15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017

20 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played. So I guess I shall have to tell you in retrospect how fantastic they are and the feedback from the crowd was that it was the most energetic performance they have put on. I have had the pleasure of working with them several times so I know they are a sight to behold, they sound great and photograph well. I was lucky enough to capture them later on in the evening with Nail and Paul from Devilskin.

Recovering from my late entrance and composing myself, I prepared to shoot the next band, The Eternal Sea, another local band exploding onto the Rock scene in Tauranga. The build up for this bands maiden voyage on Totara Street's stage has been pretty impressive and they did not disappoint. The entrance onto the stage was dramatic and a fitting start for when the The Eternal Sea ripped into the first song, to a cheer from the crowd. This is a band to watch, this was a lively, tight set which got the people up dancing. The influence of Tool is strong, bass was coming up through the floor and vibrating through the walls making you feel the music, it was great. The presence of the large loudhailer became evident when they did an excellent rendition of Genesis' Home By The Sea, the crowd went wild. I look forward to hearing more of theses guys and am excited to be working with them soon. 

Coridian, from Auckland, were next, I reviewed this bands new single Reflections prior to release and loved it, so could not wait to hear it live. I love it even more now. This band is so full of energy, Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious, the crowd were getting right into the music, dancing with wild abandon. I have said it once and I will say it again, this band deserves to be heard on the radio. That was a professional and slick performance and I thank you for writing and playing such a beautiful song in Reflections (I still think it is a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating), and for hosting what was a memorable evening. 

The final act of the night was Checaine. This is a progressive rock band from Hamilton that take no prisoners, they were full noise all the way last night, loads of personality, big beats from the drums and incredible guitaring accompanying strong vocals, this was a mix for more crowd pleasing headbanging and even a cool light show from a LED hulahoop and poi. They were a fantastic end to a fantastic evening.

The only sour note of the whole evening was someone getting escorted out of the building for being slightly to energetic, everything else was an amazing show of Kiwi rock and comradery, a show of strength, love and support for our rock music industry, which is definitely alive and well and just keeps getting stronger.
 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four piece Auckland based group who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ music including Zorran Mendonsa (New Way Home, Set On End) and Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad). They've toured extensively around NZ, performed with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin,
City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Ekko Park, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem