15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation

13 Jun 2017 // A review by Terry McIntosh

$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty. Sure there is more hard rock and metal on here than anything but there is something for everybody.

Swampton Creeps open up this Compilation with a track that can only have come from out of the swamp Hell Ain't So Bad which sounds like something straight out of Hicksville. Very cool.

Project: Blood bring their industrial based rock and are a band I really like. If you go back and find the other compilations $lave Collective have released you will find another band Wall of Silents in which the singer Skeletor from Project: Blood also features in and they were one of my favourite Palmy bands of all time next to Wholesale Drainage, Black Chrome and Lung.

Government Pest rock out with their original metal style that goes back into the dark histories of the Palmy metal scene. Murray Shaw is one of the pillars of local music and this band is one of his many projects he has been involved with throughout the years.

Theirs a little gem in the form of a Daniel Ashcroft track. Daniel is someone who is leading the charge of some of the new talent and is a machine playing in multiple bands as well as solo work. He features in several of the tracks on here including the Cephalopod one. Many of the people that feature in this collection are in several bands and so it is pretty cool to see some of the different spectrums that they cover.

Deadset and Force Fed Fist are probably one of the highlights for me as they are the newer of the metal bands on their and that’s the genre I like the most but there is so much great music on here I could be go on forever.

As one band falls apart from its ashes another arises. Palmy certainly has some talented musicians and this is a great place to get a taste. $lave Collective is at the forefront and has done so much for the local scene it can’t be put into words but thanks to them listeners get the chance to hear some of the finest music on the planet.

 

Other Reviews By Terry McIntosh

Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and His Motley Crew - Single Review: The Little Things
25 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I first came across Captain Festus McBoyle when he appeared on a television show performing a track Cheeky Little Monkey. Having enjoyed that track immensely, I had a little hunt and came across many other tracks from this hugely talented man.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
Album Review: Daniel Ashcroft
10 May 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
6 EPs of varying style combined as a double album. Daniel Ashcroft is a very talented man and this is not his first release but it is as a solo artist where he truly shines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Terry McIntosh

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem