17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sub Dude - Album Review: Sister Something

13 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Any background detective work I did on Sub Dude came up with nothing, I know they are from Christchurch, but that is all I could find, even the band's Facebook page gives them an aura of aloofness and mystery. The music video I was given to watch did not help, it featured rather young men playing in a backyard band, OK was this them? Hmmm perhaps not or maybe old footage?? And things got more confusing when I moved my research onto Wurld Series, also a band from Christchurch with someone called Adam who could be member of both bands. I found the common link, Yes indeed it seems Adam pops up in both bands however Wurld Series has an online presence and seems to have a bit of a name in the Christchurch music scene.

Damn this band, their cloak of invisibility meant that I had to really dig deep to get any dirt on them, I wasn’t even given a line or a hash tag to link me to what music genre they are or who they identify with, so my work is really cut out for me here, no sign of lyrics, quotes or sayings and no photographic evidence to speak of. They have been sighted playing at the Darkroom in Christchurch not long ago, so I know they are out there.

Someone tell the Google, it is neither Subdued nor Th' Dudes.

None of this helped me identify the elusive Sub Dude, but the random art work and a glimpse into the strange backyard music videos they post on their Facebook page lead me to believe they are creative, and maybe crazy (and clever, some of those random works of art are in fact morphing into images of the band). Creatively crazy (and clever) band from Christchurch.  Perhaps I am onto something. Now let’s move on to the music.

I am pretty sure the album is called Sister Something.
 

These Dudes (cough cough), have come up with a pretty impressive 10 tracks, this is not a single or an EP but a whole album. It has that Cantabrian underground sound about it and I am going to say it’s dirty and needs a bit of polish, but it also has charming bits. I will call it alternative rock / grunge / indie rock, but perhaps it's best you make up your own minds.

This may not be my cup of tea, but this album does have some enduring tracks scattered throughout it, such as AH’s 144th Dream with loads of lovely distortion to make your brain hurt, or the unforgettable Slug Woman (I can’t elaborate on this song, it could be the reason the band is undercover or in hiding…) and the jarring instrumental cop out of Hey Bro. The last track Something Out There is nice, calm and soothing in comparison to the rest of the album. Not really.

What a wild ride Sub Dude have taken me on, in my opinion out of the millions of opinions that could be had, this is not music I could sing to, or dance to, but I admire these very brave, creative, elusive individuals to give the world Slug Woman and put it on an album.

Brave and individual is what this album is, and as mysterious as the Canterbury Black Panther.
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem