15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Gig Review: Curlys Jewels @ Backbeat, Auckland - 24/06/17

29 Jun 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
First off I just want to say Backbeat is a great venue, just the right size and always a decent sound. I arrived to catch the last three songs from openers Average Mars Experience as I didn't know they were on the bill. 

I must admit I have always found that there is something missing with a band that only does instrumental songs (I know, I know a singer!) There is no denying the talent in this band, think the Deftones without Chino. A vocalist trying to fit in would have his work cut out and it would be difficult to find one who could add to what is already a great soundscape but if they want to, I think these guys should try to find their Chino. If they do then they could really blow our minds.

Coridian take the stage and I had heard good things about these guys so expectations were high. Immediately the energy levels in the room hit the ceiling and vocalist Dity has a stage presence right from the first note. Apparently, he was recovering from man-flu but no one noticed and this was a polished performance. Musically there are some obvious influences but unlike many bands, Coridian manage to create their own sound and vibe. Defo a band to put on your "must see live" list.

As this was Curlys Jewels first Auckland gig they handed headline duties over to local boys Armed in Advance and entered the stage all smiles. It is clear they are here to enjoy themselves and the crowd responds in kind. Janelle is a great singer who can engage the crowd from a first glance, smile, and her passion for the music is clear. Having heard their EP a few weeks back it was great to see the songs are enhanced when played live. The banter between songs is never cheesy or cliched and the connection between the band members is infectious and pulls you in. What I really like is the music is just left field enough to keep things interesting and keep the audience engaged. This isn't "pub rock" there is a depth to the music and if Curlys Jewels keep pushing the boundaries they will continue to stand out. 

I saw Armed in Advance a few months back and I am already sold on this band as JP is a riff monster. If Phil from Shihad had a son with Brody Dalle (Josh Homme would be pissed off) then that child would be JP. The sound these guys create is huge and JP is backed by one of the best rhythm sections in NZ right now. Solid, tight and full of energy. The set was similar to the last time I saw them but I am pleased to say the new tracks I heard are a step forward and still full of energy and monstrous riffs.

The whole night seemed to be over really quickly (unlike a Foo Fighters gig) which is always a good sign. The smoke machine took a well-earned breather and we all exited to the sweet vibes of K Rd on a Saturday night. Ears ringing and a sly smile knowing that NZ music is alive and well. Just like a great night out watching live music should be.
 

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are an original hard rock band from Wellington which formed in 2011.

Off the back of a huge 2017 including the release of their EP The Skin We Shed, which peaked at #11 on the Official NZ Top 40 NZ Album chart, a successful North Island tour, support invitations from Kiwi rock giants Head Like A Hole and Devilskin and a performance at the NZ Tattoo and Art Festival 2017, Curlys Jewels are charging ahead into 2018.

They have just recorded a brand new single at Roundhead Studios in Auckland which will be released shortly. Watch this space!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem