25 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Sean Bodley - Album Review: Genesis

23 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I am not a Musician, I photograph them, I write about them and I have a heap of Friends who are them, however I know what I know and I know what I like and I have 40 plus years of music listening experience so I am aware when something good drops into my inbox (or in my case from time to time a magical letterbox which seems to conjure up lovely shiny new CD's containing even lovelier shiner brand new music). I really am pretty darn lucky to have this enchanted receptacle of musical goodies at our front gate.

When Genesis showed up, from the very first chord, I knew it was something special. I am not just saying that to be all sweet pink fluffy unicorns, oh no I am saying it because it is the truth.

Did I mention the entire album of ten tracks is instrumental? Not a lyric uttered. This is indeed some powerful guitar playing, so let’s get on with the show and I will take you on a journey through Sean Bodley’s Genesis to the best of my humble, non-guitar playing ability.

The best thing about receiving a physical CD is I can pour over the cover and the inlay and read all that fine print. So after I had a good look at the cover, which is very smart and super cool, a 3D effect of shattered glass or stone, or maybe on closer inspection a metal alien type creature?, I don’t know, but it is cool. I open up the case to which I see a wee inlay, I peer inside and who should be there playing Bass on this album but my mate Ian. Again. Ian Clark when do you sleep? Other supporting artists on this album are local legends, Jed Dawkins on drums, Tim Julian on organ and piano plus synth bass on track 5 and Graham Clark on harmonica.

This album is written and produced by Sean, including synth programming. Also a member of The Eternal Sea, It seems he has been around a while producing quality albums and tutoring the next generation of Satriani’s, Vai’s and Petrucci’s.

The opening track Quantum does have a rather large synth presence, but once you hear Sean start playing it doesn’t seem to matter. I played track one over and over again solidly for one week, this track seeped into my soul for some reason and it doesn't even have lyrics. The whole album in my eyes is a Joe Satriani inspired masterpiece. Note I said inspired, Bodley infuses his own sound into each of the ten tracks.

This is an album with twists and turns, it starts out with a soulful vibe and continues along that path but starts gaining momentum and sounding raunchier on track two Absolution. Sean is just heating up. 7Even 8ight 9ine (clever) really speeds things up and warms up your senses ready for See You Soon. You may be forgiven thinking track 5 Cyber Villain is a dance track when it starts out, but no, past the bass and synth is some mean shredding, when it all collides it is magic. Onto Cheyenne which is a heavier track and leads nicely into Frozen. Tracks eight Here Comes Trouble and nine In From the Cold start to mellow things out slightly, combining all elements in a final climax of Abandon Earth.

I should have taken more notice of my guitar playing siblings when they used to enthusiastically discus these guitar Gods called Satriani and Vai all those years ago. And maybe just maybe I should have turned down my eighties dance music and taken a bit more notice of what they were hearing. I hear it now.

The above mentioned supreme musical beings are clearly an influence on this album, but Sean has incorporated that into his own unique sound and  pulls it off with excellent execution and exceptional professionalism. Ten tracks of slick engineering from all involved.

I am not going to say there are tight riffs and clean breaks or that he is fast and loose on the axe, or that it is progressive. I will leave the terminology up to those in the know. But I will say it is bloody good.

Tauranga is bursting at the seams with talented musicians, or as a wise man said (ok Winston Watusi) “Once again I find myself blown away by music coming out of Tauranga”.  I am going to steal and echo that statement, but include it to embrace the whole of New Zealand. Because it is and I am.

 

About Sean Bodley

Solo instrumental guitarist, previous albums include:

Sean Bodley (1999)
Acoustic Soundscapes (2014)
Balance (2014)

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sean Bodley

Releases

Genesis
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Pitch Black
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Acoustic Soundscapes
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Balance
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Sean Bodley
Year: 1999
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem