25 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Gold Medal Famous - Album Review: Activity

19 Jun 2017 // A review by Peter-James Dries

There was this gig in Palmy once. Well there have been a few, but the one I mean was Gold Medal Famous and Mucus Kids. It was last year I think. I had planned to go but life got in the way. That and crippling social anxiety.

A friend went, well someone who I’d got talking to after they saw the Rob Thorne album on my desk, which I was reviewing at the time. They highly recommended Gold Medal Famous, but I was going through a dark patch, my office at the time being a porticom, and my job being selling parking to Hospital patients and staff alike. I was more drawn to the chaos of Mucus Kids.

Maybe I should have listened to them; this friend and Gold Medal Famous. Then perhaps it wouldn’t have been such a shock when I listened to their new album, Activity.

I only say shock because considering the recommender, I imagined the recommendees to be more… Hipster, which is to say folk, with accordions and the like. Well... they are pretty Hipster, in a way. But in my minds eye I wasn’t expecting a song from a tortured electric typewriter, layered with an unpunctuated list of mundane actions. Wait… Did she just say “throw a cactus”?

Where do consoles go when they die? Do rotting Ataris dream of electric sheeple? Is there a circle of hell reserved for corrupted Super Nintendos? I can’t promise Gold Medal Famous can answer any of those questions, but Activity is the perfect soundtrack to such absurdist musings that arise on an early morning trek from Brooklyn to the Hospital.

I’ve spoken before about my misinterpretation of Industrial being music made with machinery. Activity is like my interpretation of Industrial at a software level. I refrain from using Nerd-Pop, despite it being an apt description, because that term holds connotations and references in my mind to the Nerd-Hop segues in that 80’s film series Revenge of the Nerds.

Maybe it’s better to refer to this style of harnessed chaos as Dork-pop, and I mean that in the most affectionate of ways. Like “omg. You made a song about buying a house!? You’re such a dork, Tiffany! lol”

It’s Retro-Futurism viewed through the lens of a 28.8k modem. Esoteric, sure, but also so so accessible, and so catchy. Doomed to never be a homeowner myself, I find We Bought A House on repeat in my head. My fingers tapping to the beat of electronic decay waltz, Valse des Grumeaux.

It’s not enjoyable as music in any traditional sense, but there’s something about this album that does it for me. Maybe because I listened to MIDI in my teens, because my computer couldn’t handle MP3s. Maybe because Chip Tunes were a thing in my mid-twenties peer group for a while. Maybe because even the cool kids are dorks sometimes, reformed Goths like myself even more so. Our partners probably thought we were dorks rocking out to the sounds of the Sega Master System on the car stereo, circling the Palmy Square like all the cool kids do.

My first exposure to this kind of archaic electronica was on the family Commodore 64, which we still used when everyone else had a Pentium II. We had this collection of 5¼ Floppies, those big ones that were actually floppy, unlike the 3½s. Among the classics, like California Games and Dynasty Warriors, there was this disk which had the sole purpose of loading for 10 minutes then playing the Beverley Hills Cop theme, Axel F, made famous in living memory by being the Crazy Frog song. That was my jam. Axel F, never Crazy Frog.

In later years I came across Disasteradio on a CD of underground locals, “borrowed” from a flatmate. Then finally, in the last quarter-decade I casually partook in the 8-bit neolution of the late-YouTube era, jamming to 8-bit remixes of Tool and laughing at clips from movies.

Activity is Avant-Garde, which by nature is different and unusual, definitely a niche market, and to be taken with an open mind and a grain of salt. Maybe that’s the attraction for me. It’s something different and the unusual. Despite my initial shock, I find myself drawn to this album and enjoy it in the same way I enjoy David Firth’s Salad Fingers, or Don’t Hug Me I’m Scared, or Teddy has an Operation. With curiosity, misattributed to me being “weird” or “creepy”

Perturbed by my musings and memories, my rumination and reminiscing? To offer my TL;DR, or equivalent acronym, to appease your diminished of attention span, and offset my characteristic lack of direction and point, Gold Medal Famous’ Activity is unique piece, a counterpoint to and parotic reflection of the vapid mainstream and enjoyable as a piece of anti-pop. A weird and wonderful, yet welcome distraction from the clickity-clack of mechanical keyboards that resonate around this quiet office or anything on the Edge TV.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a back-catalogue to peruse.

 

About Gold Medal Famous

Gold Medal Famous is a three-piece genre fluid electropop act founded in Wellington in 2008. Known for their captivating live performances, complete with intense audience interaction and comedic stunts, you might love or hate them, but you won’t forget what you’ve seen.

Signed to Auckland indie label Powertool Records, Gold Medal Famous will be releasing their sixth album Activity on May 27 2017.

Gold Medal Famous are prolific recorders with 28 releases available on their own Bandcamp page in addition to their releases on Powertool.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gold Medal Famous

Releases

Five Track
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Activity
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem