7 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Gig Review: Curlys Jewels @ Backbeat, Auckland - 24/06/17

29 Jun 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
First off I just want to say Backbeat is a great venue, just the right size and always a decent sound. I arrived to catch the last three songs from openers Average Mars Experience as I didn't know they were on the bill. 

I must admit I have always found that there is something missing with a band that only does instrumental songs (I know, I know a singer!) There is no denying the talent in this band, think the Deftones without Chino. A vocalist trying to fit in would have his work cut out and it would be difficult to find one who could add to what is already a great soundscape but if they want to, I think these guys should try to find their Chino. If they do then they could really blow our minds.

Coridian take the stage and I had heard good things about these guys so expectations were high. Immediately the energy levels in the room hit the ceiling and vocalist Dity has a stage presence right from the first note. Apparently, he was recovering from man-flu but no one noticed and this was a polished performance. Musically there are some obvious influences but unlike many bands, Coridian manage to create their own sound and vibe. Defo a band to put on your "must see live" list.

As this was Curlys Jewels first Auckland gig they handed headline duties over to local boys Armed in Advance and entered the stage all smiles. It is clear they are here to enjoy themselves and the crowd responds in kind. Janelle is a great singer who can engage the crowd from a first glance, smile, and her passion for the music is clear. Having heard their EP a few weeks back it was great to see the songs are enhanced when played live. The banter between songs is never cheesy or cliched and the connection between the band members is infectious and pulls you in. What I really like is the music is just left field enough to keep things interesting and keep the audience engaged. This isn't "pub rock" there is a depth to the music and if Curlys Jewels keep pushing the boundaries they will continue to stand out. 

I saw Armed in Advance a few months back and I am already sold on this band as JP is a riff monster. If Phil from Shihad had a son with Brody Dalle (Josh Homme would be pissed off) then that child would be JP. The sound these guys create is huge and JP is backed by one of the best rhythm sections in NZ right now. Solid, tight and full of energy. The set was similar to the last time I saw them but I am pleased to say the new tracks I heard are a step forward and still full of energy and monstrous riffs.

The whole night seemed to be over really quickly (unlike a Foo Fighters gig) which is always a good sign. The smoke machine took a well-earned breather and we all exited to the sweet vibes of K Rd on a Saturday night. Ears ringing and a sly smile knowing that NZ music is alive and well. Just like a great night out watching live music should be.
 

About Curlys Jewels

Wellington band Curlys Jewels had a huge 2018 including 4 sold out shows on tour with rock legends The Feelers (NZ) and support slot with international rock stars Living Colour (USA), Curlys Jewels have been recording at Roundhead Studios with the legendary producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, The Feelers, OpShop), and mixed by the 2017 NZ Music award winning producer Clint Murphy (Devilskin). The bands tracks capture the tight grooves, solid riffs and soaring vocals that Curlys Jewels are known for. New music out very soon!

“Great tunes. Rockin’ band! Killer vocalist” (Vernon Reid, Living Colour)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem