16 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Barker - Album Review: Sleepwalking

04 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I am going to get this out of the way from the start, if you type Johnny Barker's name into Google, it will almost likely be linked to “Joey Henderson the Ferndale strangler" or “formally the Ferndale strangler” (let me make this perfectly clear, this is Barker's character he played on Shortland Street from 2007-08, not actually him).

Director of film and TV (including currently Jono and Ben), winner of 2 48 hour short film festivals and actor, did I mention the man of many creative talents from Auckland is also a musician? A darn fine musical artist at that. I enjoyed my Shorty years of viewing Joey the serial killer, but I prefer to have Johnny the musician in my life.

Barker’s debut, full length psychedelic, folk rock album titled Sleepwalking is pretty trippy and almost futuristic; I guess this is where the Sci-Fi feel of the lyrics works in effortlessly with the sound he has been striving towards for many years.

“If red wine had a sound, this is what it’d sound like, because I drank a lot of red wine while making it”. I must admit, I was super excited to find out what red wine sounded like! Is it a full bodied merlot or an herbaceous cab sav?, I was about to find out. Let’s start Sleepwalking.

When you launch into the first track Ceasefire, it has an almost erratic sound, which if I could describe the feeling it gave me would be like a ride on a roller coaster, up and down and around corners at a great speed, then a slow climb before falling again. This is not a bad thing, it may mean that it takes a wee bit of getting used too but after a few rides you don’t want to get off, you are hooked.

It mellows out slightly with Haunted House, I really fancied this one, it became a track which would make its self at home in my mind and refuse to vacate the premises.

To Quote Barker “I decided early on, to write songs as if they were short film scripts”, this has been cleverly demonstrated in tracks 1-8 (with the exception of Dreaming with Fishes, which is instrumental). There is a moody feel of Neo-Noir, twisting its way through the album, incorporating the futuristic, multi-layered Psychedelic sound with very interesting lyrics. Barker has superbly integrated his ability to tell a story with song writing.

Did I figure out what red wine sounded like? Attractive with a chocolate bouquet but fruity finish. Complex yet easy to drink, the more you drink the more you want, kind of addictive and yummy. I recommend you try it.

All songs are performed by Barker with the exception of Spinning Numbers. This album has been four years in the making, self-recorded in France, Avondale and Pt Chevalier and mixed by Simon Gooding. (The Map Room).

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Barker.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem