17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Animal Party - EP Review: Drifting

01 Jul 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

Good music takes you somewhere else. It makes your mind wander, changes your mood, makes you feel something. Really good music makes you connect with the musicians who are creating it. Hooks you in, makes you think.

Animal Party make really good music!

This is a new band made up of members from The Jury and the Saints and Lookin Up, both great bands so the guys had some big footsteps to follow in.

Opening track Drifting, starts at a slow tempo but builds and is delivered with a punk intensity and energy. The atmospherics created mainly by the guitars add another dimension that makes you listen and we are now on a journey. Introductions are made, we are connecting.

The EP kicks some serious arse with next track, Weight. "I was born for this!" is an apt opening line as it does seem these guys were meant to be making music together and as soon as the refrain "when we were young" repeats, I am gone, drifting, no actually sinking into the song.

Cobwebs is one of my favourite songs. It made me smile, want to sing, to get off my arse and do something, but mainly made me want to go and see Animal Party live.

Goblin is the most anthemic song on the EP. A perfect mix of space and bombast which would fill any stadium

Years showcases some formidable song-writing talent, the song builds and slows, guitars float in and out punctuated with backing vocals. It's the music on this song more than the words that hook you in.

A finally we come to Thieves at over 5 mins this song is epic, moody and brooding, almost a ballad until the guitars and vocal hit their peak. It’s emotional but not in a guyliner, floppy fringe kind of way.

Animal Party are taking a mix of musical influences (Lower than Atlantis, At the Drive-in, Million Dead all spring to mind) and creating something else. The vocals are excellent and so is the music. So many bands just sound like a poor version of the bands who influence them but Animal Party stand out and it is going to be interesting to see where they take this. The potential is huge.

4/5

 

About Animal Party

Birthed in Aotearoa, Animal Party is a band of high energy and passion. Comprised of ex members from The Jury & the Saints and Lookin Up, they are no strangers to bringing the rock.

The band released their debut EP Drifting in April 2017 to rave reviews, the most notable from Muzic.net.nz where the band were described as having “a perfect mix of space and bombast which would fill any stadium”.

A tight and punchy wall of sound coupled with challenging lyrics and memorable hooks encapsulates this positive and powerful live act, leaving you feeling uplifted and exhausted in the best possible way.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Animal Party

Releases

Drifting
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem