21 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Animal Party - EP Review: Drifting

01 Jul 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard

Good music takes you somewhere else. It makes your mind wander, changes your mood, makes you feel something. Really good music makes you connect with the musicians who are creating it. Hooks you in, makes you think.

Animal Party make really good music!

This is a new band made up of members from The Jury and the Saints and Lookin Up, both great bands so the guys had some big footsteps to follow in.

Opening track Drifting, starts at a slow tempo but builds and is delivered with a punk intensity and energy. The atmospherics created mainly by the guitars add another dimension that makes you listen and we are now on a journey. Introductions are made, we are connecting.

The EP kicks some serious arse with next track, Weight. "I was born for this!" is an apt opening line as it does seem these guys were meant to be making music together and as soon as the refrain "when we were young" repeats, I am gone, drifting, no actually sinking into the song.

Cobwebs is one of my favourite songs. It made me smile, want to sing, to get off my arse and do something, but mainly made me want to go and see Animal Party live.

Goblin is the most anthemic song on the EP. A perfect mix of space and bombast which would fill any stadium

Years showcases some formidable song-writing talent, the song builds and slows, guitars float in and out punctuated with backing vocals. It's the music on this song more than the words that hook you in.

A finally we come to Thieves at over 5 mins this song is epic, moody and brooding, almost a ballad until the guitars and vocal hit their peak. It’s emotional but not in a guyliner, floppy fringe kind of way.

Animal Party are taking a mix of musical influences (Lower than Atlantis, At the Drive-in, Million Dead all spring to mind) and creating something else. The vocals are excellent and so is the music. So many bands just sound like a poor version of the bands who influence them but Animal Party stand out and it is going to be interesting to see where they take this. The potential is huge.

4/5

 

About Animal Party

Birthed in Aotearoa, Animal Party is a band of high energy and passion. Comprised of ex members from The Jury & the Saints and Lookin Up, they are no strangers to bringing the rock.

The band released their debut EP Drifting in April 2017 to rave reviews, the most notable from Muzic.net.nz where the band were described as having “a perfect mix of space and bombast which would fill any stadium”.

A tight and punchy wall of sound coupled with challenging lyrics and memorable hooks encapsulates this positive and powerful live act, leaving you feeling uplifted and exhausted in the best possible way.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Animal Party

Releases

Drifting
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • DON'T CALL ME ANGEL (CHARLIE'S ANGELS)
    Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus And Lana Del Rey
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem