20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Killing Bear - Single Review: Centipede

08 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Killing Bear, the experimental rock / alternative rock / cool music 4 piece band from the small seaside community of Pukerua Bay is once again thrilling us with conscious – expanding, mind bending lyrics and sounds “psychedelic futuristic music from the past from another planet”.

This trippy little number is titled Centipede, which could be a creature “from the future in a post-apocalyptic world”, or it could just be a song about a centipede. Killing bear managed to make me feel at one with the Arthropod, this is a happy tune which brought a kaleidoscope of bright, vivid colours to dance before my eyes and indeed had I applied my flawless dance moves to this song, perhaps I wouldn’t have been able to stop tripping over my own feet either.

It all makes sense when you are a centipede from Mars, I think.

The vocals on this single actually sound a bit like Jim Morrison and with the far out poetic lyrics to back it then perhaps it was, “because we are living in a parallel future to the one in which it happened”. It’s almost hard to describe, you would have to listen to it for yourself, happy, upbeat, and original, incredibly creative and slightly strange, I need to shake the hands of the person who wrote these hallucinatory words. It is sheer freaky brilliance!.

So if the aim of Killing Bear is to encourage you to party hard, then the Centipede song should help you on your way without the need of any mind altering substances.

Way down the end of the line, attempts to make you into a new design, force the pieces to fit and align, with absent instructions there are too many pieces, I can’t stop tripping over my own feet.”

 

About Killing Bear

In the far distant future a mystical tribe on Mars use their psychic powers to travel back in time. They possessed the minds of a band of musicians with the aim to utilise their partytastic powers to correct the undoings of the past.

Armed with nothing but drums, synths and amplified guitars the band was then able to transcend the barriers of space-time. With the power of music they travelled back a millennia and stopped a devastating event in our history. This event now never occurred because we are living in a parallel future to the one in which it happened. Now in 2016 the next catastrophic event is just around the corner and we need you to party hard to help stop it from ever happening.

Killing Bear! Psychedelic futuristic music from the past from another planet.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Killing Bear

Releases

Mysterium Tremendum
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Killing Bear
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Vine Of Souls
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Rebirth
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Wild Beasts
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem