20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Eternal Sea - Album Review: The Eternal Sea

02 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I am like a magpie when it comes to bright colours and cool graphics, so in the first instance this is what lured me towards The Eternal Sea. Incredible album art that jumps out at you and draws you in. I didn’t know what they sounded like, or who they were up until a few months ago, it just started with that image of what I thought was a Mermaid, (but clearly isn’t when you see in CD insert) which triggered a sequence of events that has led me here.

“In The Kingdom of The Blind, The One Eyed Man is King”

I first found out The Eternal Sea was a local Tauranga band when my mate Ian who plays in another local band or two, popped up as their Bass guitarist, then as these things have a way of turning out I soon became friends with two more members of the band, yet I still had not actually heard a lot of their music, just a few snippets. As fate would have it the chance to photograph them live was delivered to me a couple of weeks ago as part of a four band line-up, let’s just say it was pretty impressive, a few of the band members may have changed since the CD was released two years ago, but the energy is still there. That’s another story. Another review. Then one dark and stormy day, this CD appears in my letter box, and the lady who could have been a mermaid looked up at me.

From the Eternal Sea she rises.

It is pretty obvious from the first track that this is a “rock powerhouse”, who’s influences of Alice In Chains, Tool, and Deftones are pretty evident, there are some powerful vocals coming from Mark Wright; melodic and dramatic which match the intense and sometimes dark lyrics perfectly. He wrote all tracks on this album bar one; number 13 a very clever rendition of Home by the Sea from Genesis. Was it the intention to put this song at number 13? this album is so clever it would not have surprised me. Allusions to prophecy are dotted throughout the album; the words tell stories that intertwine with each other taking you to the depths of despair and back again.

Perhaps I hear the slaying of demons in this album.

The instrumentation is brooding and atmospheric, it seamlessly compliments the vocals. This is extremely creative, well-engineered powerful rock music, 13 tracks, each one nailing the stake and claiming their bit of musical turf.

The album heralds in a formidable presence, washed in by The Eternal Sea.

 

About The Eternal Sea

The Eternal Sea is a four-piece rock powerhouse from Tauranga, who have been compared in style to A Perfect Circle, Tool, Deftones and Alice In Chains.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Eternal Sea

Releases

The Eternal Sea
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem