25 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Barker - Album Review: Sleepwalking

04 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I am going to get this out of the way from the start, if you type Johnny Barker's name into Google, it will almost likely be linked to “Joey Henderson the Ferndale strangler" or “formally the Ferndale strangler” (let me make this perfectly clear, this is Barker's character he played on Shortland Street from 2007-08, not actually him).

Director of film and TV (including currently Jono and Ben), winner of 2 48 hour short film festivals and actor, did I mention the man of many creative talents from Auckland is also a musician? A darn fine musical artist at that. I enjoyed my Shorty years of viewing Joey the serial killer, but I prefer to have Johnny the musician in my life.

Barker’s debut, full length psychedelic, folk rock album titled Sleepwalking is pretty trippy and almost futuristic; I guess this is where the Sci-Fi feel of the lyrics works in effortlessly with the sound he has been striving towards for many years.

“If red wine had a sound, this is what it’d sound like, because I drank a lot of red wine while making it”. I must admit, I was super excited to find out what red wine sounded like! Is it a full bodied merlot or an herbaceous cab sav?, I was about to find out. Let’s start Sleepwalking.

When you launch into the first track Ceasefire, it has an almost erratic sound, which if I could describe the feeling it gave me would be like a ride on a roller coaster, up and down and around corners at a great speed, then a slow climb before falling again. This is not a bad thing, it may mean that it takes a wee bit of getting used too but after a few rides you don’t want to get off, you are hooked.

It mellows out slightly with Haunted House, I really fancied this one, it became a track which would make its self at home in my mind and refuse to vacate the premises.

To Quote Barker “I decided early on, to write songs as if they were short film scripts”, this has been cleverly demonstrated in tracks 1-8 (with the exception of Dreaming with Fishes, which is instrumental). There is a moody feel of Neo-Noir, twisting its way through the album, incorporating the futuristic, multi-layered Psychedelic sound with very interesting lyrics. Barker has superbly integrated his ability to tell a story with song writing.

Did I figure out what red wine sounded like? Attractive with a chocolate bouquet but fruity finish. Complex yet easy to drink, the more you drink the more you want, kind of addictive and yummy. I recommend you try it.

All songs are performed by Barker with the exception of Spinning Numbers. This album has been four years in the making, self-recorded in France, Avondale and Pt Chevalier and mixed by Simon Gooding. (The Map Room).

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Barker.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem