19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Master Blaster - EP Review: Pass Out

11 Jun 2017 // A review by Matt McGrath

Released June 16th 2017

Yesterday I knew nothing of Auckland hardcore punks, Master Blaster except for the fact that they probably run Barter Town just like in Mad Max's Beyond Thunder Dome. Being a massive fan of the Mad Max films and heavy music, I was keen to take a look at their brand new E.P Pass Out and I snapped up the chance to have a sneak peak at it!

Straight into it, To All My Friends exploded as I pressed play. Hard and fast with a belting guitar tone that makes The Bleeders seem like blouses. Short and sharp at just under a minute and a half, yet staunch and strong. Everything a Blink 182 fan would hate.

Shredding up a storm, Lies Power Control is sure to get things moving, with relentless riffs and beer raising chants, this song is a crowd pleaser for sure. Mosh pit friendly and slightly upbeat, this punk rock anthem is razor sharp and unique.

Followed up by an onslaught of yelling and pissed fuck-wittery in Choke Chain, instantly I was hooked, a beer automatically appeared in my hand and it almost felt like I was really there. Before I knew it, I was halfway through the songs as Brainwash smashed through with a short lived frenzy of windmill kicks and curse words.

By now my neighbours were also enjoying the screaming solos and tap and gap drum beats provided by The House in the Middle. As the stereo got louder I could hear more and more of the record and I remembered the virtues of listing to music at a punishing level. Hopefully liberating everyone within ears distance in a form of aural protest.

Last but not least was Black Triangle. Balls to the wall and catchy like a cold this track is sure to start a riot at any venue. Bleeding attitude and spitting glory, kicking and screaming its way out. My personal favourite from this release

Everything is smashed together like an all out brawl whilst maintaining the individual punch of each instrument. The overall production of this record is brilliant! I can't wait to witness this stuff live. A party starter in its own right, Pass Out is a reviving glimpse into the future of NZ Punk and Hardcore.

Matt Mutinous -5 Stars

Spotify Link

 

About Master Blaster

Releases

Pass Out
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Matt McGrath

Stress - EP Review - Misery Fatigue
02 Dec 2018 // by Matt McGrath
A new addition to the scene, Wellington-based hardcore noise outfit Stress are about to launch their career with their debut release Misery Fatigue. Interested in what exactly that entailed, I was stoked to get a chance to have a sneak peek at this highly anticipated Kiwi band.
Read More...
Album Review - Shepherds Reign
15 Oct 2018 // by Matt McGrath
New Zealand is world renown for Polynesian musicians, groups like Deceptikonz, Nesian Mystik and Aaradhna are some of the first to come to mind. So, it was surprising to hear of a band breaking the mould and coming straight outta South Auckland into the Kiwi Metal scene.
Read More...
Heavy Blarney - Album Review - Bog to Swamp
08 May 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Released - 18th May 2018 When I first saw the title Bog to Swamp my imagination could only assume what kind of music was to follow. The second album from Palmerston North Celtic rockers, Heavy Blarney had grabbed my attention from the get-go and I was keen to find out just how this band sounded with such a unique blend of music styles, rarely attempted these days.
Read More...
Depths - Album Review: Endless
10 Mar 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Release Date: April 13th, 2018 Picked up by Deadboy Records in late 2011, Depths have hit the ground running, adding a new angle to the New Zealand Metal scene and bringing a fresh sound to the table. Presumably named after the album from US deathcore band, Oceano, Depths has managed to draw an international style of death metal from the comforts of Palmerston North.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cattle Decapitation @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 8/02/2018
21 Feb 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Thursday nights are always a good night to go out if you live in Auckland, with most international acts 'fitting us in' on their Australian tour nowadays, even a show this close to the weekend is a blessing. San Diego death metal giants, Cattle Decapitation had shown up to the iconic Kings Arms and the line to the was stretched out into the street.
Read More...
EP Review: Rise of Destructatron
15 Feb 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Countdown... to...
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Yot Club, Raglan - 06/01/2018
08 Jan 2018 // by Matt McGrath
The sun finally decided to make an appearance over Raglan on Saturday afternoon, following two days of chaos weather and king tides that flooded most of the country. Tourists returned with the warmth as the campground began to fill up, the sun slipped below the horizon almost as quickly as it appeared.
Read More...
Starving Millions - EP Review: V
02 Sep 2017 // by Matt McGrath
Good punk in this country has always been few and far between. Ducking in and out of the spotlight, the well-known acts of the New Zealand scene have been the ones that have powered on.
Read More...
View All Articles By Matt McGrath

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem