22 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Skinny Hobos - Single/Video Review: Suburban Living

24 Jun 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
I have never had much time for religion. You know, if you believe in God then by the same logic you might believe in Santa Clause or Fairies. However, there is a movement, I wouldn't call it a cult but from it's central Auckland base the word is spreading and I think I just may have been converted to Hoboism.

To have followers you need to be a leader and the Skinny Hobos have two. The guitar-wielding hairy beast that is Elvis and the equally hairy tub-thumping beast that is Texas. They may even have a little royal blood running through their veins to elevate them above the crowd.

Texas and Elvis have been sonically spreading their message across NZ converting the disenfranchised, the lost and hopeful and the latest Skinny Hobos offering, Suburban Living is the third chapter in a video/song series that sees us all bowing down to the mighty lizard kings.

The guys are still chasing "the man" but this time they aren't f**king around. This rocket fueled slab of riffs and speeding drums blasts out of the gates full pelt and takes no prisoners. The sound is full on and cannot be ignored. It is the best they have done, they have stolen from the Merchant of Tirau and laughed at the Jokers and Fools along the way. If you do not want to move to Suburban Living then you are already dead.

In suburban New Zealand, the enemy is hiding behind masks and Elvis is in the building preaching, "you gotta take your pills if you wanna get your thrills". Texas and Elvis punch above their weight and with a song like this in their arsenal they can't lose. It's war played out in a field of acid dreams and there are lots of casualties.

I can't wait for Texas and Elvis chapter 4, verse 1.
 

About Skinny Hobos

Skinny Hobos are a 2-piece Alternative Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand who make far more noise than any two people should!

The Hobos have quickly earned a reputation for being the hardest working band in town. In 2015, they played more shows than there were weeks in the year, as well as recording their debut album at Neil Finn’s Roundhead Studios with engineer Nick Poortman (Ekko Park, Jason Kerrison).

They finished off the year with a very successful co-headlined North Island tour with Wellington band Bakers Eddy, and they were also featured in the December/January issue of NZ Musician Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skinny Hobos

Releases

Skinny Hobos
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem