17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Animal Party - EP Review: Drifting

01 Jul 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

Good music takes you somewhere else. It makes your mind wander, changes your mood, makes you feel something. Really good music makes you connect with the musicians who are creating it. Hooks you in, makes you think.

Animal Party make really good music!

This is a new band made up of members from The Jury and the Saints and Lookin Up, both great bands so the guys had some big footsteps to follow in.

Opening track Drifting, starts at a slow tempo but builds and is delivered with a punk intensity and energy. The atmospherics created mainly by the guitars add another dimension that makes you listen and we are now on a journey. Introductions are made, we are connecting.

The EP kicks some serious arse with next track, Weight. "I was born for this!" is an apt opening line as it does seem these guys were meant to be making music together and as soon as the refrain "when we were young" repeats, I am gone, drifting, no actually sinking into the song.

Cobwebs is one of my favourite songs. It made me smile, want to sing, to get off my arse and do something, but mainly made me want to go and see Animal Party live.

Goblin is the most anthemic song on the EP. A perfect mix of space and bombast which would fill any stadium

Years showcases some formidable song-writing talent, the song builds and slows, guitars float in and out punctuated with backing vocals. It's the music on this song more than the words that hook you in.

A finally we come to Thieves at over 5 mins this song is epic, moody and brooding, almost a ballad until the guitars and vocal hit their peak. It’s emotional but not in a guyliner, floppy fringe kind of way.

Animal Party are taking a mix of musical influences (Lower than Atlantis, At the Drive-in, Million Dead all spring to mind) and creating something else. The vocals are excellent and so is the music. So many bands just sound like a poor version of the bands who influence them but Animal Party stand out and it is going to be interesting to see where they take this. The potential is huge.

4/5

 

About Animal Party

Birthed in Aotearoa, Animal Party is a band of high energy and passion. Comprised of ex members from The Jury & the Saints and Lookin Up, they are no strangers to bringing the rock.

The band released their debut EP Drifting in April 2017 to rave reviews, the most notable from Muzic.net.nz where the band were described as having “a perfect mix of space and bombast which would fill any stadium”.

A tight and punchy wall of sound coupled with challenging lyrics and memorable hooks encapsulates this positive and powerful live act, leaving you feeling uplifted and exhausted in the best possible way.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Animal Party

Releases

Drifting
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem