform only using her voice as an instrument with a backing track. It was a short but very sweet set showcasing her vocal range beautifully. From heart ache and pain to dreams of the future yet to be fill filled  it was a set that takes the viewer on an inner journey tugging on the heart strings of memories both bitter and sweet and emotions we can all relate to. I would love to see what she could do with a band or live DJ on stage with her.

Next up was Scarlett Lashes. How to put into words the insanity that is Scarlett Lashes, and I write that with a grin on my face knowing that never in my 9 years of music have I witnessed ANYTHING like Scarlett Lashes (and I’ve seen bands with udders sewn to shirts and one person play bass and drums at the same time while wearing a softball helmet with a mic taped to it!) Right from the start Jess commands attention and every person in the room was instantly transfixed and after warning us her first song will make us all hungry she was straight into it. There is no need for a stage as Jess weaves in and out of the crowd making eye contact and creating an intimate atmosphere making sure that the crowd was very much part of the performance, while singing her first song about her preference for chicken thighs over breast. She instantly drew me in as it seemed she walked straight towards me making eye contact all the time before turning and weaving through the crowd. Each song was widely different, all with backing tracks reminiscent of 80s synth pop with Jess being occasionally joined on stage either as a two or three piece with Peachy Keen and Nat Attack adding both vocal and visual elements to the performance. Scarlett Lashes was about GIRL POWER, strength, unity and really not giving a F**K! With topics varied from light hearted songs about chicken and girls nights out on the town to more serious topics about sexual harassment and what being a female today means with the patriarchal society we live in. 

Following Scarlett Lashes was Anti Matter who is also Courtney the promoter of the event. Anti Matter is the only act I’ve seen previously and as always I was looking forward to her performance. Anti Matter has been a duo act a few times but last night Courtney was solo with her keyboard. I’ve always admired Courtney for her attitude when she is on stage, her strength she portrays, her ‘don’t give a f**k’ attitude and how she isn’t afraid to discuss deep topics like Capitalism, sexism, sexual harassment and death in her songs. She doesn’t sugar coat her messages and themes and like a lot of my favourite heavy metal musicians I love how off stage she is one of the kindest, friendliest people you will ever meet but on stage she becomes strength personified. Two of Anti Matter's songs that I love that were performed last night were Heroine andF**k Boi. Heroine is about ‘girl power’ about breaking down societies views of who we are meant to be as woman and not caring and being that person in our heads that we all want to be, but often don’t have the courage to be. F**k Boi is my absolute favourite song by Anti Matter and it was introduced as being a response to ALL the songs out there by male mainstream artists calling women bitches and sluts. It’s about all the guys that go around f**king over women and saying what they think we want to hear to get us into bed. It’s about heart ache and pain and a song I’m sure every female can relate too. I’ve talked to Courtney a few times about the song and it’s one I’d absolutely love to own if she records it (please do!!)

Closing the night was Auckland 4 piece punk band Hagseed. They were the first whole band of the night and the energy in the room instantly went from an intimate, chilled, peaceful vibe to full on electric with an almost static energy coursing through the crowd. All it took was for one female fan to get up the front and start pushing people around to get the crowd moving and that was in the first song so it was a high energy turn around straight from the first beat. Every-time I see a Punk band live I always wish I went to more Punk gigs as I was a HUGE punk fan growing up. Hagseed was the perfect act to end the night on.  Full on, in your face, raw power perfectly embodying the girl power message of the night. 

Chatting to Courtney about the idea behind the night of a place to empower female musicians, to provide an environment where regardless of your gender identity or sexual orientation you are safe and free to be yourself. The whole event was an experience and one that I would encourage every music lover to get out to at least once. I became a fan of three new acts last night and I will most definitely be going out of my way to see all of them again. I can’t wait until Riot Grrrl 4!

 

About Anti Matter

We are the darkness that lives in your heart. We are the electronic punk rock of a robot generation. We are the ghosts on your TV screaming at you to live. We are the vague experience of life and matter. We are the master plan.

Some people run from their demons, we party with ours.

Anti Matter came from the depths of creativity of songwriter Courtney Newbold. With a large interest in post hardcore and punk music, and a growing interest in electronic music, she set out to start a band to satisfy these curiousities. The band was preconceived as an activist band, with strong musical and songwriting elements so the band can have a message, as well as meet Courtney's own artistic vision. Thus Anti Matter was born

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Anti Matter

Releases

There are no releases to display for Anti Matter.

Other Reviews By Sarah Sampson

Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Sesega - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sarah Sampson
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy, Remote & Pull Down the Sun @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 12/08/2017
14 Aug 2017 // by Sarah Sampson
Last night's show was one of those really awesome ones where there are all those people you haven’t seen in what feels like a hundred years and it was definitely a night that could have gone on for a few more hours! The bands all added to that excitement though and I’m pretty sure when I see any of these bands again I will be reminded of this night and the people, music, laughter and memories.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sarah Sampson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem