16 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Gig Review: Curlys Jewels @ Backbeat, Auckland - 24/06/17

29 Jun 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
First off I just want to say Backbeat is a great venue, just the right size and always a decent sound. I arrived to catch the last three songs from openers Average Mars Experience as I didn't know they were on the bill. 

I must admit I have always found that there is something missing with a band that only does instrumental songs (I know, I know a singer!) There is no denying the talent in this band, think the Deftones without Chino. A vocalist trying to fit in would have his work cut out and it would be difficult to find one who could add to what is already a great soundscape but if they want to, I think these guys should try to find their Chino. If they do then they could really blow our minds.

Coridian take the stage and I had heard good things about these guys so expectations were high. Immediately the energy levels in the room hit the ceiling and vocalist Dity has a stage presence right from the first note. Apparently, he was recovering from man-flu but no one noticed and this was a polished performance. Musically there are some obvious influences but unlike many bands, Coridian manage to create their own sound and vibe. Defo a band to put on your "must see live" list.

As this was Curlys Jewels first Auckland gig they handed headline duties over to local boys Armed in Advance and entered the stage all smiles. It is clear they are here to enjoy themselves and the crowd responds in kind. Janelle is a great singer who can engage the crowd from a first glance, smile, and her passion for the music is clear. Having heard their EP a few weeks back it was great to see the songs are enhanced when played live. The banter between songs is never cheesy or cliched and the connection between the band members is infectious and pulls you in. What I really like is the music is just left field enough to keep things interesting and keep the audience engaged. This isn't "pub rock" there is a depth to the music and if Curlys Jewels keep pushing the boundaries they will continue to stand out. 

I saw Armed in Advance a few months back and I am already sold on this band as JP is a riff monster. If Phil from Shihad had a son with Brody Dalle (Josh Homme would be pissed off) then that child would be JP. The sound these guys create is huge and JP is backed by one of the best rhythm sections in NZ right now. Solid, tight and full of energy. The set was similar to the last time I saw them but I am pleased to say the new tracks I heard are a step forward and still full of energy and monstrous riffs.

The whole night seemed to be over really quickly (unlike a Foo Fighters gig) which is always a good sign. The smoke machine took a well-earned breather and we all exited to the sweet vibes of K Rd on a Saturday night. Ears ringing and a sly smile knowing that NZ music is alive and well. Just like a great night out watching live music should be.
 

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are an original hard rock band from Wellington which formed in 2011.

Off the back of a huge 2017 including the release of their EP The Skin We Shed, which peaked at #11 on the Official NZ Top 40 NZ Album chart, a successful North Island tour, support invitations from Kiwi rock giants Head Like A Hole and Devilskin and a performance at the NZ Tattoo and Art Festival 2017, Curlys Jewels are charging ahead into 2018.

They have just recorded a brand new single at Roundhead Studios in Auckland which will be released shortly. Watch this space!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem