18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sub Dude - Album Review: Sister Something

13 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Any background detective work I did on Sub Dude came up with nothing, I know they are from Christchurch, but that is all I could find, even the band's Facebook page gives them an aura of aloofness and mystery. The music video I was given to watch did not help, it featured rather young men playing in a backyard band, OK was this them? Hmmm perhaps not or maybe old footage?? And things got more confusing when I moved my research onto Wurld Series, also a band from Christchurch with someone called Adam who could be member of both bands. I found the common link, Yes indeed it seems Adam pops up in both bands however Wurld Series has an online presence and seems to have a bit of a name in the Christchurch music scene.

Damn this band, their cloak of invisibility meant that I had to really dig deep to get any dirt on them, I wasn’t even given a line or a hash tag to link me to what music genre they are or who they identify with, so my work is really cut out for me here, no sign of lyrics, quotes or sayings and no photographic evidence to speak of. They have been sighted playing at the Darkroom in Christchurch not long ago, so I know they are out there.

Someone tell the Google, it is neither Subdued nor Th' Dudes.

None of this helped me identify the elusive Sub Dude, but the random art work and a glimpse into the strange backyard music videos they post on their Facebook page lead me to believe they are creative, and maybe crazy (and clever, some of those random works of art are in fact morphing into images of the band). Creatively crazy (and clever) band from Christchurch.  Perhaps I am onto something. Now let’s move on to the music.

I am pretty sure the album is called Sister Something.
 

These Dudes (cough cough), have come up with a pretty impressive 10 tracks, this is not a single or an EP but a whole album. It has that Cantabrian underground sound about it and I am going to say it’s dirty and needs a bit of polish, but it also has charming bits. I will call it alternative rock / grunge / indie rock, but perhaps it's best you make up your own minds.

This may not be my cup of tea, but this album does have some enduring tracks scattered throughout it, such as AH’s 144th Dream with loads of lovely distortion to make your brain hurt, or the unforgettable Slug Woman (I can’t elaborate on this song, it could be the reason the band is undercover or in hiding…) and the jarring instrumental cop out of Hey Bro. The last track Something Out There is nice, calm and soothing in comparison to the rest of the album. Not really.

What a wild ride Sub Dude have taken me on, in my opinion out of the millions of opinions that could be had, this is not music I could sing to, or dance to, but I admire these very brave, creative, elusive individuals to give the world Slug Woman and put it on an album.

Brave and individual is what this album is, and as mysterious as the Canterbury Black Panther.
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem