17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation

13 Jun 2017 // A review by terry666

$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty. Sure there is more hard rock and metal on here than anything but there is something for everybody.

Swampton Creeps open up this Compilation with a track that can only have come from out of the swamp Hell Ain't So Bad which sounds like something straight out of Hicksville. Very cool.

Project: Blood bring their industrial based rock and are a band I really like. If you go back and find the other compilations $lave Collective have released you will find another band Wall of Silents in which the singer Skeletor from Project: Blood also features in and they were one of my favourite Palmy bands of all time next to Wholesale Drainage, Black Chrome and Lung.

Government Pest rock out with their original metal style that goes back into the dark histories of the Palmy metal scene. Murray Shaw is one of the pillars of local music and this band is one of his many projects he has been involved with throughout the years.

Theirs a little gem in the form of a Daniel Ashcroft track. Daniel is someone who is leading the charge of some of the new talent and is a machine playing in multiple bands as well as solo work. He features in several of the tracks on here including the Cephalopod one. Many of the people that feature in this collection are in several bands and so it is pretty cool to see some of the different spectrums that they cover.

Deadset and Force Fed Fist are probably one of the highlights for me as they are the newer of the metal bands on their and that’s the genre I like the most but there is so much great music on here I could be go on forever.

As one band falls apart from its ashes another arises. Palmy certainly has some talented musicians and this is a great place to get a taste. $lave Collective is at the forefront and has done so much for the local scene it can’t be put into words but thanks to them listeners get the chance to hear some of the finest music on the planet.

 

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and His Motley Crew - Single Review: The Little Things
25 Aug 2018 // by terry666
I first came across Captain Festus McBoyle when he appeared on a television show performing a track Cheeky Little Monkey. Having enjoyed that track immensely, I had a little hunt and came across many other tracks from this hugely talented man.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem