21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Yasamin - Album Review: L.O.N.D.O.N

24 Jun 2017 // A review by rebelsoundradio

A full disclaimer before we get started on this review; I’m not a huge pop connoisseur... there have been a few Katy Perry-esk songs that have snuck their way onto some of my Spotify playlists but for the main part my musical pyramid is built on a rock base. Pun for good measure.

L.O.N.D.O.N by Yasamin is a solid, polished effort which flows effortlessly and flawlessly from song to song. It has a playful aesthetic and a light-hearted bounce to the tempo, venturing between pop, easy listening and folk. It’s always refreshing to hear real instruments on pop recordings and the production here is at a very high standard overall.

At times I feel the instrumentation needs more dynamics, an example of this is the song Signs. In my opinion, this song would be a real standout if the instrumentation had more weight in the chorus sections of the song. That said, it is still a well written and well-performed track.

Yasamin has a soothing, pleasant vocal delivery but there are moments in some songs where I wish the vocals would soar and have a bit more bite. I am left waiting for a powerful, catchy vocal hook but the song seems to keep on moving regardless of what I want. I could put it down to the fact that I am conditioned to a certain style of music and Yasamin exists slightly outside of that format. There is nothing at all wrong with doing things differently and defying standardized expectations and I definitely did not get a sense of predictability as I made my way from track to track.             

To summarise, L.O.N.D.O.N is a great album. It’s not a cookie cutter, paint by numbers affair and shows some real honesty and craft. There are some well-penned lyrics and the whole package works. I am looking forward to seeing what is next for Yasamin and which direction she heads in.

A Jessie James Review

 

About Yasamin

Yasamin is a Aotearoa-based 'artivist', musician and songwriter who is incredibly dedicated to using her artistic voice to draw attention to what is happening in her birthplace of Baghdad, and to her people every day. Her album is due for release later in the year, with further singles to come.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Yasamin

Releases

L.O.N.D.O.N
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By rebelsoundradio

Carnivorous Plant Society - Album Review: The New King
03 Apr 2018 // by rebelsoundradio
Sometimes a name just grabs you and demands that you explore it a little bit further. Carnivorous Plant Society is a not just a good name, it’s a damn good name.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single Review: Epilogue
03 Oct 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Let’s address the elephant in the room straight away. It’s proclaimed on a daily basis that New Zealand has no new “decent” rock music.
Read More...
Arrays - EP Review: Motives
25 Aug 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Well, the old adage goes “if you want something done right, do it yourself”. It’s a shame that no one expanded on this and added: “It’s at least ten times better when you do it with heavy riffs”.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Take the Fall
06 Jan 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Take the Fall is the third single from Hamilton Rocker's Medusa Glare and it takes me straight to a riff soaked, crunchy, grooving happy place. It’s a slice of pure classic rock sprinkled with funk and lashings of (dare I say it) soul.
Read More...
The Recently Deceived @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton - 3/12/16
06 Dec 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
The Recently Deceived – EP Launch @ Nivara Lounge Hamilton. Reviewed by “is this year still going??
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Blind Faith
07 Nov 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Coridian are a high energy, solid original act from Auckland that blend together a vast array of modern rock. Having played with them several times previously it was a pleasure to be able to sit down and work my way through this review of their latest offering – Blind Faith.
Read More...
Armed In Advance - Album Review: Change/Evolve
07 Oct 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Fresh off the Soundcloud link that has been emailed to me is the debut album Change/Evolve by Auckland three-piece Armed In Advance. I have been waiting for a hard rock album to sink my teeth into and AIA have provided 10 tracks of sonic goodness.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - EP Review: No More Time
24 May 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Despite the problematic division of labour, word on the street is that two pieces are a thing again. If this trend continues I foresee the next big thing being a union to represent the great masses of displaced musicians roaming the wilderness like a pack of bloodthirsty hyenas.
Read More...
View All Articles By rebelsoundradio

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem