25 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Sub Dude - Album Review: Sister Something

13 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Any background detective work I did on Sub Dude came up with nothing, I know they are from Christchurch, but that is all I could find, even the band's Facebook page gives them an aura of aloofness and mystery. The music video I was given to watch did not help, it featured rather young men playing in a backyard band, OK was this them? Hmmm perhaps not or maybe old footage?? And things got more confusing when I moved my research onto Wurld Series, also a band from Christchurch with someone called Adam who could be member of both bands. I found the common link, Yes indeed it seems Adam pops up in both bands however Wurld Series has an online presence and seems to have a bit of a name in the Christchurch music scene.

Damn this band, their cloak of invisibility meant that I had to really dig deep to get any dirt on them, I wasn’t even given a line or a hash tag to link me to what music genre they are or who they identify with, so my work is really cut out for me here, no sign of lyrics, quotes or sayings and no photographic evidence to speak of. They have been sighted playing at the Darkroom in Christchurch not long ago, so I know they are out there.

Someone tell the Google, it is neither Subdued nor Th' Dudes.

None of this helped me identify the elusive Sub Dude, but the random art work and a glimpse into the strange backyard music videos they post on their Facebook page lead me to believe they are creative, and maybe crazy (and clever, some of those random works of art are in fact morphing into images of the band). Creatively crazy (and clever) band from Christchurch.  Perhaps I am onto something. Now let’s move on to the music.

I am pretty sure the album is called Sister Something.
 

These Dudes (cough cough), have come up with a pretty impressive 10 tracks, this is not a single or an EP but a whole album. It has that Cantabrian underground sound about it and I am going to say it’s dirty and needs a bit of polish, but it also has charming bits. I will call it alternative rock / grunge / indie rock, but perhaps it's best you make up your own minds.

This may not be my cup of tea, but this album does have some enduring tracks scattered throughout it, such as AH’s 144th Dream with loads of lovely distortion to make your brain hurt, or the unforgettable Slug Woman (I can’t elaborate on this song, it could be the reason the band is undercover or in hiding…) and the jarring instrumental cop out of Hey Bro. The last track Something Out There is nice, calm and soothing in comparison to the rest of the album. Not really.

What a wild ride Sub Dude have taken me on, in my opinion out of the millions of opinions that could be had, this is not music I could sing to, or dance to, but I admire these very brave, creative, elusive individuals to give the world Slug Woman and put it on an album.

Brave and individual is what this album is, and as mysterious as the Canterbury Black Panther.
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem