15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Unknown - EP Review: Suck

10 May 2017 // A review by Tony McDonald

Old school rock punk full of vibrance, fun, clever lyrics and toe tapping beats describes Scared of Girls’s EP Suck brilliantly. The EP has a great live sound with plenty of passion, so full credit to James Dalton for the mix and master. I am sure they are great live performers.

Full Metal Jacket starts the EP with a catchy riff and upbeat tempo, and this doesn’t let up throughout the 5 songs. I can’t actually put my finger on who Daniel's vocals reminds me of, very English (no offence intended).

Obviously being David Lynch fans, the video for Mulholland Drive is very good and quirky, not sure if copyright issues (Cat in the Hat) will haunt them if they take to the world stage, but maybe that's what they want? Check it out here, it's great.

Final track, Beach Teens starts out like a song from Pulp Fiction (in fact, I thought it was for 5 seconds), but then quickly gets back into the punk rock vibe. This is my favourite track, for sure.

I really enjoy short songs which leave you wanting more and Suck does this very well, all being around the 3 minute mark. It does make a refreshing change to hear this kind of music and I am glad I got the opportunity to review it.

 

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018
16 Nov 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in!
Read More...
Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing
28 Aug 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80’s retro PowerPop single really stand out. I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer.
Read More...
Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit
26 Jun 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate
14 Feb 2017 // by Tony McDonald
I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem