18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Eternal Sea - Album Review: The Eternal Sea

02 Jun 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I am like a magpie when it comes to bright colours and cool graphics, so in the first instance this is what lured me towards The Eternal Sea. Incredible album art that jumps out at you and draws you in. I didn’t know what they sounded like, or who they were up until a few months ago, it just started with that image of what I thought was a Mermaid, (but clearly isn’t when you see in CD insert) which triggered a sequence of events that has led me here.

“In The Kingdom of The Blind, The One Eyed Man is King”

I first found out The Eternal Sea was a local Tauranga band when my mate Ian who plays in another local band or two, popped up as their Bass guitarist, then as these things have a way of turning out I soon became friends with two more members of the band, yet I still had not actually heard a lot of their music, just a few snippets. As fate would have it the chance to photograph them live was delivered to me a couple of weeks ago as part of a four band line-up, let’s just say it was pretty impressive, a few of the band members may have changed since the CD was released two years ago, but the energy is still there. That’s another story. Another review. Then one dark and stormy day, this CD appears in my letter box, and the lady who could have been a mermaid looked up at me.

From the Eternal Sea she rises.

It is pretty obvious from the first track that this is a “rock powerhouse”, who’s influences of Alice In Chains, Tool, and Deftones are pretty evident, there are some powerful vocals coming from Mark Wright; melodic and dramatic which match the intense and sometimes dark lyrics perfectly. He wrote all tracks on this album bar one; number 13 a very clever rendition of Home by the Sea from Genesis. Was it the intention to put this song at number 13? this album is so clever it would not have surprised me. Allusions to prophecy are dotted throughout the album; the words tell stories that intertwine with each other taking you to the depths of despair and back again.

Perhaps I hear the slaying of demons in this album.

The instrumentation is brooding and atmospheric, it seamlessly compliments the vocals. This is extremely creative, well-engineered powerful rock music, 13 tracks, each one nailing the stake and claiming their bit of musical turf.

The album heralds in a formidable presence, washed in by The Eternal Sea.

 

About The Eternal Sea

The Eternal Sea is a four-piece rock powerhouse from Tauranga, who have been compared in style to A Perfect Circle, Tool, Deftones and Alice In Chains.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Eternal Sea

Releases

The Eternal Sea
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem