25 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

The Eternal Sea - Album Review: The Eternal Sea

02 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I am like a magpie when it comes to bright colours and cool graphics, so in the first instance this is what lured me towards The Eternal Sea. Incredible album art that jumps out at you and draws you in. I didn’t know what they sounded like, or who they were up until a few months ago, it just started with that image of what I thought was a Mermaid, (but clearly isn’t when you see in CD insert) which triggered a sequence of events that has led me here.

“In The Kingdom of The Blind, The One Eyed Man is King”

I first found out The Eternal Sea was a local Tauranga band when my mate Ian who plays in another local band or two, popped up as their Bass guitarist, then as these things have a way of turning out I soon became friends with two more members of the band, yet I still had not actually heard a lot of their music, just a few snippets. As fate would have it the chance to photograph them live was delivered to me a couple of weeks ago as part of a four band line-up, let’s just say it was pretty impressive, a few of the band members may have changed since the CD was released two years ago, but the energy is still there. That’s another story. Another review. Then one dark and stormy day, this CD appears in my letter box, and the lady who could have been a mermaid looked up at me.

From the Eternal Sea she rises.

It is pretty obvious from the first track that this is a “rock powerhouse”, who’s influences of Alice In Chains, Tool, and Deftones are pretty evident, there are some powerful vocals coming from Mark Wright; melodic and dramatic which match the intense and sometimes dark lyrics perfectly. He wrote all tracks on this album bar one; number 13 a very clever rendition of Home by the Sea from Genesis. Was it the intention to put this song at number 13? this album is so clever it would not have surprised me. Allusions to prophecy are dotted throughout the album; the words tell stories that intertwine with each other taking you to the depths of despair and back again.

Perhaps I hear the slaying of demons in this album.

The instrumentation is brooding and atmospheric, it seamlessly compliments the vocals. This is extremely creative, well-engineered powerful rock music, 13 tracks, each one nailing the stake and claiming their bit of musical turf.

The album heralds in a formidable presence, washed in by The Eternal Sea.

 

About The Eternal Sea

The Eternal Sea is a four-piece rock powerhouse from Tauranga, who have been compared in style to A Perfect Circle, Tool, Deftones and Alice In Chains.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Eternal Sea

Releases

The Eternal Sea
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem