23 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Gig Review: Curlys Jewels @ Backbeat, Auckland - 24/06/17

29 Jun 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
First off I just want to say Backbeat is a great venue, just the right size and always a decent sound. I arrived to catch the last three songs from openers Average Mars Experience as I didn't know they were on the bill. 

I must admit I have always found that there is something missing with a band that only does instrumental songs (I know, I know a singer!) There is no denying the talent in this band, think the Deftones without Chino. A vocalist trying to fit in would have his work cut out and it would be difficult to find one who could add to what is already a great soundscape but if they want to, I think these guys should try to find their Chino. If they do then they could really blow our minds.

Coridian take the stage and I had heard good things about these guys so expectations were high. Immediately the energy levels in the room hit the ceiling and vocalist Dity has a stage presence right from the first note. Apparently, he was recovering from man-flu but no one noticed and this was a polished performance. Musically there are some obvious influences but unlike many bands, Coridian manage to create their own sound and vibe. Defo a band to put on your "must see live" list.

As this was Curlys Jewels first Auckland gig they handed headline duties over to local boys Armed in Advance and entered the stage all smiles. It is clear they are here to enjoy themselves and the crowd responds in kind. Janelle is a great singer who can engage the crowd from a first glance, smile, and her passion for the music is clear. Having heard their EP a few weeks back it was great to see the songs are enhanced when played live. The banter between songs is never cheesy or cliched and the connection between the band members is infectious and pulls you in. What I really like is the music is just left field enough to keep things interesting and keep the audience engaged. This isn't "pub rock" there is a depth to the music and if Curlys Jewels keep pushing the boundaries they will continue to stand out. 

I saw Armed in Advance a few months back and I am already sold on this band as JP is a riff monster. If Phil from Shihad had a son with Brody Dalle (Josh Homme would be pissed off) then that child would be JP. The sound these guys create is huge and JP is backed by one of the best rhythm sections in NZ right now. Solid, tight and full of energy. The set was similar to the last time I saw them but I am pleased to say the new tracks I heard are a step forward and still full of energy and monstrous riffs.

The whole night seemed to be over really quickly (unlike a Foo Fighters gig) which is always a good sign. The smoke machine took a well-earned breather and we all exited to the sweet vibes of K Rd on a Saturday night. Ears ringing and a sly smile knowing that NZ music is alive and well. Just like a great night out watching live music should be.
 

About Curlys Jewels

Wellington band Curlys Jewels had a huge 2018 including 4 sold out shows on tour with rock legends The Feelers (NZ) and support slot with international rock stars Living Colour (USA), Curlys Jewels have been recording at Roundhead Studios with the legendary producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, The Feelers, OpShop), and mixed by the 2017 NZ Music award winning producer Clint Murphy (Devilskin). The bands tracks capture the tight grooves, solid riffs and soaring vocals that Curlys Jewels are known for. New music out very soon!

“Great tunes. Rockin’ band! Killer vocalist” (Vernon Reid, Living Colour)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem